Guide to Art Index

Description |  How to access |  Quick tips |  How to search |  Locating documents in the library | 
Print/save/email |  Logout | 

Description

Subjects covered: decorative arts, art history, folk art, digital art, criticism, etc.
Publication types: journal articles, book reviews, exhibit reviews, reproductions
Coverage: 1984- present

How to access

  1. Go the MUN Libraries homepage at http://www.library.mun.ca/
  2. If you are at home, click on the Off-campus Login icon at the top right of the home page, and follow the instructions.
  3. Select Article Indexes
  4. Under Indexes by Title, select A
  5. Select Art Index

Quick tips

Help top right of screen
Truncation *(asterisk) e.g., critic* retrieves critics, criticism, criticize, etc.
Combining terms use Boolean operators - and, or, not - and parentheses ( ) where necessary. (more information)
Phrase searching enter words in the order you want them searched e.g., digital art

How to search

Select Art Index from the list of indexes at the top of the screen.
Advanced Search
  1. Enter your search terms in the boxes using and, or, not (more information)
  2. Select the fields you want to search from the drop down menus e.g., Keyword (searches Author, Title, Subject(s), Abstract), Subject(s), Title, Author, Journal Name, etc.
  3. If desired, add any further limits to your search e.g., peer reviewed, full text, article type, etc.
  4. Click on Start

    Example:
    critic* or influenc* in: Keyword
    AND
    comics or comic book* or graphic novel* in: Keyword

Locating documents in the library

To determine if Memorial Libraries owns a journal:
  1. Click on the Check for Library Holdings link available at the top of each Full Record - this will link you to the Library Catalogue.
  2. If Memorial owns the journal, the record for the journal will appear. Be sure to check that the volume/year of the journal you are looking for is listed.
  3. To return to your search, click the BACK button in your browser

Print/save/email

Before you Print, Email or Save, you may mark records you want by clicking in the box in the upper left corner of the record.

Select Print, Email or Save at the top of the screen. Your search results will be captured in the format you are viewing e.g., Brief, Citation or Full Display (the display can be changed by clicking on the buttons at the top of your results list). To complete the capture of your results, follow the instructions on the screen.

NOTE: You may only print the full text of an article while you are viewing it. To print the full text of an article, use your browser's PRINT button or the PRINT icon in Adobe Acrobat.

Logout

When you are finished searching, be sure to click Logout from the top right of the screen.

For more detailed help, consult with a librarian, or use the Help provided within Art Index.

For general help on effective database searching, see our Tips for Successful Searching.

August 5, 2008