Guide to Women's Studies International

Description |  How to access |  Quick tips |  How to search |  Viewing and marking results |  Locating documents in the library  |  Printing results |  Exit | 

Description

Provides coverage of international literature in the interdisciplinary field of women's studies.
Publication type: journal articles, books, dissertations
Coverage: 1970-present.

How to access

  1. Go the MUN Libraries homepage at http://www.library.mun.ca/
  2. If you are at home, click on the Off-campus Login icon at the top right of the home page, and follow the instructions.
  3. Select Article Indexes
  4. Under Indexes by Title, select W
  5. Select Women's Studies International

Quick tips

Truncation *(asterisk) e.g. employ* retrieves employ, employee, employment, etc.
Combining Terms Use and between search terms to retrieve only records that contain all the search terms.

Use or to combine similar words that describe the same idea, e.g. (women or female* or girl*) to retrieve records that contain at least one of your search terms.

Use not to exclude unwanted search terms from the results.
Phrase Searching In the KEY WORDS/PHRASES field, enclose search terms in double quotes, e.g. "social services."

Search terms entered into the INDEX TERMS field are always searched as a phrase.

How to search

Enter your search terms in the appropriate field box and click on Search.

       Example:Key Words/Phrases (violen* or abuse*) and social programs
Author/Inst. Authorsmith, c*

Viewing and marking results

Do not use the browser's icons to navigate through the database. Always use the navigation buttons provided in the database itself.
  1. To change the Display format click on the drop-down menu and select Display Format.
  2. To move forward through the results click on the Next arrow near the top of the screen.
  3. Mark the records you wish to print by clicking in the checkbox at the top left of each record.
  4. Click on view Database Record with link to Full Text (if available) to view the article.

Locating documents in the library

To determine if Memorial Libraries owns a journal:
  1. Open the Library Catalogue in a new window
  2. Select Browse above the search box
  3. Select Periodical Title from the drop down menu to the left of the search box
  4. Type the title of the journal in the search box and click Search Catalogue
  5. If Memorial owns the journal, the correct title will appear in an alphabetical list. Click on the title to check the full record - make sure that the volume/year of the journal you are looking for is listed

Printing results

  1. Before you print click on the select Output Format drop-down menu and select the format for printing results AND select which records to print.

  2. Click on Print in the upper left-hand corner.

Exit

      Click on EXIT in the upper right-hand corner.

For more detailed help, consult with a librarian, or use the Help provided within Women's Studies International.

For general help on effective database searching, see our guide on How to Search Successfully.

August 5, 2008