Guide to Business Source Elite

Description |  How to access  |  Quick tips  |  How to search  |  Locating documents in the library  |  Print/save/email | 

Description

Subjects covered: business, marketing, management, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics, etc.
Publication types: journal articles, book chapters, case studies
Coverage: primarily 1985 - present, some full text back to 1922
Some full text is included.

How to access

  1. Go to the MUN Libraries homepage at http://www.library.mun.ca/
  2. If you are at home, click on the Off-campus Login icon at the top right of the home page, and follow the instructions.
  3. Select Article Search
  4. Under Indexes by Title, select B
  5. Select Business Source Elite

Quick tips

Help link top right of screen
Truncation *(asterisk) e.g., insur* retrieves insure, insures, insurance, etc.
Combining terms use Boolean operators - and, or, not - and parentheses ( ) where necessary. More info
Phrase searching enter words in the order you want them searched e.g., information management systems

How to search

Click Continue at the top of the screen to proceed to the search screen

  1. Enter each concept or idea into a separate search box
  2. Select where to search each concept from the drop-down menu e.g., Default fields (searches citation, subjects, abstract), Author, Title, Subject, Company Entity, NAICS Code, etc.
  3. If desired, add any further limits to your search, e.g. scholarly (peer reviewed), full text, document type, etc.
  4. Click on Search

    Example:
    just in time system* or JIT in Default Fields
    AND
    toyota in CO Company_Entity
    AND
    Businessweek in SO Journal_Name

Combining Search Sets

To view your previous searches, select the Search History tab from the top of the results screen. For more advanced searching you can combine two or more of your previous searches.
  1. Enter the Search ID Numbers (e.g., S1, S2) of the searches you wish to combine in the FIND box using and, or, not   More info
  2. Click on Search

Full text articles

To access full text articles, click on or located at the bottom of the brief record. If these tags do not appear, the article is not available in full text through Business Source Elite (see Locating Documents in the Library, below).

Locating documents in the library

To determine if Memorial Libraries owns a journal:
  1. Click on Check Library Catalog, located at the bottom of each brief record.
  2. If Memorial owns the journal, the record for the journal will appear in a new window. Be sure to check that the volume/year of the journal you are looking for is available.
  3. To return to your search, close the new window.

Print/save/email

Before you Print, Save or Email your records, you may mark the records you want by clicking the link to the right of each brief record.

Click on in the upper right hand corner - a list of the items you have marked will appear. Select Print, Save, or Email, located above the list of marked records, and follow the instructions.

NOTE: you can email PDF documents by selecting "PDF as separate attachment (when available)" in the Email Manager screen.

For more detailed help, consult with a librarian, or use the Help link provided within EBSCO Business Source Elite.

For general help on effective database searching, see our How to Search Successfully.

December 9, 2010