Guide to Sociological Abstracts

Description |  How to access  |  Quick tips  |  How to search  |  Locating documents in the library  |  Print/save/email | 

Description

Subjects covered: family welfare, substance abuse, rural and urban sociology, social planning, etc.
Publication types: journal articles, books, book reviews, proceedings, dissertations, etc.
Coverage: 1963- present

How to access

  1. Go the MUN Libraries homepage at http://www.library.mun.ca/
  2. If you are at home, click on the Off-campus Login icon at the top right of the home page, and follow the instructions.
  3. Select Article Indexes
  4. Under Indexes by Title, select S
  5. Select Sociological Abstracts

Quick tips

Help top right of screen and the various buttons
Truncation *(asterisk) e.g., religio* retrieves religion, religions, religious, etc.
Combining terms use Boolean operators - and, or, not - and parentheses ( ) where necessary. More info
Phrase searching enter words in the order you want them searched e.g., radical sociology

How to search

  1. Enter each concept or idea into a separate search box
  2. Select from the drop down menus where to search each concept e.g., Keywords (searches Title, Abstract, Descriptors, Identifiers), Author, Title, Descriptors, etc.
  3. Click on Search

Locating documents in the library

To determine if Memorial Libraries owns a journal:
  1. Look for a Full-Text link beside the View Record link.
  2. If there is no Full-Text link, click on Check Your Library at the top right of the record.
  3. Click on the Search box at the bottom.
  4. The library catalogue will appear in a new window - if Memorial has the journal, the record for the journal will appear. Be sure to check that the volume/year of the journal you need is listed, and note if it is in print or electronic format.

Print/save/email

Before you Print, Save or Email your records, you may mark the records you want by clicking in the box at the top left of each brief record.

From the top or bottom of your results list, select Save/Print/Email Records, and select from the options given. If you choose Print, a screen with the text your records will display - use your browser's PRINT icon to print.

For more detailed help, consult with a librarian, or use the Help provided within Sociological Abstracts.

For general help on effective database searching, see our guide on How to Search Successfully.

August 5, 2008