Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Biographies - Try These First |
|
| Contemporary authors online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - bio-bibliographical information for 149,000+ modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists & scriptwriters - entries cover personal & contact information, career history, writings, biographical & critical sources, authors' comments & informative essays about their lives & work - search by author or individual work. | |
| Credo reference | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1990-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - Over 3 million articles from more than 700 reference titles - Covers a broad range of subjects - Edited topic pages available for 10,000 subjects. | |
| Infoplease biography | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| "More than 30,000 biographies from our almanacs, dictionary, and encyclopedia." | |
| Oxford dictionary of national biography | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. Confined to people who died before 31 December 2009. | |
| Reference universe | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
|
| Index - Covers specialized content in subject encyclopedias and other reference books/ebooks - Searches article titles and index terms in 47,000+ subject specialized reference works - then links to the online holdings or to the work's record in the library catalogue. | |
Biographies - More Specifically |
|
| Ancestry | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1400-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Search engine - Online genealogical collection which aggregates thousands of databases with billions of indexed names: census, vital, church, court, military, immigration, directory, school, etc. records + historical maps + bibliographic records for family names indexed by the American Genealogical Biographical Index - covers Canada, United States, United Kingdom, Europe, Australia & other areas of the world. | |
| Bio | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 2003-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - explores life events & relationships of individuals, past & present, in the A&E Network's biography knowledge base - comprises 7,200+ biographies + features that highlight newsworthy, compelling & surprising points-of-view: In The News, Nostalgia, Celebrity, History & Culture, Crime & Scandal. | |
| Canadian who's who | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Current + archival listings available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - Access biographies for 13,000 notable Canadians in all walks of life. Updated frequently to provide current and accurate information, this database is recognised as the standard reference source of contemporary Canadian biography - Includes 10,00 archived listings. | |
| Complete dictionary of scientific biography | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2008 edition available online: |
|
| Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented. | |
| Dictionary of Canadian biography | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Years 1000-1930 + selected updated material available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - accounts of the lives of 8400 people who contributed significantly to the development of Canada - browse by name, occupation, region of birth or activity. | |
| Dictionary of literary biography | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Essays outlining the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres, and summarizes the critical response to their work. | |
| Encyclopedia of world biography | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - 7,000+ articles on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods - presents brief biographical sketches with vital statistics as well as information on the importance of the person listed. | |
| Gale primary sources | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - research authors & their works, literary movements & genres - cross-search fourteen Gale literary resources to find full-text literature criticism, reviews & overviews, journal articles & author biographical information: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Shakespeare Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Children's Literature Review, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Something About the Author. | |
| Héritage | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1600-1979 available online |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - online access to popular Canadian archival microfilm collections from Library and Archives Canada - encompasses 30+ million pages of primary-source documents: records from federal departments, agencies & crown corporations + aboriginal affairs + administrative & service records of military institutions & conflicts + private papers from individuals / organizations supporting politics, labour, social justice, arts & literature, sports & recreation + detailed genealogical files, indexes & other records chronicling settlement, land ownership, family history & community life. | |
| literary encyclopedia | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - literary reference work comprising 7,600+ authoritative profiles - world-wide coverage of literary & cultural history: individual authors or works + genres, concepts, movements, theories + national / regional developments - features author chronologies with historical context + customizable timelines, thematic or course-oriented bookshelves, related article clusters, critical bibliographies. | |
| Oxford reference | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - Over 175 Oxford reference titles - Millions of dictionary and encyclopedia entries, quotations, maps, illustrations, and timelines - Covers a variety of subject areas. | |
| Salem Press | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - complete contents of selected reference titles covering literature, history & music - searchable by author, subject, genre or geographical location - Critical Insights (authors, themes & works), Critical Surveys, Masterplots, Milestone documents, Decades series. | |
| Trove | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites. | |
Biographies - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. | |
| annual register : a record of world events | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1758-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - year-by-year record of world events: chronicles & analyses major / minor events, developments & trends throughout the world - comprises annual articles on each country, region or international organization: historical context & perspective, biographical information, economics, environment, science, law, religion, arts & sport + obituaries, speeches & selected documents. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |