Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Anthropology - Try These First |
|
| Anthropology plus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Late 1800s-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers journal articles; reports; commentaries; edited works; obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, & linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies - 885,000+ articles from 2,5000 journals indexed. | |
| AnthroSource | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1880-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers 300,000+ articles from journals, newsletters, bulletins & monographs published by the American Anthropological Association. | |
| International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1951-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - International perspective on social sciences research: anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies + interdisciplinary fields - Over 2.5 million records describing materials from 100 countries and in 60 languages: journal articles, books / selected chapters, reviews. | |
| Periodicals index online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665-2000 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
Anthropology - More Specifically |
|
| AATA online : abstracts of international conservation literature | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1880-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 138,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, books / chapters & technical reports - covers conservation, preservation & management of material cultural heritage: architectural heritage, archaeological sites, works of art, cultural objects & materials, production techniques & history of technology - browse using subject terms from the Getty Conservation Institute thesaurus; browse comprehensive subject-specific bibliographies produced for GCI’s conservation & scientific research projects. | |
| ABC CLIO eBook collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1991-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers 900+ online encyclopedias covering historical & cultural topics: American & world history + current events & issues, geography & world cultures, popular culture, folklore & mythology, religion, society & education, gender studies, crime & punishment, politics, law & government, business, the environment, physical & mental health. | |
| Academic search complete | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| AfricaBib | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
|
| Index - search 220,000+ records describing Africana social science periodical literature - comprises records from 2 major bibliographies: Africana periodical literature and African women's literature + a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers & explorers to Africa + several smaller topical bibliographies. | |
| AGRIS | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1975-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises more than 7.8 million records describing world research literature on agricultural research & technology - covers journal articles, conference papers, books, theses, data, statistics, multimedia material, etc. - subjects include aquaculture, fisheries, forestry, crop science, animal husbandry, food, human nutrition and more. | |
| American bibliography of Slavic, East European and Eurasian studies : ABSEEES | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1939-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Subjects: anthropology; culture & the arts; economics; politics; education; and geography - Journal articles, books & their chapters, dissertations, online resources and government documents are indexed - See EBSEES for additional coverage. | |
| AnthroBase.com : searchable, multilingual database of anthropological texts | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Variable listings - Includes: reviews; book chapters; biographies; conference papers; field notes; student articles - Languages include: Danish, English, French, German, Norwegian, Russian, Swedish. | |
| Anthropological fieldwork online | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today. Content is focused around each scholar's prominent field experience, with comprehensive inclusion of fieldwork, contextualizing documents from the same time period, including correspondence, and subsequent writings that led to major publications such as draft manuscripts, lectures and articles. Scholars can trace the full scholarly process in all of its stages, from qualitative data gathering to analysis through publication, while cross-searching contemporaneous research from the most important scholars in the discipline. Includes the original fieldwork of anthropologists such as: Bronislaw Malinow | |
| Arctic & Antarctic regions | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Over 1 million records - describing articles, reports and books on cold regions. Covers temperate latitudes with cold winters, to the Himalayas and the poles. | |
| Arctic Science and Technology Information System : ASTIS = Système d'information sur les sciences et les technologies arctique : SISTA | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 83,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, theses, books, government reports, etc. on northern Canada & the circumpolar Arctic - subjects: earth sciences, biological & health sciences, engineering & technology, marine areas, politics, economic & social conditions, land use, indigenous peoples, traditional knowledge, archaeology, history, art & literature. | |
| Arts & humanities database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals. | |
| Bibliografía mesoamericana | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1514-2012 available online: |
|
| Index - 73,000+ records describing books, journal articles, essays in collected works, dissertations/theses, audio/visual materials, etc. on Mesoamerica [México, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras & El Salvador] - covers archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, & related disciplines. | |
| Bibliographieportal zur Geschichte Ostmitteleuropas = Bibliography portal on the history of East Central Europe | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1920-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises 800,000+ records describing scholarly literature concerning the history of Eastern Central European areas - covers journal articles, books/chapters & encyclopedias/articles - maintained by the Herder Institut for an international consortium. | |
| Bibliography of Asian studies | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia - comprises 900,000+ records describing western-language journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast & South Asia - Subjects: philosophy, religion, literature, history, fine arts, music, theatre, architecture, anthropology, archaeology, economics, politics, sociology, environmental sciences, public health & medicine. | |
| Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1700-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - covers all aspects of native North American culture, history & life, 16th century to present: native culture, history, daily life, archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, ethnobotany, legend & literacy - comprises 141,000 citations describing books, essays, journal articles & government documents - essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal & medical researchers, linguists, theologians & policy makers. | |
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| Daily life online. World folklore and folklife | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1884-present available online: |
|
| Full-text - Reference works covering international tales, myths, & urban legends, celebrations, rituals, food & drink, holidays, festivals, religion & belief, music & dance, traditional arts & crafts + thousands of classic folk tales: Hans Christian Andersen stories, Grimm's fairy tales, & folktales from around the world - Includes Aarne-Thompson Tale Type Numbers. | |
| Daily life through history | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Full-text - Covers daily life across the globe and throughout history, including: arts, clothing, education, family life, food and drink, gender, politics, recreation, religion, science, social customs, warfare, and work - Includes primary documents, articles, encyclopedias, books, images, maps, and timelines. | |
| Digital Commons network | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology. | |
| eHRAF world cultures | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Variable Coverage - Includes information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns - Full Text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. | |
| Ethnographic video online : Royal Anthropological Institute teaching edition | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Ethnographic Video Online, Royal Anthropological Institute Teaching Edition is a curriculum-aligned collection of videos and segments curated to support the teaching of introductory anthropology courses. Each video and segment within this collection are accompanied by a teaching guide providing background information, lesson plans, and class room exercises and activities. There are a variety of themes that are discussed including family and kinship, gender roles, cultural identity, belief systems and other topics centered around diversity, change, and culture. All teaching material within this collection are created by the Education Committee of the Royal Anthropological Institute. | |
| Ethnographic Video Online : Vols. I & II: Foundational Films | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
User Guide |
| Index, video - visual encyclopedia of human behavior & culture comprising 1,300+ hours of streaming video: ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films & previously unpublished fieldwork - includes footage from every continent & hundreds of unique cultures - topics: ethnographic methodologies, language & culture, food, foraging & cooking, social stratification & status, kinship & families, migration & conflict, religion & belief systems, music, dance & art, etc. | |
| European bibliography of Slavic and East European studies : EBSEES = Bibliographie européenne des travaux sur l'ex-URSS et l'Europe de l'Est = Europäische Bibliographie zur Osteuropaforschung | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1991-2007 available online: |
|
| Index - Over 85,500 titles - Includes books, journal articles, reviews, and theses on Eastern Europe (former Communist countries) that were published in Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Great Britain, and Germany, the Netherlands and Switzerland - Covers the social sciences and humanities. | |
| Garland encyclopedia of world music | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text, streaming audio - comprehensive resource devoted to music research covering all the world's peoples - provides an overview with images covering each geographic region, its musical heritage & specific musical genres, practices & performances + links to hundreds of associated audio examples - indexing covers genre, subject, instrument, place, person, ensemble & cultural group. | |
| HLAS online : handbook of Latin American studies | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1935-present available online: |
|
| Index - Bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences & humanities - Covers books, journal articles, conference papers & electronic resources -- Over 5,000 records added each year. | |
| Humanities source ultimate | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1907-present available online: |
|
| Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research. | |
| Index Islamicus | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1906-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers all aspects of Islam & the Muslim world: Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia & Africa, Muslim minorities elsewhere: archaeology, economics, education, geography, history, language, literature, media, philosophy, politics, religion, social sciences - Covers journal articles, conference papers, books/chapters. | |
| LGBTQ+ source | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1909-present : |
|
| This database provides full-text coverage for the most important literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Offering a variety of scholarly, popular and regional resources, it includes journals, books, magazines and more. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms. | |
| Linguistics & language behavior abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1973-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - International coverage of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, geographical & anthropological linguistics & language sciences: phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, discourse analysis, nonverbal communication, learning disabilities, psycholinguistics - Includes 460,000+ descriptions of journal articles, books / chapters, reviews, & dissertations - Thesaurus comprising 3,700+ index terms available online. | |
| Music online. Contemporary world music | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, streaming audio - comprises 50,000 tracks that deliver world music from all regions in every continent - focuses on contemporary genres: reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing & jazz - also includes traditional world music: Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel & gagaku. | |
| Oxford bibliographies. Anthropology | |
Coverage: |
|
| An entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today's students, scholars, and professionals. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen. | |
| Pop culture universe : icons, idols, ideas | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - explore topics related to American popular culture: music, television, film, art, fashion, recreation & sport - search or browse by decade, topic or subject - covers books & book chapters, newspaper & magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, biographies, maps, images, videos, primary documents & more. | |
| Project Muse | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - leading provider of digital humanities & social science content for the scholarly community - Complete, full-text articles in academic journals from 200+ university presses & learned societies + indexing for their scholarly books. | |
| ProQuest ebook central | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects. | |
| PubMed | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1948-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 24 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals - Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences - Includes links to databases and related resources from NCBI - Links to articles available though Memorial University Libraries have been added. | |
| RILM abstracts of music literature | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1967-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 620,000 records describing articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, and more - Topics range from hip hop to Handel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory. | |
| SAGE research methods | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1976-present available online |
|
| Index, full-text - Explore methods & concepts to help design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct research, write up findings - Focusing on research methodology, SRM can be used for the social sciences, health sciences, and more - comprises 175,000 pages of Sage book, journal & reference content. | |
| Social science database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - Covers scholarly articles from 570 journals in the social sciences: Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Political science, Psychology, Social work, Sociology - more than 340 available in full text. | |
| SocINDEX with full text | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1940-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers sociology and closely related areas of study: abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. | |
| Sociological abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1952-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - In-depth, non-evaluative records describing journal articles & book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications + abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, & conference papers - Covers international literature of sociology, including crime, demography, ethnic relations, family & social welfare, substance abuse, social planning, social psychology, violence, etc. | |
| SSRN eLibrary | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1995-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Abstracts, full-text -- Comprises abstracts describing 581,000+ papers contributed by scholars worldwide, with links to full text - its Electronic Paper Collection offers full-text for 482,000+ working papers in PDF format -- Bibliometric analysis: 9 million references & 9.1 million footnotes have been matched to 6 million citations in EPC papers -- Entries include complete title, author, affiliation, ORCID IDs, abstract or description, keywords & distribution history. | |
| Trove | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites. | |
| Women's studies international | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Covers women's studies, feminist research & related topics worldwide - Includes records for over 871,000 articles from 2000+ journals, newspapers, bulletins, books, conference proceedings, theses & dissertations, NGO studies, reports, Web sites & documents. | |
Anthropology - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic video online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. | |
| Ancestry | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1400-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Search engine - Online genealogical collection which aggregates thousands of databases with billions of indexed names: census, vital, church, court, military, immigration, directory, school, etc. records + historical maps + bibliographic records for family names indexed by the American Genealogical Biographical Index - covers Canada, United States, United Kingdom, Europe, Australia & other areas of the world. | |
| Annual reviews | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1932-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises thousands of useful, intelligent syntheses covering significant primary research literature from 45 disciplines in the biological, medical, physical & social sciences - comprehensive, timely critical reviews that identify the principal contributions of any field and help researchers maintain current awareness in their field. | |
| BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text. | |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1789-present available online: |
|
| Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992]. | |
| DART-Europe E-theses portal | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online |
|
| Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database. | |
| Dialnet | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Index - Over 2 million records in over 5,000 periodicals - Contains Spanish academic journals, theses and books in all fields of study - Limited full text and theses are available. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links. | |
| Google scholar : [open access] | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users. | |
| IsisCB explore | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1974-2014 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises several hundred thousand citations describing works in the history of science - core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science - covers all fields of science, mathematics & engineering. | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| Journal TOCs | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current issues available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher. | |
| JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varies by journal available online: |
User Guide |
| Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more . | |
| Non-governmental organizations search | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1990-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text – custom search covering content from 1,100+ web sites of international & non-governmental (NGOs) or civil society (CSOs) organizations. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| Periodicals archive online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1802-2002 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| ProQuest social sciences premium collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1915-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Includes databases covering international literature in the social sciences: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts + International Bibliography of the Social Sciences + PAIS International + Worldwide Political Science Abstracts + Social Services Abstracts + Sociological Abstracts + ERIC + Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts + PILOTS ( Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) - Provides bibliographic access to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
| Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities. | |
| Web of science. SciELO citation index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |
| WorldWideScience.org | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1930-present coverage available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts -- Global science gateway cross-searching 100+ U.S. & international scientific databases from over 70 countries - Covers fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment & basic sciences - links to full-text when available. | |