Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Music - Try These First

Music index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprehensive guide to periodicals & literature covering classical & popular music: all styles & genres of music, musicians & the music industry - cover-to-cover analysis of 475+ periodicals, supplemented with book reviews, obituaries, news & selective coverage from 230+ more periodicals.
Music periodicals database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1874-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.3+ million records describing articles from 610 international music periodicals (scholarly & popular) - covers music education & performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, classical music & opera, jazz & blues, rock, soul & hip-hop, folk music, music business, sound recording, music therapy, instruments includes full-text for 225+ journals.
RILM abstracts of music literature
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1967-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 620,000 records describing articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, and more - Topics range from hip hop to Handel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory.
RIPM : retrospective index to music periodicals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-1950 available online:
User Guide
Index - 140 music periodicals from 20 countries - Includes articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more - Coverage includes writings on musical history and culture - Provides content analysis of primary source materials as well as thousands of English-language translations of foreign documents.

Music - More Specifically

Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
Canadian music periodical index = Index des périodiques de musique canadiens
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-2009 available online:
Index - comprises 37,000+ records describing articles in 475 Canadian music journals, magazine & newsletters - covers all aspects of musical activity in Canada.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
Doctoral dissertations in musicology
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Theses and Dissertations - Over 12,000 records, updated periodically through the academic year - Includes records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
Education source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4 million records describing scholarly/practical journal articles concerning all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, as well as educational specialties such as Student Counseling, Testing, Vocational Education, Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Social Issues, Health Education - includes full-text for 1,700+ English-language journals, 550+ books & monographs & education-related conference papers - 100,000 controlled & cross-referenced names of educational tests.
ERIC
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1966-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - provides 1.3+ million records describing sources on teaching, learning & research in education - covers education-related journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses & dissertations, research reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, monographs - ERIC documents [labeled ED] are available in microfiche in the QEII Library, Room-L1012; some EDs may be available online.
Humanities source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 3.5 million records describing scholarly sources in the humanities -- Covers feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
Index Islamicus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1906-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers all aspects of Islam & the Muslim world: Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia & Africa, Muslim minorities elsewhere: archaeology, economics, education, geography, history, language, literature, media, philosophy, politics, religion, social sciences - Covers journal articles, conference papers, books/chapters.
Index to printed music
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1787-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers 307,000+ individual pieces of music published in standard scholarly editions, including music from ancient Greece to the present - content included in this invaluable resource for music researchers & students is searchable by composer name or ID, editor, genre, language, librettist or poet, format, publisher name, series, title, instrumentation or number of instruments, geographical area, or time or style period.
International medieval bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1967-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers 480,000+ scholarly articles, notes, and similar literature from journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays - Includes all subjects relating to the Middle Ages, within the date range 300-1500 and, geographically, within Europe, the Middle East and North Africa - The supplementary "Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale" covers books about the Medieval period.
Iter bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1784-present available online:
Index - Over 1,250,000 citations to books, journal articles, reviews, bibliographies, exhibition catalogues, abstracts, discographies, and dissertations (published since 1990) - Covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
LexisNexis academic
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Access news, business & legal sources using a variety of flexible search options -- Covers 15,000+ sources: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, selected reference works.
Music & performing arts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1600-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text, streaming audio, streaming video - covers audio & video that spans all time periods + hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers & ensembles - cross-searches audio, video, scores & full-text reference content from all Alexander Street Press music & performing arts databases.
MyiLibrary
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects.
Oxford music online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Index and Full Text - Articles, biographies, and images on musical topics - Covers reference content from The Oxford dictionary of music ; Grove music online ; The Oxford companion to music ; The encyclopedia of popular music ; New Grove dictionary of music and musicians ; New Grove dictionary of jazz ; New Grove dictionary of opera.
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
Pop culture universe icons, idols, ideas
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - explore topics related to American popular culture: music, television, film, art, fashion, recreation & sport - search or browse by decade, topic or subject - covers books & book chapters, newspaper & magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, biographies, maps, images, videos, primary documents & more.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises records describing 5.1 million dissertations & theses covering all fields of study from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works; significant & growing international coverage - full-text for 2,100,000+ graduate works added since 1997 + selected full-text for works written prior to 1997 - dissertations include 350-word abstracts, July 1980- ; Master's theses include 150-word abstracts, 1988- ; otherwise brief bibliographic citations are provided - where available, links to 24-page previews of dissertations & theses are included.
Slavistik Portal = Portal po Slavistike
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1790-present available online:
Index - central point of access for Slavistics online - simultaneously search dozens of essential bibliographic databases for Slavistics + major library catalogues - covers history, politics & ethnography of the Slavic countries / regions + Slavic languages, linguistics & literatures, slavic folklore in particular.
Sound & moving image catalogue
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1857-present available online:
Catalogue -- Lists 3.5+ million recordings in all genres: pop, jazz, classical & world music to wildlife sounds, oral history, drama, literature, language & dialect at the British Library -- the moving image collection comprises 60,000 titles, most collected for their aural content + some BBC television news and other recorded content.
Trove
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites.

Music - Also to Consider

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - multi-disciplinary scholarly collection: anthropology, archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering, food science, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, sociology, women's studies, etc. - covers 12,500 journals [7,300 peer-reviewed; 5,000 full-text] & 13,200 monographs, reports, conference proceedings - searchable cited references for 1,400 journals.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
annual register : a record of world events
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1758-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - year-by-year record of world events: chronicles & analyses major / minor events, developments & trends throughout the world - comprises annual articles on each country, region or international organization: historical context & perspective, biographical information, economics, environment, science, law, religion, arts & sport + obituaries, speeches & selected documents.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
Bibliography of Asian studies
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia - comprises 900,000+ records describing western-language journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast & South Asia - Subjects: philosophy, religion, literature, history, fine arts, music, theatre, architecture, anthropology, archaeology, economics, politics, sociology, environmental sciences, public health & medicine.
Britannica academic edition
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Search & read over 73,000 articles from the Encyclopedia Britannica + articles from 700 periodicals + ebooks & primary sources selected from Project Gutenberg + links to a Media Collection comprising 27,000+ images & maps, animations, videos, audio files - Research Tools include: Compare Countries, This Day in History, Timelines, World Atlas, World Data Analyst, Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary, Merriam-Webster Online Thesaurus, Biographical dictionary, Quotations dictionary, headlines from major news outlets.
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Directory of open access journals : DOAJ
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2000-present (some journal coverage starts earlier) available online:
Index, full-text - Covers 800,000+ articles from 7,800+ open access scientific / scholarly periodicals - DOAJ journals publish research or review papers in the humanities, social sciences, medicine, sciences or technology.
EHPS : European history primary sources
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 500-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers scholarly Web sites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe - each Web site has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source.
Gale primary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-2012 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Google scholar : [open access]

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users.
IngentaConnect
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1993 (some older)-present available online:
User Guide
Index and Abstract - Over 20 million articles from over 30,000 publications - Includes coverage in the following areas: sciences; engineering and computing; social sciences; education; business; arts and humanities - Before purchasing articles, check the MUN Libraries catalogue - MUN subscribes to more than 50,000 online journals.
Journal citation reports
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, data - citation data for journal evaluation: quantifiable statistical data providing a systematic, objective way to evaluate & compare journals using citation data drawn from ~12,000 scholarly & technical journals / conference proceedings from 60+ countries - JCR covers all specialties in science, technology & social sciences - provides dynamic, interactive features supported by visualizations of JCR indicators that facilitate evaluations of published research in varying fields.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varies by journal available online:
User Guide
Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals and papers - access more than 800,000 articles in thousands of journals from hundreds of disciplines from sciences, technology, medicine, to social sciences, to humanities and the arts.
Periodicals archive online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1802-2002 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences
PQDT open
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Covers 28,000+ open access dissertations and theses - The authors of these dissertations have opted to publish their work as open access and make their research available for free on the open Web.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
Web of science. SciELO citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.
World who's who
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - access brief biographical information for the world's most eminent figures, including heads of state, key ministers, politicians, diplomats, religious leaders, the famous & successful in business, finance, film, fashion & sport -- special emphasis on International Affairs, Classical & Popular Musicians, Authors, Writers & Poets, Women.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.