Guide to L'Année Philologique

Description |  How to access |  Quick tips |  How to search |  Displaying results |  Locating documents in the library |  Print/save/email | 

Description

This is the primary database for information on Ancient Greece and Rome. It includes periodical articles, articles in book collections, festschriften, dissertations, and conference papers.
Coverage: 1969 - present

How to access

  1. Go the MUN Libraries homepage at http://www.library.mun.ca/
  2. If you are at home, click on the Off-campus Login icon at the top right of the home page, and follow the instructions.
  3. Select Article Indexes
  4. Under Indexes by Subject, select Classics
  5. Select L'Année Philologique

Quick tips

Help There is no context-sensitive help feature. Help is only available on the initial screen under "About the Aph on line".
Truncation *(asterisk) e.g., slave* retrieves slave, slaves, slavery, etc.
Combining terms An implied boolean "and" occurs between search terms. e.g. Greek Art. Boolean operators (and, or, not) are available only when manipulating previous Queries and Query Combinations under Search History e.g. Q1 and Q2, Q3 or Q4. (more information)

How to search

Select L'Année Philologique from the Article Indexes

At the first page, click Enter

Choose your search index: Full Text (the preferred search mode), Modern Author; Ancient Authors (Latin spelling required); or Subjects and Disciplines (for browsing or broad searches only). You can also search or limit a search by Date and by Other Criteria (words in title, publisher, collection, periodical titles, and language.) You cannot limit by publication type.

Example:     Homer Iliad     in     Full Text Search

To add other terms to your search strategy, you must go into the same or another search index and run a new search.

Example:     Troy     in     Full Text Search

Each of these searches is called a Query.

Combining Sets

All Queries receive a Query number. For example, a Full Text search using the terms Homer Iliad would be Q1. A separate search using the term Troy would be Q2. Queries are automatically combined using an implied boolean "and" on the Search History screen.

Queries containing the boolean "or" are handled differently. For example, to execute a search including the terms Rome or Roman, you must run a separate search on each term, get a Query number for each (Q1, Q2), and then click on the Combine feature at the bottom of the Search History screen. Enter query numbers in the box provided using the boolean "or" (e.g. Q1 or Q2). The results of the (Query) combinations will appear under Results of the Combinations at the bottom of the Search History screen as a Combination number e.g. C1.

Combination numbers may themselves be combined, or combined in conjunction with Query numbers, to achieve different results. For example, to obtain materials on sculpture in conjunction with the words Rome or Roman, run a Full Text search on the word sculpture, receiving a Query number (Q3). Then select the Combine feature and enter the terms as follows: C1 and Q3. Results will appear under Results of the Combinations at the bottom of the Search History screen.

Language and date limits must be run as Queries, and then combined with other Queries, Combinations.

Displaying results

Click on the numbered results for each Query or Combination Number to bring up the brief records for a particular search. Click on the open book icon for each brief entry to yield the full record.

Locating documents in the library

To determine if Memorial Libraries owns a journal:
  1. Open the Library Catalogue in a new window
  2. Select Browse above the search box
  3. Type the title of the journal in the search box and click Periodical Title
  4. If Memorial owns the journal, the correct title will appear in an alphabetical list. Click on the title to check the full record - make sure that the volume/year of the journal you are looking for is listed.

Print/save/email

Records may be printed individually using the browser's print command. Marking of records is not available. Records may saved or e-mailed only through your browser.

For more detailed help, consult with a librarian, or use the Help provided within L'Année Philologique.

For general help on effective database searching, see our Tips for Successful Searching.

August 5, 2008