How to Find Movie Reviews

Movie Review Indexes  | Other Indexes Which Cover Movie Reviews  | Internet Resources

Movie Review Indexes

The following sources focus specifically on movie reviews.

The New York Times Film Reviews (1913- ) QEII Ref PN 1995 N4
Contains full text of reviews.
Includes a number of cumulative indexes.

Film Review Annual (1983- ) QEII Ref PN 1995 F466
Contains full text of a number of reviews.
Provides citations to additional reviews.

Film Review Index (1882-1985) QEII Ref PN 1995 M65 F5
Provides citations to reviews in books and journals.
Good source for classic films.
Contains two volumes:
v.1 1882-1949
v.2 1950-1985

Magill's Cinema Annual (1984- ) QEII Ref PN 1993.3 M34
Contains an essay on each movie.
Provides citations for reviews in journals.

Variety's Film Reviews (1907-1995/96) QEII Ref PN 1993 V34
Contains full text of reviews from Variety.
Has one cumulative index (1907-1980).
The title changed in 1987 from Variety Film Reviews.

Other indexes which cover movie reviews

The following indexes are used primarily to locate articles. However, they also list citations to movie reviews. Since all indexes vary slightly, check the introduction for instructions on finding movie reviews.

Wilson OmniFile (1982-) available from the library homepage under "Article Indexes"
   Search under name of film.
For earlier reviews, see the print versions of this index:
Reader's Guide (1900-1984) QEII Ref AI 3 R47
Humanities Index (1974-1984) QEII Ref AI 3 H86
Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974) QEII Ref AI 3 R49
International Index (1907-1965) QEII Ref AI 3 R49

Headings have varied over time. Look under
Art Index (1950-1984/5) QEII Ref N 1 A7 & Storage
(1984- ) available from the library homepage under "Article Indexes"
Headings have varied over time. Look under:

Film Literature Index (1973- ) QEII Ref PN 1993 F55
Reviews appear under the title of film
(under the subheading Reviews).

Media Review Digest (1973/74- ) QEII Ref LB 1043 M4

The Rolling Stone Index (1967-1991) QEII Ref ML 1 R65 1993
Movie reviews from Rolling Stone Magazine
(Rolling Stone Magazine is kept in
MUN MICROFORMS on level 1)
Reviews appear in a separate section called
"Movie Reviews"

CBCA Reference
CBCA Current Events
CBCA Business
(1982- ) available from the library homepage under "Article Indexes"
   Good for reviews of Canadian films. Search under name of film.
For earlier reviews, see the print versions of these indexes: Headings have varied over time, look under:
Canadian Periodical Index (1920-) QEII Ref AI 3 C242
   Good for reviews of Canadian films. Search under name of film.
Headings have varied over time, look under:

Internet Resources

Yahoo Movie Information
Contains links to numerous movie information sites on the Internet.
URL: http://dir.yahoo.com/Entertainment/Movies_and_Film/Reviews/

Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
Contains detailed information for over 75,000 movies.
URL: http://www.imdb.com/

All Movie Guide
Contains detailed information on thousands of movies.
URL: http://www.allmovie.com

The New york Times Movie Reviews
Archive of all reviews since 1960, all Academy Award Best Picture reviews and reviews for NYT guide to the Best 1000 Movies ever made
URL: http://movies.nytimes.com/ref/movies/reviews/index.html

August 5, 2008