Guide to Historical Abstracts

Description |  How to access  |  Quick tips  |  How to search  |  Locating documents in the library  | 
Print/save/email |  Logout  | 

Description

Subjects covered: all aspects of world history from 1450 to present (excluding the United States and Canada)
Publication types: journal articles, books, dissertations
Coverage: 1955- present
Number of users: 2-6 simultaneously

How to access

  1. Go the MUN Libraries homepage at http://www.library.mun.ca/
  2. If you are at home, click on the Off-campus Login icon at the top right of the home page, and follow the instructions.
  3. Select Article Indexes
  4. Under Indexes by Title, select H
  5. Select Historical Abstracts

Quick tips

Help top left of screen
Truncation *(asterisk) e.g., emigrat* retrieves emigrate, emigrates, emigration, etc.
Wildcards Pe?ers?n finds Petersen or Peterson or Pederson or Pedersen
Combining terms use Boolean operators - and, or, not - and parentheses ( ) where necessary. More info
Phrase searching use quotation marks e.g., "national socialism"
Language over 50 languages are included. Put english in the Language search box to limit to English.

How to search

Enter your terms in the appropriate search boxes and click the Search bar.

Keyword
Searches the Abstract, Title, Subject Terms and Author. Combine terms using and, or, not (more info)
      e.g., (briti* or united kingdom) and (economic*)

Author/Editor
To get all variations of an author's name:
  1. Click on the magnifying glass icon at the end of the Author/Editor search box
  2. Type the surname into the into the Find Term box and press ENTER
  3. To add to your search, click on the check box next to the name(s) you want to search, then select Paste Terms at the top of the screen

Time Period
Narrows your search to a specific century or decade. Documents covering more than 5
          decades are indexed by century and not individual decades. Documents covering more
          than 6 centuries are not indexed for time period.

Example: Keyword witch* or occult*
Author/Editor |Jones, A. H.|
Time Period 1600H or 1700H

Document Type
To get a list of document types:
  1. Click on the magnifying glass icon at the end of the Document Type search box.
  2. Click in front of the document types(s) you want to search, e.g. Article for journal articles, Collection for edited books, Book for authored books.
  3. Click on Paste Terms

Locating documents in the library

To determine if Memorial Libraries owns a journal:

Click on the Internet link(s) provided in some records. If Memorial Libraries own the journals electronically from the vendor(s) listed in Historical Abstracts, you will be connected to the journals' Internet pages and get access to articles without having to pay.

If there are no Internet links in the record for the article you want, or the link did not give you the full text of the article for free:

  1. Open the Library Catalogue in a new window
  2. Select Browse above the search box
  3. Select Periodical Title from the drop down menu to the left of the search box
  4. Type the title of the journal in the search box and click Search Catalogue
  5. If Memorial owns the journal, the correct title will appear in an alphabetical list. Click on the title to check the full record - make sure that the volume/year of the journal you are looking for is listed

Print/save/email

Before you Print, Save or Email your records, you may tag the records you want by clicking in the box in the upper left corner of the record.

Select Output Options button from the menu on the left side of the screen.
Select Output Type:
      ASCII Display - to Print or Save search results
      E-mail - To send to one or more Email addresses.

Clio Notes

Logout

When you are finished searching, please select the Exit button on the left of the screen.

For more detailed help, consult with a librarian, or use the Help provided within Historical Abstracts.

For general help on effective database searching, see our Tips for Successful Searching.

August 5, 2008