Guide to World Shakespeare Bibliography
Description |
How to access |
Quick tips |
How to search |
Displaying results |
Locating documents in the library |
Print/save/email |
Description
A database containing all important books, journal and book articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, conference papers, audiovisual materials (e.g. films), electronic media, and other popular or scholarly materials relating to Shakespeare and his works. Features hypertext linking to reviews and to related records.
Coverage: 1971 - present
How to access
-
Go the MUN Libraries homepage at http://www.library.mun.ca/
-
If you are at home, click on the Off-campus Login icon at the top right of the home page, and follow the instructions.
-
Select Article Indexes
-
Under Indexes by Subject, select English
-
Select World Shakespeare Bibliography
Quick tips
| Help |
right side of main screen |
| Truncation |
*(asterisk) e.g., image* retrieves image, images, imagery, etc. |
| Combining terms |
Either the boolean "and" or the boolean "or" may be preselected in the Advanced Search. (more information) |
| Phrase searching |
enter within quotation marks, e.g., "dramatic irony" |
How to search
- Quick Search
-
Select Search from the main screen.
-
Enter your terms in the box e.g. Othello jealousy
- Advanced Search
-
Select Advanced Search from the main screen
-
Preselect boolean or or boolean and
- Enter your terms either in the keywords or words in title box e.g. magic Tempest
- You can also search, or limit your search, by author name, other people (e.g. actors), publisher/journal title, year of publication, document ID, document type, and language.
Browse
Browse entries under particular subject headings and subheadings by clicking on the ? or + symbols. Headings include the names of individual plays and poems; play groups (e.g. tragedies, histories, comedies, romances, apocrypha); General Shakespeareana; Festschriften; Bibliographies; Biography; Editions and Texts; Reference Works; Textual Studies, etc.; Language, Linguistics, Philology; Shakespeare and his Stage; Productions, Stage History; Conferences, Colloquia, etc.; General Studies.
Displaying results
The system defaults to brief display. Clicking on the record will produce the full display.
Locating documents in the library
To determine if Memorial Libraries owns a journal:
- Open the Library Catalogue in a new window
-
Select Browse above the search box
-
Type the title of the journal in the search box and click Periodical Title
-
If Memorial owns the journal, the correct title will appear in an alphabetical list. Click on the title to check the full record - make sure that the volume/year of the journal you are looking for is listed.
Print/save/email
You may view an entry and choose
save Entry to List. Under
Quick Search or
Advanced Search you may click on
View Saved Entries. Saved entries may be printed or e-mailed.
For more detailed help, consult with a librarian, or use the Help provided within World Shakespeare Bibliography.
For general help on effective database searching, see our Tips for Successful Searching.
August 5, 2008