How to Write Citations and Bibliographies in Turabian Style

(See also, our seperate Chicago Style 16th Edition Guide)

Overview  | Notes-Bibliography Style  | Reference List Style

Overview

In 1937, Kate L. Turabian wrote a book based on the guidelines in The Chicago Manual of Style. The guidelines in her A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, are commonly referred to as "Turabian style". The 7th edition, published in 2007, follows the recommendations of The Chicgao Manual of Style, 15th edition, not the more recent 16th edition. If your Professor requires you to use "Chicago style" please see our seperate guide: How to Write Citations and Bibliographies in Chicago Style.

Within Turabian style, there are 2 different citation style options. You may use the notes-bibliography style, or the reference list style. If you are not sure which of these two styles to use for your paper, please consult your instructor.

Notes-Bibliography Style

In the notes-bibliography style, when information is quoted or referred to in a paper, footnotes or endnotes (or both) are given to identify the sources of the quotation or information. Footnotes are placed at the foot of the page; endnotes are placed at the end of your paper with the heading "Notes".

Example:
"In 1879, Rodolphe Lindt of Berne, Switzerland, produced chocolate that melted on the tongue"1.

1. Linda K. Fuller, Chocolate Fads, Folklore & Fantasies: 1,000+ Chunks of Chocolate Information (New York: Haworth Press, 1994), 108.

Usually, a bibliography is also included at the end of the paper. The bibliography is the full list of works used to write the paper; it may include works that you consulted but did not cite.

Notes-bibliography style guide

Reference List Style

In the reference list style, when information is quoted or referred to in a paper, a citation within parenthesis is inserted in the text of the paper next to the reference. The parenthetical citation should include author, date, and page number.

Example: "The railroads had made Chicago the most important meeting place between East and West" (Cronon 1991, 92-93).

At the end of the paper, include all of the works you cited in a reference list; the reference list may also include works that you consulted but did not cite.

Reference list style guide

All information and examples taken from:

Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. 7th rev. ed. Edited by Wayne C. Booth,
        Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph H. Williams. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007.
        (Available at the Library. Call number: LB 2369 T8 2007)



January 23, 2012
Crystal Rose