How to Find Canadian Statistics

Finding Aids: the Library Catalogue and Statistics Indexes  | Frequently used publications from Statistics Canada  | Other sources on the web

Finding Aids [top]

(a) the Library Catalogue

To find statistical information in books, search in the Library Catalogue using headings that consist of a place name and the subheading STATISTICS; or a subject, a place name and the subheading STATISTICS, such as:

NOVA SCOTIA -- STATISTICS
FISHERIES -- NEWFOUNDLAND -- STATISTICS
HOUSING -- CANADA -- STATISTICS

(b) Statistics Indexes

Statistics Canada Catalogue, 1997 QEII GovDoc 11-204
(a second copy is shelved at the Information Desk)
A subject index to the publications of Statistics Canada. Subject coverage includes Canadian statistics on primary industries, manufacturing, transportation, finance, employment, education, health and population.

An up-to-date Online Catalogue of Products and Services is available on the web at: http://www.statcan.ca/english/search/ips.htm

IIS: Index to International Statistics QEII Ref HA 154 I5
Provides subject access to international statistics.

Statistics Sources QEII Ref HA 36 S84
Provides subject access to international statistics.

Frequently used publications from Statistics Canada [top]

Demographic and socio-economic data are available in the following publications:

(a) 1996 Census:

Profile of Census Divisions and Subdivisions QEII GovDoc Census Table 95-182
in Newfoundland

Profile of Census Tracts in St. John's QEII GovDoc Census Table 95-194

Copies of these publications are available in the Government Documents room and the Centre for Newfoundland Studies.

The data in the publications listed above are also available on two CD-ROMs entitled Nation Series: Complete Edition (QEII Media HA 741 .5 1996 C433 1998) and Profile Series: Canada (QEII Media HA 741 .5 1996 C437 1998) in the Media and Data Centre on Level 1. Since the CD-ROMs have been mounted on a local area network, they are also searchable at the Centre for Newfoundland Studies, Maps, and at Workstation #6 in the Reference area. Staff at these locations will assist you in their use. A guide is available on the web at http://www.library.mun.ca/qeii/govdocs/gdpage.php#path.

(b) Non-census:

Canadian Economic Observer QEII GovDoc 11-010
- monthly, 1988-
- contains a monthly summary of the economy, major economic and statistical events, a feature article and technical notes
Indexed: CBCA 1988-

Canadian Social Trends QEII GovDoc 11-008
- a selected article from the latest issue can be viewed on the web at:
http://www.statcan.ca/english/indepth/indepth.htm
- quarterly, 1986-
- discusses the social, economic and demographic changes affecting the lives of Canadians
Indexed: CBCA 1988-; Canadian Periodical Index 1987-

Canada Year Book QEII GovDoc 11-202 (Latest issue at Information Desk)
- biennial, 1905-
- provides comprehensive and timely data on the economy, arts, sports, government, geography and demography

CANSIM
- CANSIM is Statistics Canada's computerized database and retrieval service
- see the CANSIM pathfinder for details (http://www.library.mun.ca/qeii/govdocs/cansimII.php), or ask at the Information Desk

Other sources on the web [top]

Consult the links listed under the statistics section of the library's Canadian Government Information webpage at: http://www.library.mun.ca/qeii/govdocs/govdocs.php#statistics.

Some of the links - flagged MUN Only - are available to MUN students, faculty and staff only, due to license restrictions. But other links, such as, Statistics Canada and 1996 Census, provide much information that is freely available.

Scroll to the top of the page and click on any of the flags/symbols by the Maple Leaf. There is a statistics section in the webpages for these jurisdictions.

May 1, 2012