Search Results

Database Indexes by Title

S

SAE store
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current standards available online:
Sale listings - Covers Society of Automotive Engineers standards, books, papers, magazines, product catalogues, Web/CD products, and training - When a required standard is unavailable in the collection, the Memorial University Libraries will RUSH acquire it for current MUN students, faculty, and staff.
Safari books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2000-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text -- the Memorial University Libraries collection comprises 100 e-books -- covers information technology, including manuals for computer languages, operating systems, hardware, software development, desktop & Web applications, etc -- SAFARI E-BOOKS WILL BE ADDED ON REQUEST: http://www.library.mun.ca/aboutus/suggestionsrecommendations
Sage journals online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Abstracts, Full Text - Covers journals published by SAGE Publications and participating societies, in a variety of disciplines - Includes abstracts and table of contents of all Sage journals, as well as full text access to subscribed titles.
Sage knowledge
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, selected full text - Social sciences digital library: business, media studies, counseling, criminology, education, politics, gender & sexuality, gerontology, health & social care, psychology, social work, sociology, geography - indexing 2,500+ Sage scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, etc..
SAGE research methods
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1976-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Explore methods & concepts to help design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct research, write up findings - Focusing on research methodology, SRM can be used for the social sciences, health sciences, and more - comprises 175,000 pages of Sage book, journal & reference content.
Salem Press
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, full-text - complete contents of selected reference titles covering literature, history & music - searchable by author, subject, genre or geographical location - Critical Insights (authors, themes & works), Critical Surveys, Masterplots, Milestone documents, Decades series.
Science online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Full Text - Thousands of diagrams, definitions, biographies, essays, experiments, and timelines - Covers all science disciplines, from animal anatomy to weather and climate - Contains full and partial text from hundreds of authoritative print titles.
Science.gov : USA.gov for science
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Search engine, full-text - Federated search of 45+ databases and 2000+ websites from 14 U.S. federal agencies - Covers journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings & other published materials - Subjects: agriculture, applied sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, communication, earth & ocean sciences, energy, environment, medicine, mathematics, physics.
ScienceDirect
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present available online:
Index, Abstracts, Full Text - Over 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and 11,000 books - Covers the sciences, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
SciFinder
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text Links - Over 10,000 journals and patents from more than 61 patent authorities - Searches Chemical Abstracts and other databases, including Medline - Covers many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more - Also includes organic and inorganic substance information.
SciVal
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
User Guide
Data - comprehensive suite of tools & services to help research institutions & funding agencies establish, execute & evaluate their research funding strategies - visualize research performance, benchmark relative to peers, develop collaborative partnerships, analyze research trends.
SCOAP3 repository
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2014-present available online:
Full-text - articles from 10+ high quality international journals in high-energy physics - open access articles funded through a partnership of libraries, publishers, funding agencies and the research community.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Scottish bibliographies online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1988-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 60,000+ records describing books, periodicals & major articles of Scottish interest published all over the world - access merged records from the Bibliography of Scotland, the Bibliography of Scottish Gaelic & the Bibliography of the Scottish book trade.
Sea Grant publications catalog
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1967-present available online:
Index, abstracts - 49,000+ records describing Sea Grant-funded documents; 23,000+ available in full-text - cover oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, ship construction & nautical science - find topical full-text collections in Digital Libraries & Special Searches.
SEG digital library
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1936-present available online:
Index, full-text - technical articles from SEG journals & technical symposia, SEG ebooks, and Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Geophysics.
Serials union catalogue for the UK : SUNCAT
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Catalogue - Information about serials held in over 75 UK libraries - Includes the British Library, the National Libraries of Scotland and Wales, some higher education institutions, and specialist libraries - Contains information on print and electronic serials, including journals, periodicals, newspapers, newsletters, magazines, annual reports and other serial publications.
Seventh-day Adventist periodical index
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1977-present available online:
Index - Comprises brief records describing articles that appeared in over 40+ Seventh-day Adventist English-language journals and magazines.
SEXBIBLIO : bibliography of the history of western sexuality
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1700-2008 available online:
Index - comprises 27,500+ records describing primary and secondary literature of the history of sexuality in Europe, the U.S. and Canada from 1700 to 2007/8 - Also offers important titles of the sexual history of Antiquity and the Middle Ages, including non-Western societies.
Shakespeare collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1597-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Covers Shakespeare's works and their social & historical context - brings together reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material including selections from Prompt books.
Shop CSA
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current standards available online:
Sale listings - Online store offering standards, handbooks, and guidelines - Covers construction, engineering, electrical, energy, environmental, health and safety, information technology, mechanical and industrial equipment - When a required standard is unavailable in the collection, the Memorial University Libraries will RUSH acquire it for current MUN students, faculty, and staff.
Short story index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1915-present available online:
Index, Limited Full Text - Citations for over 200,000 stories, full text of nearly 5000 stories - Includes subject access by theme, locale, narrative technique or device - Periodicals included are those indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index.
SIAM e-books
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2011-present available online:
Access to approximately 400 books published by SIAM over the past five decades.
SIMBAD astronomical database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Index - Provides basic data, cross-identifications and bibliography for astronomical objects outside the solar system. SIMBAD can be queried by object name, coordinates and other criteria (filters). Links to some other databases are also provided.
SJR : SCImago journal and country rank
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Citation database - Includes journals indexed in the Scopus database - For each journal, provides impact factors expressed as SJR rankings and an h (Hirsch) index, data on numbers of documents, references, and cites, analyzed by country of publication.
Slavistik Portal = Portal po Slavistike
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1790-present available online:
Index - central point of access for Slavistics online - simultaneously search dozens of essential bibliographic databases for Slavistics + major library catalogues - covers history, politics & ethnography of the Slavic countries / regions + Slavic languages, linguistics & literatures, slavic folklore in particular.
Smoking & Health Resource Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1965-present available online:
Index and Abstracts - Tobacco-related articles from medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference proceedings and papers; government documents; fact sheets and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofit organizations.
SNAME technical papers
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1893-present available online:
Index - technical papers from the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers' main publications.
Social science database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Covers scholarly articles from 570 journals in the social sciences: Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Political science, Psychology, Social work, Sociology - more than 340 available in full text.
Social services abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1979-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 162,000+ records describing journal articles, dissertations, & book reviews - links to current research focused on social work, family & social welfare, poverty & homelessness, addiction, gerontology, violence, abuse, & neglect, community & mental health services.
Social work abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1966-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Abstracts - Covers research sources for social work, including theory, practice, areas of service, social issues, therapy, education, addictions, child / family welfare, mental health, civil / legal rights - Records describe articles from 450 social work and human services journals.
Society for Sedimentary Geology: SEPM
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1927-present available online:
"SEPM (Society for Sedimentary Geology) is an international not-for-profit Society. Through its network of international members, the Society is dedicated to the dissemination of scientific information on sedimentology, stratigraphy, paleontology, environmental sciences, marine geology, hydrogeology, and many additional related specialties."
SocINDEX with full text
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1940-present available online:
Index, abstracts - Covers sociology and closely related areas of study: abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Sociological abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1952-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - In-depth, non-evaluative records describing journal articles & book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications + abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, & conference papers - Covers international literature of sociology, including crime, demography, ethnic relations, family & social welfare, substance abuse, social planning, social psychology, violence, etc.
Sociology database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
ProQuest Sociology gives users access to the full-text of more than 240 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. ProQuest Sociology covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Something about the author online
Internet access available to MUN user only.
Coverage: 1700-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 20,000+ articles examining the lives & works of authors / illustrators for children & young adults - includes illustrated biographies, literature criticism, reviews & news, topic & work overviews, primary sources & literary works, multimedia.
Sound & moving image catalogue
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1857-present available online:
Catalogue -- Lists 3.5+ million recordings in all genres: pop, jazz, classical & world music to wildlife sounds, oral history, drama, literature, language & dialect at the British Library -- the moving image collection comprises 60,000 titles, most collected for their aural content + some BBC television news and other recorded content.
Sources : a National Library of Ireland database for Irish research
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-1989 available online:
Index - contains over 180,000 catalogue records for Irish manuscripts and for articles in Irish periodicals. Article records give details of the author, the title, and the citation + information about how to access the periodicals. Manuscript records provide key details about the manuscript including the title, in addition to where it is held and its manuscript number. All records have subject headings.
SPORTDiscus with full text
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
Variable Coverage - Full text for over 550 journals - International coverage of sport, sport medicine and law, fitness and recreation - Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, theses, websites, and audiovisual items.
SPRILIB : a polar and glaciological bibliographic database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online:
Index and Abstracts - Over 120,000 records - Covers literature relating to the Arctic, Antarctic, and snow and ice throughout the world - Includes articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, government documents, and other reports - Comprises three databases: SPRILIB Antarctica, SPRILIB Ice and Snow, and SPRILIB Russian North.
SSRN eLibrary
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1995-present available online:
User Guide
Abstracts, full-text -- Comprises abstracts describing 581,000+ papers contributed by scholars worldwide, with links to full text - its Electronic Paper Collection offers full-text for 482,000+ working papers in PDF format -- Bibliometric analysis: 9 million references & 9.1 million footnotes have been matched to 6 million citations in EPC papers -- Entries include complete title, author, affiliation, ORCID IDs, abstract or description, keywords & distribution history.
StandardsStore.ca
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current standards available online:
Sale listings - A single-point of entry for identifying Canadian and international standards only - [When a required standard is unavailable in the collection, the Memorial University Libraries will RUSH acquire it for current MUN students, faculty and staff].
SUDOC catalogue
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Catalogue - Nearly 9 million records - Covers materials in French higher education and research libraries and resource centres - Includes books, dissertations, reviews, electronic resources, audio-visual documents, microfiche, maps, scores, and manuscripts.
Synthesis digital library of engineering and computer science
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Index - Full text - An information service for the research, development, and educational community in engineering and computer science. Contains 50- to 100-page self-contained electronic documents--lectures, which are organized into a hierarchical structure of disciplines and series. Each is authored by a prominent contributor to the field.
Synthetic reaction updates
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2015-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - literature updating service covering recent developments in synthetic organic chemistry. Includes the most important reactions published in the recent scientific literature, presented as easy to read reaction schemes searchable by topic and reaction type.

Return to Database Search