Guide to America: History and Life

Description |  How to access  |  Quick tips  |  How to search  |  Using the Get it @ Memorial Link  |  Print/save/email |  Logout  | 

Description

Subjects covered: all aspects of the history of Unites States and Canada from prehistory to present
Publication types: journal articles, edited books, book and media reviews, dissertations
Coverage: 1964- present
Number of users: 2-6 simultaneously

How to access

  1. Go the MUN Libraries homepage at http://www.library.mun.ca/
  2. If you are at home, click on the Off-campus Login icon at the top right of the home page, and follow the instructions.
  3. Select Article Indexes
  4. Under Indexes by Title, select A
  5. Select America: History and Life

Quick tips

Help top left of screen
Truncation *(asterisk) e.g., immigrat* retrieves immigrate, immigrates, immigration, etc.
Wildcards Pe?ers?n finds Petersen or Peterson or Pederson or Pedersen
Combining terms use Boolean operators - and, or, not - and parentheses ( ) where necessary. More info
Phrase searching use quotation marks e.g., "new economic policy"
Language over 90% of the material is in English. Limiting to English slows down your search.

How to search

Enter your terms in the appropriate search boxes and click the Search bar.

Keyword
Searches the Abstract, Title, Subject Terms and Author. Combine terms using and, or, not (more info)
      e.g., (america* or united states) and (economic*)

Author/Editor
To get all variations of an author's name:
  1. Click on the magnifying glass icon at the end of the Author/Editor search box
  2. Type the surname into the Find Term box and press ENTER
  3. To add to your search, click on the check box next to the name(s) you want to search, then select Paste Terms at the top of the screen

Document Type
To get a list of document types:
  1. Click on the magnifying glass icon at the end of the Document Type search box.
  2. Click in front of the document types(s) you want to search, e.g. Article for journal articles, Collection for edited books.
  3. Click on Paste Terms

Time Period
Narrows your search to a specific century or decade. Documents covering more than 5
          decades are indexed by century and not individual decades. Documents covering more
          than 6 centuries are not indexed for time period.

Example: Keyword witch* or occult*
Author/Editor |Jones, A. H.|
Time Period 1600H or 1700H

Using the Get it @ Memorial Link

When you click on the link from within an article index, a new page will pop up listing the journal article information (author, title, year, volume, issue, page numbers) and three search options for the full article:

  1. Full Text(i.e. full article is online - only appears when available)
    select the link and find your article based on its year, volume, issue, and page information.
  2. Exact search
    If there is no electronic full text available, select this link to search the catalogue. If a record appears, be sure to double-check the title and what years of the journal the library owns.
  3. Keyword search
    If there is no electronic full text available, and the Exact Search does not work, try the Keyword Search.
    Check the list that appears for the title of the journal, and follow the link. be sure to check the years of the journal the library owns.

If you do not find the journal through the above process, check with a librarian to see if we own the journal in another format, or if you need to obtain the article via document delivery.

Print/save/email

Before you Print, Save or Email your records, you may tag the records you want by clicking in the box in the upper left corner of the record.

Select Output Options button from the menu on the left side of the screen.
Select Output Type:
      ASCII Display - to Print or Save search results
      E-mail - To send to one or more Email addresses.

Clio Notes

Logout

When you are finished searching, please select the Exit button on the left of the screen.

For more detailed help, consult with a librarian, or use the Help provided within America: History and Life.

For general help on effective database searching, see our Tips for Successful Searching.

August 5, 2008