Search Results

Database Indexes by Title

N

NAL catalog (AGRICOLA)
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1500-present available online:
User Guide
Index - database produced by the National Agricultural Library comprising 5,200,000+ records describing journal articles, book, government reports, audiovisual materials & online content from around the world - covers agricultural & environmental sciences: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant science, forestry, aquaculture, fisheries, farming systems, agricultural economics, extension education, food science, human nutrition, soil science, pesticides, natural resources, & pollution.
NASA technical reports server : NTRS
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1915-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 500,000+ records describing scientific & technical literature created or funded by NASA’s current & historical aerospace, space sciences & engineering research: conference papers, journal articles, patents, research reports, images, technical videos / movies - links to 300,000+ full-text online documents & 500,000+ images, videos, etc - NTRS integrates citations & full-text/full-view content from 3 collections: NACA [National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics] Collection, 1915-1958 + NASA Collection, 1958-present + NIX [NASA Image eXchange] Collection.
National Academies Press
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1930-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - 9,000 full-text books & technical reports from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering & Medicine - authoritative information on important matters in the social, biological, physical & applied sciences, engineering, medicine, business & education.
National Council of Teachers of English : NCTE
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1912-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers content from all NCTE journals + all files on the web sites of the NCTE, ReadWriteThink, Literacy Coaching Clearinghouse & the National Center for Literacy Education (NCLE) - subjects: teaching / learning of English, reading, literacy & language arts at all levels of education.
National fire codes subscription service
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
Index, full-text - access to 300+ NFPA consensus codes, standards & handbooks intended to eliminate death, injury, property & economic loss due to fire, electrical & related hazards - current & previous editions.
National Gallery of Art
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
Images - website for the National Gallery of Art (U.S.) - access one of the world’s finest collections illustrating Western European & American achievements in painting, sculpture & the graphic arts from the late Middle Ages to modern times - includes images & full-text publications from NGA Collections, Exhibitions, Education programs, Research & Conservation.
National Geographic publications index
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1888-Sept. 2015 present available online:
Index - contains bibliographic records that describe every magazine article, map supplement, book (chapter), film/video or educational product from the National Geographic Society - descriptions include title, date, pages, subjects, contributors, time period & notes.
National library of energy beta
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers energy science, research & development; energy technologies for industry & homeowners; energy market information & analysis; nuclear security; environmental management - searches yield relevance-ranked results from 18 distributed U.S. Dept. of Energy databases & 100+ websites [comprising 25 million searchable pages] - links to full-text content when available.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Internet access unrestricted
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
User Guide
Index - search, retrieve, download, print technical, scientific & educational publications from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) - includes 7,000+ print & 35,000+ digital documents, including reports, papers, test methods, standards, guidelines & more
National Technical Reports Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, abstracts - access more than two million historical & current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service covers all fields of science, social science & technical research - 500,000+ documents available in full-text format.
Native American ethnobotany : a database of food, drugs, dyes, and fibers of native North American peoples derived from plants
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index - comprises 44,700+ records describing journal articles, books / chapters, reports on uses of plants by native North American peoples including foods, drugs, dyes and fibers - 291 Native American groups ; 4,029 species from 243 different plant families - includes links to species datasheets in US Department of Agriculture PLANTS database.
Native health database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1770-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises records describing health-related articles, reports, surveys & other resource documents pertaining to health & medical issues of the American Indian, Alaska Native & Canadian First Nations populations - contemporary articles, studies & reports focused on the medical (physical & psychological), anthropological & administrative aspects of aboriginal health.
Natural medicines
Internet access available to MUN users only .
Coverage: 2013-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - up-to-date authoritative resource covering 90,000+ dietary supplements, natural medicines and complementary, alternative & integrative therapies - each brand name product report summarizes safety, effectiveness, dosing, adverse effects, toxicology, interactions, pharmacokinetics + evidence for each ingredient contained in the product and more - comprises several databases: Food, Herbs & Supplements, Health & Wellness, Sports Medicine, Comparative Effectiveness, Manufacturers, Commercial Products & Medical Conditions.
Nautical Mind
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
Sale listings - Canadian marine bookseller & chart agent: books, e-books, charts & DVDs on boating & seamanship, ship / boat design & construction, cruising guides, navigation charts + professional texts for seafarers & the shipping industry.
NCJRS abstracts database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - 220,000+ summaries describing resources in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service library collection - includes government documents, books, research reports, journal articles & unpublished research - covers: corrections, courts, crime & crime prevention, drugs & substance abuse, law enforcement & the justice system, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness & victims.
Nestor : bibliography of Aegean prehistory and related areas
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1959-present available online:
Index - searchable international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics & related fields - prehistoric period in the regions covered, from the Paleolithic through the end of the Geometric period - comprises 41,000+ bibliographic entries & 11,000+ reviews - some full-text links are provided.
New Testament abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1985-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers the New Testament & its historical milieu - comprises records describing 50,000+ journal articles - 19,000 books / chapters - 1,600 reviews & 60 software programs - the Scriptures authority file guarantees that searches using a scriptural citation will generate appropriate results
New York review of books
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1963- available online:
Index, full-text - 50+ years of fully searchable NYRB back issues -- comprises 20,000+ articles, reviews, letters & original essays - valuable resource for all booklovers including scholars, students & writers.
New York Times article archive
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1851-present available online:
Index - brief records describing 15.3+ million articles from the complete back-file of the New York Times - articles published before 1923 or after 1980 are free on the NYT web site; those published between 1923–1980 can be purchased for U$3.95 each - full-text of all NYT articles available at Memorial University's QEII Library.
New York Times books
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
Full-text - browse current & archived issues of the book review section of the New York Times - search 92,000+ reviews - browse topical lists: Bestsellers, Crime, Children’s books - includes news articles about books, literature & literary lives.
Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - popular fiction, non-fiction, audio materials and DVDs held in Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries - links to its eResource collection of research databases, its eLibrary selection of e-books & audio books, the Newfoundland & Labrador resource collection and its programs & services.
Newfoundland and Labrador health bibliography
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1630, 1856-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises records describing journal articles, books/chapters, theses, anecdotal pieces, case reports & scholarly research concerning health, disease, medical conditions, health education & medical care in Newfoundland & Labrador - items listed in the NLHB are available at the Health Sciences Library.
Newfoundland and Labrador map bibliography
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1497-1949 available online:
Index - records, many with extensive notes, describing printed & manuscript maps of Newfoundland & Labrador in libraries / archives in Newfoundland, other parts of Canada, the United States & the United Kingdom - emphasis is on the current geographical boundaries of the Province of Newfoundland & Labrador.
Newfoundland Public Libraries newspaper index
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-1989 (SCATTERED coverage):
Index, limited full text - Covers the Evening Telegram (St. John's): 1978-1987 + 1950-1977 [PARTIAL COVERAGE], the Daily News (St. John's): 1978-1984 +1950-1977 [PARTIAL COVERAGE], the Western Star (Corner Brook): 1950-1979 [PARTIAL COVERAGE], the Diocesan Magazine (1889-1958) and Newfoundland Churchman (1959-1987). Links FROM ENTRIES to full text of the Daily News, 1955-1963, and the Evening Telegram, 1914-1918, ONLY ARE INCLUDED.
NFB campus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1917-present available online:
Streaming video - access 6,000+ Canadian films, both Campus & NFB free titles -- covers NFB produced documentaries, animations, experimental films, media & alternative dramas across a wide range of subjects: environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts - the NFB CAMPUS subscription allows streaming, not downloading, of videos; with Campus, faculty can screen films from NFB's online collection in the classroom; faculty can create personal accounts to make & share playlists with their students - includes 500 films with study guides & other tools available to educational subscribers only.
Nineteenth century collections online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800s available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location.
NISO standards
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Index, Full Text - Current and draft standards for information coding and exchange, as well as links to standards maintenance organizations and related resources - Many of the standards are downloadable as PDFs.
Non-governmental organizations search
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
Index, full-text – custom search covering content from 1,100+ web sites of international & non-governmental (NGOs) or civil society (CSOs) organizations.
Nordic archaeological abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1974- available online. Password required:
Index and Abstracts - Approximately 20,000 books and journal articles dealing with archaeological investigations, recent as well as medieval and prehistoric - Covers Denmark, the Faroe Islands, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, the Aland Islands, and culturally related areas.
NoveList plus

Coverage: 1300-present available online:
User Guide
Index - contains information on 250,000+ fiction & readable nonfiction titles - includes feature content: lists of award-winning books, series, book discussion guides, author read-alikes, books in similar genres, book talks, Recommended Reads and more - readers' advisory database for aiding readers in finding their next read. Available on Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries website. Select "Education Resources". Login using an NLPL card number and PIn.
NRC publications archive
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
Index, full-text - searchable online repository comprising 55,950+ publication citations - provides access to 14,000+ NRCC full-text publications.
NRC Research Press journals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1929-present available online:
Index, abstracts - 30+ current/ceased Canadian scholarly science/technology journals; most available in full-text - covers a broad range of biological & physical science, engineering & applied sciences disciplines - most articles from NRC Research Press journals (1951-2010) are freely available to all Canadians.

Return to Database Search