Search Results

Database Indexes by Title

G

Gale literary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Index, full-text - research authors & their works, literary movements & genres - cross-search fourteen Gale literary resources to find full-text literature criticism, reviews & overviews, journal articles & author biographical information: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Shakespeare Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Children’s Literature Review, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Something About the Author.
Gale newsvault
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: approx. 1600-2005 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - cross-search 8 major historic newspaper archives: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, British Library Newspapers 1800-1899, Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003, Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 & Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2005 - comprises 10+ million page images with newspaper articles, editorials, letters, advertisements, reviews, etc.
Gale primary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-2012 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time.
Gallica : la bibliothèque numérique
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1100-present available online:
Catalogue, full-text - explore French culture, history, literature, science, law, political science, economics, science & technology through digitized collections from the Bibliothèque nationale de France - huge freely available online library comprising 20,000 archival periodicals & 635,000 books + thousands of digitized maps, images, animations, sound recordings, scores, manuscripts & more - French + other European languages.
GALLOP portal : government and legislative libraries online publications portal = Portail des PGPE : Portails des publications gouvernementales et parlementaires électronique
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1995-present available online:
User Guide
Index - one-stop online access to 475,000+ provincial, territorial & federal government publications / legislative materials - GALLOP indexes full-text & bibliographic records from online government documents collections of the Canadian federal government + 10 provincial / territorial jurisdictions.
Garland encyclopedia of world music
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text, streaming audio - comprehensive resource devoted to music research covering all the world's peoples - provides an overview with images covering each geographic region, its musical heritage & specific musical genres, practices & performances + links to hundreds of associated audio examples - indexing covers genre, subject, instrument, place, person, ensemble & cultural group.
GeoRef
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1669-present (North America); 1933-present (rest of the world) available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - 3.4+ million records describing articles from 3,500 journals as well as books/chapters, maps, geological survey documents & society reports, conference papers, theses / dissertations, etc. - covers all the geosciences: areal, economic, engineering, environmental, extraterrestrial, structural & surficial geology, geochemistry & geophysics, hydrogeology & hydrology, marine geology & oceanography, mineralogy & crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology & stratigraphy.
GeoRef in process
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Current year + selected older texts 1669-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Supplements the main GeoRef database - Comprises unedited records being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database; records may originate from older, non-English language literature while more current records are not yet complete.
GEOSCAN
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1843-present available online:
Index, full-text - includes 60,000+ records describing scientific publications from the Geological Survey of Canada, the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing, Canadian topographic maps and outside publications by staff from Natural Resources Canada Earth Science Sector [ESS] - provides links to publications available online or for free download.
GeoScienceWorld
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1890-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - access scholarly journals produced by leading earth science societies & research institutes - offers specialized & graphical searching capabilities which are linked & inter-operable with the GeoRef bibliographic search database - MUN Libraries offer full-text access to GSW journals only.
Gerritsen collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1543-1977 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - greatest single source for the study of women's history, reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness & the movement for women's rights - covers books, pamphlets & periodicals from around the world - the anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.
GIS bibliography
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1890-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers the literature of geographic information systems, science & technology - comprises 135,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers / proceedings, books / chapters & reports from the origins of GIS to the present.
Global ETD search
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, full text - central portal to search and locate electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) from 200+ universities around the world. Find ETDs based on keyword, date, institution, language and subject.
Global forecasting service
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2009-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text, data - Global & regional economic forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit - Tab between Articles and Charts for analyses in detail or view forecasts at a glance - Summary tables give comprehensive views of outlooks for all the key economic variables.
Global Health Observatory : (GHO) data
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage:
"Global Health Observatory (GHO) [is a] gateway to health-related statistics from around the world. The aim of the GHO is to: compile and verify major sources of health data; provide easy access to country data and metadata; present scientifically sound information in user-friendly formats. GHO theme pages will cover global health priorities such as the health-related Millennium Development Goals, women and health, mortality and burden of disease, disease outbreaks, health equity and health systems. Each theme page will present: highlights showing the global situation and trends, using regularly updated core indicators; data views customized for each theme, including country profiles and a map gallery; publications relevant to the theme; links to relevant web pages within WHO and elsewhere. The GHO will provide access to an interactive repository of health statistics. Users will be able to download data sets in various formats, display data for selected indicators, health topics, count
Global road warrior : the ultimate guide to the world
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Current year available online:
Index, full-text - detailed profiles + data on 175+ countries for international travelers - includes country facts, climate, society & culture, demographics, money & banking, points of interest, transportation, maps, communications, etiquette, useful phrases & more.
Gnomon online : the Eichstätt information system for classical studies
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
Full Text - Supplement to Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank on CD - Covers approximately 15% of the CD, including the complete set of entries from 1997 onwards.
Google arts & culture
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Images - access the art works, cultural treasures & interiors of 1200+ leading museums worldwide - high-resolution images of 1.0+ million artworks & artifacts + virtual tours of thousands of galleries & other spaces in participating museums using Google's street-view technology - explore, through detailed images, historical sites, individuals, events & treasures.
Google books

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Includes access to full text of public domain books - Text provided by publishers or by the libraries of University of Michigan, Stanford University, Harvard University, or the New York Public Library.
Google news
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current 30 days available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - automated compilation service & search engine for news - aggregates content from 4,500+ English language news sources - versions for more than 80 regions / languages are available - selection of news stories is fully automated; news sites are selected by human editors from 25,000+ publishers.
Google patent search
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Over 7 million patents from the US Patent and Trademark Office - Includes patent summary, claims, drawings, citations, and referenced by notes - Applications international patents, and those approved in the past few months are not included.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Google scholar : [open access]

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users.
Government of Canada publications
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - search the Canadian government catalogue comprising 355,000+ records describing an extensive variety of federal government publications - download 235,000+ titles from the collection of free online Canadian government publications - Browse online serial publications from federal government departments & agencies.
GreenFILE
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1910-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 538,000+ records describing well-researched scholarly articles, government & industry reports, & general-interest publications concerning human impacts on the environment - Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, environmental education, law, health &technology - Includes Open Access full text for more than 5,800 items.
Guide to social work, social science and religion in periodical literature
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1993-present available online:
Index - covers scores of magazines & scholarly journals in religion & social sciences, including many that are not included in traditional indexing sources - multidisciplinary in nature, with many titles crossing over between religion, the family, philosophy & social work.

Return to Database Search