How to Write Notes and Bibliographies in Turabian Style | PDF

Citations  | Books  | Articles  | Web Sites  | Other  | Useful Guides

Citations Within Your Paper

In the notes-bibliography style, when information is quoted or referred to in a paper, you insert a superscript number that directs the reader to a note that contains the citation information (inserting footnotes and endnotes using MS Word 2010).

Example:
"In 1879, Rodolphe Lindt of Berne, Switzerland, produced chocolate that melted on the tongue."1

Notes: A footnote or endnote can be used to identify the sources of the quotation or information. The format and content of footnotes and endnotes are the same. It is the location of the note in your paper that determines whether it is an footnote or an endnote. Footnotes are placed at the "foot", or bottom, of the same page where the information is quoted or referred to; are separated from the text of the paper by a short line; and let the reader refer to your citation without having to flip to the back of the paper. Endnotes are placed at the end of your paper with the heading "Notes". Each note should be single spaced, with one line between notes.

Shortened Notes: Normally, you give a complete citation the first time you cite a source in a footnote or endnote. If you refer to the same source again, you may use a shortened form for notes (including a shortened form of the title). It can be acceptable to only use the shortened form, if full citation information is given in a bibliography. Please check with your Professor.

Example of Shortened Form for Notes::
      Author Last Name, Title or "Title", page number.

If you cite the same source two or more times in a row, the author's name and the title can be eliminated and replaced with Ibid., meaning "Ibidem," or, "in the same place".

      3. Fuller, Chocolate Fads, 54.
      4. Ibid., 56.

Usually, notes refer to citations listed in the bibliography at the end of the paper. The bibliography is the full list of works used to write the paper; it may include works that you consulted but did not cite, and is arranged alphabetically. Each entry is single spaced, with double-spacing between entries (Some Professors may prefer double-spacing throughout).

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Books

Book, 1 author

Note:
      1. Linda K. Fuller, Chocolate Fads, Folklore & Fantasies: 1,000+ Chunks of Chocolate Information
(New York: Haworth Press, 1994), 54.

Bibliography:
Fuller, Linda K. Chocolate Fads, Folklore & Fantasies: 1,000+ Chunks of Chocolate Information.
      New York: Haworth Press, 1994.

Book, multiple authors
4 or more authors: In the note list only the first author's name followed by "et al." In the Bibliography, include all authors, no matter how many;
Do not use "et al."

Note:
      2. Dan Reiter and Allan C. Stam, Democracies at War (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University
Press, 2002), 15-26.

Bibliography:
Reiter, Dan and Allan C. Stam. Democracies at War. Princeton, NJ: Princeton
      University Press, 2002.

E-Book:
Include the URL and date of access. If there are no page numbers, identify the location in your note by adding a description (like a heading or paragraph number).

Note:
      3. Julian Samora and Patricia Valet Simon, A History of the Mexican-American People, rev. ed. (East Lansing, MI:
Julian Samora Research Institute, Michigan State University, 2001), under "Civil War in Mexico," http://www.jsri.msu/museum/pubs/MexAmHist/Chapter14.html#six (accessed December 19, 2005).

Bibliography:
Samora, Julian and Patricia Valet Simon. A History of the Mexican-American People. Rev. ed. East Lansing, MI:
      Julian Samora Research Institute, Michigan State University, 2001. http://www.jsri.msu/museum/pubs/
      MexAmHist/Chapter14.html#six (accessed December 19, 2005).

Edited Book (editor instead of an author)

Note:
      4. Francis Robinson, ed., Cambridge Illustrated History of the Islamic World (Cambridge:
Cambridge University Press, 1996), 34.

Bibliography:
Robinson, Francis, ed. Cambridge Illustrated History of the Islamic World. Cambridge: Cambridge
      University Press, 1996.

Edited Book (editor in addition to an author)
When editors' names follow the title, only use "ed." (not "eds.") as it refers to "edited by".

Note:
      5. Yves Bonnefoy, New and Selected Poems, ed. John Naughton and Anthony Rudolf (Chicago:
University of Chicago Press, 1995), 35-36.

Bibliography:
Bonnefoy, Yves. New and Selected Poems. Edited by John Naughton and Anthony Rudolf.
      Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1996.

Article or Chapter in a Book

Note:
      6. Noel Vietmeyer, "Forgotten Roots of the Incas," in Chilies to Chocolate: Food the Americas Gave the
World
, ed. Nelson Foster and Linda S. Cordell (Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1992), 104.

Bibliography:
Vietmeyer, Noel. "Forgotten Roots of the Incas." In Chilies to Chocolate: Food the Americas Gave the World,
      edited by Nelson Foster and Linda S. Cordell, 95-117. Tucson: University
      of Arizona Press, 1992.

Translated Book

Note:
      7. J. B. Harley, The New Nature of Maps: Essays in the History of Cartography, trans. Paul
Laxton (Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2007), 132-33.

Bibliography:
Harley, J. B. The New Nature of Maps: Essays in the History of Cartography. Translated
      by Paul Laxton. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2007.

Edition of a Book (other than the first):

Note:
      8. Roger Daniels, Coming to America: A History of Immigration and Ethnicity in American Life,
2nd ed. (New York: Haper Perenial, 2002), 84.

Bibliography:
Daniels, Roger. Coming to America: A History of Immigration and Ethnicity in American Life. 2nd ed.
      New York: Haper Perenial, 2002.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Articles

Journal article, 1 author (Print)

Note:
      9. Mary Rose Prosen, "Christ in Marzipan and the Virgin in Chocolate: The Novels of Michael DeCapite,"
Italian Americana 3, no. 2 (1977): 188-89.

Bibliography:
Prosen, Mary Rose. "Christ in Marzipan and the Virgin in Chocolate: The Novels of Michael
      DeCapite." Italian Americana 3, no. 2 (1977):186-91.

Journal article, multiple authors (Print)
4 or more authors: In the note, list only the first author's name followed by "et al." In the Bibliography, include all authors, no matter how many; do not use "et al."

Note:
      10. William G. Thomas and Edward L. Ayers, "An Overview: The Differences Slavery Made; A Close Analysis of Two
American Communities," American Historical Review 108 (December 2003): 1305-6.

Bibliography:
Thomas, William G. and Edward L. Ayers, "An Overview: The Differences Slavery made;
      A Close Analysis of Two American Communities." American Historical Review 108
      (December 2003): 1299-307.

Journal article (Online)
Include the URL and date of access. If there are no page numbers, identify the location in your note by adding a description (like a heading or paragraph number).

Note:
      11. Christopher Small, "Why Doesn't the Whole World Love Chamber Music?" American Music 19, no. 3 (Autumn 2001): 349, http://links.jstor.org/sici?sici=0734-4392%28200123%2919%3A3%3C340%3AWDTWWL%3E2.0.co%3B2-J (accessed March 15, 2004).

Bibliography:
Small, Christopher. "Why Doesn't the Whole World Love Chamber Music?" American Music 19, no. 3
      (Autumn 2001): 340-59. http://links.jstor.org/sici?sici=0734-4392%28200123%2919%3A3
      %3C340%3AWDTWWL%3E2.0.co%3B2-J (accessed March 15, 2004).

Magazine Article (Print*)
*For online magazine articles, include the URL and date of access. If there are no page numbers, identify the location in your note by adding a description (like a heading or paragraph number).

Note:
      12. Mark Schapiro, "New Power for 'Old Europe'," The Nation, December 27, 2004, 12-13.

Bibliography:
Schapiro, Mark. "New Power for 'Old Europe'." The Nation, December 27, 2004.

Newspaper article, no author (Print*)
Omit page numbers for newspapers. *For online newspaper articles, include the URL and date of access.

Note:
      13. "Cadbury Targets Russia," Globe and Mail, May 22, 1995.

Bibliography:
In Turabian Style, newspaper articles are rarely included in bibliographies, however you may include an article "critical to your argument or frequently cited".

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Web Sites

Include as much of the following information as you can: author, "title of the page/site", title/owner of the web site, URL, date accessed (month day, year).

Web page, with author

Note:
      14. Evanston Public Library Board of Trustees, "Evanston Public Library Strategic Plan, 2000-2010:
A Decade of Outreach," Evanston Public Library, http://www.epl.org/library/strategic-plan-00.html (accessed June 1, 2005).

Bibliography:
Evanston Public Library Board of Trustees. "Evanston Public Library Strategic Plan, 2000-2010: A Decade
      of Outreach." Evanston Public Library. http://www.epl.org/library/strategic-plan-00.html (accessed
      June 1, 2005).

Web page, no author

Note:
      15. "I love Lucy: Series Summary," Sitcoms Online, http://www.sitcomsonline.com/ilovelucy.html
(accessed May 4, 2005).

Bibliography:
"I Love Lucy: Series Summary." Sitcoms Online. http://www.sitcomsonline.com/ilovelucy.html
      (accessed May 4, 2005).

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Other

Book Review  | Class Lecture  | Class Notes on Course Website  | Course Pack  | Dictionary/Encyclopedia  | Government Document  | Personal Communication  | Thesis/Dissertation

Book review

Note:
      16. H. Allen Orr, "What's not in your Genes," review of Nature via Nurture: Genes, Experience and What Makes Us Human, by Matt Ridley, New York Review of Books 50 (August 14, 2003): 38-40.

Bibliography:
Orr, H. Allen. "What's Not in Your Genes," review of Nature via Nurture: Genes, Experience,
      and What Makes us Human
, by Matt Ridley. New York Review of Books 50 (August 14,
      2003): 38-40.

Class lecture, speech, or academic talk
Put the lecture title in quotation marks after the speaker's name. If the lecture is untitled, place the course name in square brackets.

Note:
      17. John Bodner, [Folklore and Popular Culture] (class lecture, Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of
Newfoundland, Corner Brook, NL, February 15, 2008).

Bibliography:
Bodner, John. [Folklore and Popular Culture]. Class lecture, Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland,
      Corner Brook, NL, February 15, 2008.

Class Notes on Course Website (D2L or My Grenfell)
Include the URL and date of access.

Note:
      18. John Bodner, "Folksong" (course notes, Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland,
Corner Brook, NL, February 15, 2008), http://online.mun.ca/folk1000%20jbodner/Feb%2015%202008.pdf (accessed March 2, 2008).

Bibliography:
Bodner, John. "Folksong." Course notes, Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Corner Brook, NL, February
      15, 2008. http://online.mun.ca/folk1000%20jbodner/
      Feb%2015%202008.pdf (accessed March 2, 2008).

Course Pack
If you need to cite a source from a custom course package, here are two suggestions. However, it's best to first check with the course instructor.

1. Find the full citation where the article, chapter, etc. was originally published and cite accordingly. The full citations MAY be included in the coursepack. If not, search the library's catalogue or article indexes, Google Scholar, or ask a librarian.
OR
2. Treat the coursepack as an anthology and the course instructor as compiler:

Note:
      19. Elliott Oring, "Transformations: The Fantasy of The Wicked Stepmother," in [Coursepack for FOLK 1000: Introduction
to Folklore, Fall 2009], comp. John Bodner (Memorial University of Newfoundland, Grenfell Campus, Corner Brook, NL).

Bibliography:
If you cite the unpublished coursepack, cite it in the notes only; Omit from bibliography.

Dictionary/Encyclopedia (Print)
For commonly used or well-known reference books, do not give full publication information; only provide edition, if other than first. Cite the title of the entry proceeded by s.v., meaning sub verbo, or "under the word"; plural s.vv.).

Note:
      20. Encyclopaedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. "Salvation."

Bibliography:
In Turabian Style, dictionaries and encyclopedias do not need to be included in bibliographies.

Dictionary/Encyclopedia (Online)
Include the URL and date of access.

Note:
      21. Encyclopaedia Britannica Online, s.v. "Sibelius, Jean," http://www.britannica.com/
ebc/article?tocld=9378608 (accessed June 1, 2005).

Government Document, Canadian (Print)

Note:
      22. Statistics Canada, A National Overview: Population and Dwelling Counts,
2006 Census
(Ottawa: Statistics Canada, 2007), p. 279-80.

Bibliography:
Statistics Canada. A National Overview: Population and Dwelling Counts, 2006 Census
      Ottawa: Statistics Canada, 2007.

Government Document, Canadian (Online)

Note:
      23. Environment Canada, "Canada's Emission Trends" (July, 2011), p. 19,
http://www.ec.gc.ca/Publications/E197D5E7-1AE3-4A06-B4FC-CB74EAAAA60F/CanadasEmissionsTrends.pdf
(accessed September 14, 2011).

Bibliography:
Environment Canada. "Canada's Emission Trends." July, 2011. http://www.ec.gc.ca/Publications/E197D5E7-1AE3-4A06-B4FC-CB74EAAAA60F
      /CanadasEmissionsTrends.pdf (accessed September 14, 2011).

Personal Communication (interview, conversation, letter, or email)

Note:
      24. Dr. Adam Rowen, telephone conversation with author, May 29, 2005.
      25. Andrew MacMillan, interview by author, Corner Brook, NL, March 22, 2011.

Bibliography:
Personal communications are typically omitted from the bibliography unless they are available for others to access (for example, in a library or archive, or posted online).

Thesis/Dissertation

Note:
      26. Nicole Childs, "The Impact of Hurricane Floyd on the Children of Eastern North Carolina" (master's thesis,
Eastern Carolina university, 2002), 24.

Bibliography:
Childs, Nicole. "The Impact of Hurricane Floyd on the Children of Eastern North Carolina."
      Master's thesis, Eastern Carolina University, 2002.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Useful Guides

Didn't find the example you needed? Check out the complete Turabian guide for more specific information or for citing other types of sources.

Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. 7th rev. ed. Edited by Wayne C. Booth,
      Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph H. Williams. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007.
      (Available at the Library. Call number: LB 2369 T8 2007)



March 22, 2012
Crystal Rose