Search Results

Database Indexes by Title

C

Cairn.info
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
Provides tables of contents, abstracts and full-text for journals in the disciplines of economics, law, history and geography, literature and linguistics, psychology, education, political science, sociology, and sport.
Cambridge histories online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1957-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Covers the 270+ volumes of Cambridge Histories reference books - Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Campbell library. Campbell systematic reviews
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
Index, full-text - peer-reviewed online monograph series of systematic reviews -- reviews follow structured guidelines & standards for summarizing the international research evidence on the effects of interventions in crime & justice, education, international development & social welfare.
Canada's Information Resource Centre
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
An all-encompassing Canadian online resource that provides access to tens of thousands of cultural and professional organizations, government offices, law firms, banks, health and education facilities, libraries, and the media.
Canadian book review annual online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1978-2012 available online:
Index, full-text - comprises 30,000+ authoritative reviews of English-language, Canadian-authored books: scholarly, reference, trade, children's & teen - searchable database [keyword, title, author, subject, reviewer & more] enables quick & easy access to reviews - reviewers are experts in their fields who offer thorough & knowledgeable evaluations of Canadian publications.
Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
Canadian enviroOSH legislation
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Comprises the full text of Canadian health, safety and environmental legislation and critical guidelines and codes of practice from all jurisdictions. CGSB standards are password protected on this site. Use the Canadian General Standards Board standards link to access.
Canadian General Standards Board standards
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access the full-text of CGSB standards that cover environmental protection, hazardous products, workplace health & safety, WHMIS, transportation of dangerous goods, workers' compensation, pesticides, noise levels, Canada Labour Code, etc. - standards in this collection have been cited in Canadian federal / provincial legislation concerning environmental or workplace health & safety issues.
Canadian labour history bibliography, 1976-2009
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1976-2009 available online:
Index - Comprises 3,829 citations describing English-language articles, monographs, pamphlets, & theses that discuss Canadian labour history from 1800-1975 - Produced by Michael Lonardo at Memorial University of Newfoundland.
Canadian music periodical index = Index des périodiques de musique canadiens
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-2009 available online:
Index - comprises 37,000+ records describing articles in 475 Canadian music journals, magazine & newsletters - covers all aspects of musical activity in Canada.
Canadian parliamentary historical resources
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1867- available online:
Index, full-text - centralized, streamlined access to historical debates of the Senate & House of Commons, in both official languages - Senate & House of Commons Debates (commonly known as Hansard) contain the transcribed, edited & corrected record of full deliberations of both Houses of Parliament + reconstituted debates (unofficial versions of debates for the years prior to the adoption of official reporting; reconstituted debates are drawn from newspaper reports of the day) + translated debates of the Senate which began its official report in English only.
Canadian patents database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1920-present available online:
Patents - Includes laid-open applications for patents, bibliographic and image data - For patents since August 15, 1978 abstracts and claims are also included.
Canadian reference centre

Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - offers full-text access to over 650 Canadian & International popular magazines, newspapers, & CBC radio /TV transcripts - also includes full-text access to Canadian reference books and 66,000 biographies - the image collection comprises 502,000 photos, maps & flags from Canadian & international sources - helpful for research on Canada, current events in Canada & Canada's involvement in the international scene. Available on Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries website. Select "Education Resources". Login using an NLPL card number and PI.
Canadian research index : CRI
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1982-present available online:
User Guide
Index, selected Full text online, Full text ALL on microfiche -- CRI covers Canadian government documents / reports created at the federal, provincial & municipal levels, scientific & technical reports, statistical reports, policy papers, annual reports -- Some CRI records include links to full text; ALL CRI records provide a Microlog ID; ALL CRI reports are available in the Microlog microfiche collection (Level 1, Queen Elizabeth II Library).
Canadian Standards Association standards
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online. Password required:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Comprises the full text of safety and environmental standards from the CSA.
Canadian trade-marks database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1979-present available online:
Index - Contains all active and many inactive trade-marks, dating back to 1865 - Includes all trade-marks abandoned, refused, cancelled or expunged after 1979 as well as documentation on other words and designs protected by trade-mark legislation.
Canadian who's who
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Current + archival listings available online:
Index, full-text - Access biographies for 13,000 notable Canadians in all walks of life. Updated frequently to provide current and accurate information, this database is recognised as the standard reference source of contemporary Canadian biography - Includes 10,00 archived listings.
Canadiana
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1600-1920 available online:
Index, full-text - online collection of books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century - particularly strong in literature, women's history, native studies, travel and exploration and the history of French Canada. Collections include: Canadian women's history, Colonial government journals, Early official publications, English Canadian literature, History of French Canada, Hudson's Bay, Jesuit relations, Native studies and Canadian periodicals.
Canadiana discovery portal
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1600-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - search across valuable, diverse digital collections from Canadian libraries, museums & archives - access a wealth of digital material including books, journals, newspapers, government documents, photographs, maps, post cards, sheet music, audio & video files about Canada's heritage.
CanLII : Canadian Legal Information Institute
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Full-text - Provides access to primary sources of Canadian Law accessible - Includes legislative and judicial texts and legal commentaries, from federal, provincial, and territorial jurisdictions.
Catalog of nonprofit literature
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers the literature of philanthropy, fundraising, charitable giving, voluntarism, foundations & corporate giving and the nonprofit sector - Includes records for more than 30,000 articles, books, project reports, studies, and statistical analyses.
Catalog of U.S. government publications
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: July 1976-present available online:
User Guide
Index, selected Full Text - Over 500,000 descriptive records for historical and current U.S. government publications - Includes electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches - direct links provided for publications that are available online. NOTE: no content has been added to this database as of November 4, 2011. It is continued by the Federal Digital System (FDsys) that will eventually replace this database sometime in 2012.
Catálogo BNE - Biblioteca Nacional de España
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - the Biblioteca Nacional is the main information & document centre for Spanish and Ibero-American written, graphic & audiovisual culture - its catalogue comprises 3.3 million records describing all holdings: books, manuscripts, periodicals, photographs, drawings, posters & engravings, scores & sheet music, maps, audio & video recordings + ephemera, incunabula & other archival materials.
Catalogue collectif de France : CCFr
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Catalogue - Covers over 20 million titles held at Le Répertoire National des Bibliothèques et Centres de Documentation, 55 public libraries and 110 university libraries - Includes information about French libraries and archives and their collections.
Catalogue Iris
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Catalogue - A searchable online catalogue containing all records from the Bibliothèque et Archives nationale du Québec.
Catalogue of illuminated manuscripts
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Use this website to find and view descriptions and images of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the British Library, one of the richest collections in the world.
CCOHS academic support program
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Variable Coverage - Consists of material safety databases maintained by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety - Includes information on a broad range of environmental and occupational health and safety topics. CGSB standards are password protected on this site. Use the Canadian General Standards Board standards link to access.
Cecil papers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1520-1668 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - comprises 30,000+ manuscripts, principally the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley & his son Robert, 1st Earl of Salisbury: two men at the heart of government & events during the reigns of Elizabeth I & James I - covers English domestic politics, foreign policy, early American colonization - accompanied by the complete Calendar of the Cecil Papers at Hatfield House Archives including family & estate papers, petitions & contemporary hand-drawn maps + summaries or transcripts of many documents - documents from Robert Devereux, 2nd Earl of Essex (a family rival) are included.
Center for Research Libraries online catalog
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - the Center for Research Libraries collects research materials not targeted by other North American research institutions, many from Africa, the Middle East, Southeast & South Asia, Latin America - tabbed searchable collections include Serials
CERL portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1450- available online:
Search engine -- cross-searches distributed databases containing manuscript materials, hand press printed works, photographic material & other special materials -- offers simultaneous searches in either all databases, or in a selection of one or more -- links to full text are included where possible.
CERN document server
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 1.4 million records describing documents in High Energy Physics from the European Organization for Nuclear Research - covers preprints, journal articles, books, conference papers, multimedia & photographs, standards, theses & technical reports - includes key resources from 1668 - most records provide links to full-text.
CGRG bibliography of Canadian geomorphology
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-2014 present available online:
Index - covers 26,000 records describing publications & presentations on geomorphology in Canada: aeolian, applied, coastal, fluvial, glacial, hillslope, hydrological, karst, periglacial, permafrost & offshore geomorphology - also covers records describing Canadian Quaternary/Holocene environments.
Chaucer bibliography online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1975-present available online:
Index - Corresponds to the Annotated Chaucer bibliography published annually in the journal, Studies in the Age of Chaucer.
ChemxSeer
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Research in environmental chemistry is becoming increasingly collaborative and multidisciplinary in scope and approach. This Web site offers an integrated digital library and database allowing for intelligent search of documents in the chemistry domain and data obtained from chemical kinetics. Come and learn about the three sections of the site and how they work together to enhance the quality of the search.
Children's literature comprehensive database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1993-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text -- over 400,000 critical reviews supplied by 40+ quality review sources -- covers children's books ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels & nonfiction for young adults; from ancient fables to graphic novels -- also covers Awards, Honors, Prizes, Best Books & State Reading Lists -- identify children's books by reading, interest, age, class & lexile levels, as well as topic.
Choice reviews online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1988-present available online:
The premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.
ChoixMédia
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1978-present available online:
User Guide
Index - This database contains the 858,000 references from CHOIX describing French language texts, 135,300 references on audiovisual materials from DAVID, and 16,100 references on software and electronic documents from LOGIBASE = Cette base réunit les 864,000 références de la base CHOIX sur les documents imprimés en langue française, les 135,700 références sur les documents audiovisuels de la base DAVID et les 16,100 références sur les logiciels et les documents électroniques de LOGIBASE.
Chronicling America : historic American newspapers
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1836-1922 available online:
Index, full-text - search and read newspaper pages from 1836-1922 -- digitized newspaper pages represent a state's regional history, geographic coverage & events of the particular time being covered - includes "Newspaper Title Directory" comprising 140,000 newspaper titles with library holdings, 1690 to present.
CHRR online : the best source for Canadian human rights law
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Vol. 1 (1980)-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Covers reported & unreported Canadian human rights decisions - search using keyword in full-text, thesaurus term, year, Jurisdiction, Adjudicator, Board / Tribunal / Court, etc. - features "Cited by" link to note-up case law, access to "Thesaurus of Human Rights Terms" & “Index to Legislation Cited” - includes full-text of “Human Rights Digest” & “Current Law Notes.”
Ciao : Columbia international affairs online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1991-present available online:
Variable Coverage - Covers theory and research in international affairs - Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy.
CINAHL plus with full text
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1937-present available online:
User Guide
Abstracts, full-text - covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines - 3 million records from 4,500+ journals, selected health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters - provides 770 full text e-journals and 240 e-books
CiteSeerX : scientific literature digital library and search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Covers literature in computer and information science - Provides resources such as algorithms, data, metadata, services, techniques, and software that can be used to promote other digital libraries - Includes over 750,000 documents.
Civil engineering abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 1 million records covering all aspects of civil engineering from architecture, structural design & construction engineering to environmental, seismic engineering and forensics - 4,000 academic & trade journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, newspaper items, patents, books, etc
Civil engineering database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Journals: 1956-present; Books: 1900-present; Conferences: 1983-present available online:
User Guide
Index, limited Full Text - Indexes all ASCE publications: bibliographic records, journal articles, and conference papers - Limited full text links available for articles.
Classical works knowledge base
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
"The CWKB knowledge base assembles data about Classical works (1,550 authors and 5,200 texts, with variants forms in the main modern languages of Classical studies and common abbreviations). The knowledge base also contains the linking heuristics to the passage level for 6,732 manifestations of Classical works."
CNET
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Includes tech product reviews, tech news, daily videos, free downloads, and podcasts.
Cochrane library : evidence for health care decision-making
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1996-present available online:
User Guide
Variable Coverage - Consists mainly of 6 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effects; Cochrane central register of controlled trials; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database; NHS economic evaluation database.
Cold regions bibliography project
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-September 2011 available online:
Index, abstracts - comprises 300,000+ records describing journal articles, reports, theses, maps & conference papers on cold regions science & technology worldwide + Antarctic exploration - covers cold-related environmental problems, impact of human activity of cold environments, nature / impact of cold on facilities & activities, and physical, biological & medical sciences in cold regions - links to full-text of recent titles.
Colonial state papers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1574-1757 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - two important research tools as one service: 1) access 7,000+ digitized primary source documents covering English activities in the American, Canadian & West Indian colonies during the 16th-18th centuries (Privy Council … Colonial Papers; CO 1) ; 2) Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America & the West Indies … comprising 40,000+ bibliographic records for documents from CO 1 & many other sources - document types: letters of commission, petitions, articles of peace, lists of vessels & goods, reports of exploration, complaints of disputes & more.
Columbia Granger's World of poetry
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Index to poetry, including full-text and excerpts of some poems. This online version contains the contents of the following works: Columbia Granger's index to poetry in anthologies (eds. 8-12), Columbia Granger's index to poetry in collected and selected works, Columbia Granger's dictionary of poetry quotations, Classic hundred poems, as well as new content not published previously in print.
Communication abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1978-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprehensive source covering journal articles on communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields - Covers 244,000+ records from over 300 publications world-wide.
Compendex
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1884-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Millions of bibliographic records describing research articles from 5,000+ engineering journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports - Covers all aspects of engineering and applied sciences.
Complete dictionary of scientific biography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2008 edition available online:
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
CompPile : an inventory of publications in writing studies, including post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse analysis : 1939-current
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1939-present available online:
User Guide
Index - an inventory of publications in writing studies, including postsecondary composition, rhetoric, technical writings, ESL and discourse analysis - includes research bibliographies - provides citations to published works and links to free Web resources. For most book or article results, look up book or article in Summon.
Conference Board of Canada e-Library
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1998-present available online:
Full-text - research reports, case studies, detailed findings, periodicals, conference presentations from the Conference Board of Canada - Canadian Economic trends: federal, provincial, metropolitan, consumer & business attitudes, industry sector analysis - Organizational performance: corporate finance, governance & social responsibility, human resources management, risk management - Public policy: innovation, taxation, trade & investment policy, socio-economic performance, health economics, education & learning.
Connected histories : British history sources, 1500-1900
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1500-1900 available online:
"Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace."--Home page.
Contemporary authors online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
Index, full-text - bio-bibliographical information for 149,000+ modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists & scriptwriters - entries cover personal & contact information, career history, writings, biographical & critical sources, authors' comments & informative essays about their lives & work - search by author or individual work.
Counseling and psychotherapy transcripts, client narratives, and reference works
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - real transcripts of more than 2000 therapy & counseling sessions, first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, & content from 50 reference works to contextualize the primary material. The database currently includes approximately 61,900 pages of material, including more than 14,000 pages of session transcripts, more than 22,000 pages of client narratives, and more than 24,000 pages of secondary reference material
Country report
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1996-present available online:
Website providing access to online versions of periodical reports issued by the Economist Intelligence Unit under the general title Country report. Each report presents an overview and analysis of key political and economic factors in a country. Sections include political outlook, economic policy outlook, and economic forecast. Reports also include statistical data.
Credo reference
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Over 3 million articles from more than 700 reference titles - Covers a broad range of subjects - Edited topic pages available for 10,000 subjects.
Criminal justice abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1968-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - 200,000+ records describing major journal articles, books, reports from government & non-governmental agencies - Topics include: criminology, crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.
Criminal justice database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1981-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprehensive international database covering 250+ criminal justice journals: criminology, law enforcement, corrections administration, addiction & drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, industrial security.
CriminalSource
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1898-present available online:
User Guide
Criminal Source provides search access to criminal, constitutional, evidence, and immigration cases from all Canadian jurisdictions. Primary sources include case law and legislation.
Current index to statistics
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1975-present available online:
Index - comprises bibliographic records describing publications in statistics, probability & related fields - covers full contents of 160 core journals + selected statistical articles from 1,200 non-core journals - also covers conference proceedings & 11,000 edited books - 5% of records cover the pre-1975 statistics literature.

Return to Database Search