Search Results

Database Indexes by Title

Numeric

17th-18th century Burney Collection newspapers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1600-1799 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - comprehensive collection of early English news media comprising 1,194 newspapers + nearly 100 examples of corantos, news-books & other early forms gathered by the Rev. Charles Burney - comprises nearly 1 million pages of digitized primary source material, mainly from London & provincial towns throughout the British Isles + America & Asia.
19th century U.S. newspapers
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-1899 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers 500+ newspapers from a range of urban & rural regions throughout the U.S. - comprises 1.8 million digital facsimile images of full pages, clipped articles, advertisements & illustrations - encompasses the entire 19th century: the Civil War & Confederacy, Native American & African-American culture & history, women’s rights, Western migration, labor & Antebellum-era life, among other subjects + essays by journalism historians to provide context & clarity to the collection.
19th century UK periodicals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-1899 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - content from 300+ national, regional, local, colonial & missionary, popular, women's & children's periodicals + professional & academic journals - comprises more than 2 million pages covering literature, science, agriculture, trade & industry, medicine, travel, geography & anthropology, humour, theatre, music, sport, recreation, politics, economics, education, social reform & philanthropy, religion, fine arts, architecture.

Return to Database Search