Journal articles give an in-depth analysis of a focused topic. The library subscribes to thousands of journals, many of which are available online.
We also subscribe to hundreds of article indexes to help you find articles. The library does NOT have every book and journal listed in the article indexes -- the indexes help you discover what has been written on a topic.
If you already know the title of the journal you need, search for it as a periodical title in the Library catalogue.
Choose index | Search index | Mark articles | Interpret citations | Get textWhat is an article index?
An article index is a type of search engine that identifies articles on a topic. The library subscribes to more than 200 article indexes on subjects from Anthropology to Zoology and everything in between.
To find article indexes, use Article Search. Under "Indexes by Subject", choose a subject.
On each subject page, indexes listed under "Try these first" are the largest or best for the subject. Indexes under "More specifically" focus on particular aspects of a subject. Browse the list in case your subject has its own special index. For example, try World Shakespeare Bibliography in addition to the more general Literature Online for a Shakespeare assignment.
Before you begin searching, think about your topic. Identify the concepts you want to search, and brainstorm keywords for each concept.
You must enter your search terms into the index so that the index correctly interprets what you want to find. There may be a different search format for each index you use. But there are some common elements among all indexes:
Example: For articles on methods for teaching children good hygiene, you might try:
(teach* or educat* or instruct*) and (child* or boy* or girl*) and hygiene
In most indexes, you can create a list of relevant records to print, save to a file, or e-mail. Look for terms like "mark", "tag", or "add to folder" to create your shortlist of records to keep.
Have you found an article in a journal / magazine / newspaper, or have you found a chapter in a book? How do you know the difference?
Article citations include a volume and issue, and may mention a day, month or season.
Book chapter citations include a place and publisher. Also look for the word IN, which tells you the citation is a chapter IN a book.
Does MUN subscribe to the journal or own the book? Remember that the library does NOT have every book and journal listed in the article indexes.
To get an article from an index:
.
The Get It at Memorial button will open a shortcut window to help you get the article. In
the example below, Get It lists 3 ways for you to get an article from the journal Biography. "Find Article" is the best link to use, but the others will also work.
If there are no fulltext links in the Get It at Memorial window, use the Library catalogue links provided. If the Exact Search does not find it, try the Keyword Search.
For books citations, us the Get It at Memorial button or look up the book title in the library catalogue (under "Search for", choose "title").
March 30, 2012