Dictionaries and thesauri

Reference Universe [Off-campus login required]
Reference Universe searches across specialized research encyclopedias. Results may be online OR in print at one of our libraries.

Dictionaries

English dictionaries

Cambridge Dictionaries Online
(From Cambridge University Press)
CMU Pronouncing Dictionary
(From Carnegie-Mellon University)
CREDO reference [Off-campus login required]
(Includes useful resources under the category "Dictionaries")
Dictionary of Newfoundland English Online
(Published by the University of Toronto Press)
Dictionary of Old English, Old English Corpus [Off-campus login required]
(From the University of Toronto/University of Michigan)
Encarta World English Dictionary
(From Microsoft Corporation)
Hutchinson Dictionary of Difficult Words
Merriam Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
(From Merriam-Webster)
Oxford English Dictionary [Off-campus login required]
Oxford Reference Online [Off-campus login required]
(Includes useful resources under the category "English Dictionaries and Thesauruses")
The Phrase Finder
(Provides Meanings and Origins - From Sheffield Hallam University)
RhymeZone
Rhyming Dictionary - From Lycos and Datamuse Corp.)
Wordsmyth: The Educational Dictionary-Thesaurus
(From The ARTFL Project, University of Chicago)

French dictionaries

CREDO reference [Off-campus login required]
(Includes useful resources under the category "Bilinguals")
French-English Dictionary
(from ARTFL)
Oxford Reference Online [Off-campus login required]
(Includes useful resources under the category "Bilingual Dictionaries")

General dictionaries

Your Dictionary.com
OneLook Dictionaries
i Love Languages
WordReference.com
Foreign Languages for Travellers
The Glossarist

Acronyms

Acronym Finder
(Access 55,000 Acronyms - From Mountain Data Systems)
The WorldWideWeb Acronym and Abbreviation Server
(from Ireland)

Concordances

Bible - King James Version - Concordance
(From the University of Virginia)

Quotations

Columbia World of Quotations
CREDO reference [Off-campus login required]
(Includes useful resources under the category "Quotations")
Familiar Quotations
(John Bartlett's Classic, 9th ed., 1901)
Oxford Reference Online [Off-campus login required]
(Includes useful resources under the category "Quotations")
Simpson's Contemporary Quotations
(Covers Quotations From 1950-1988 - From Bartleby.com)

Specialized subject dictionaries

Anthromorphemics
(A Glossary of Terms from Anthropology and Archaeology - From the Dept. of Anthropology, University of California - Santa Barbara)
Biotech Life Science Dictionary
(From Indiana University)
Campbell R. Harvey's Hypertextual Finance Glossary
(From Duke University)
Classical Dictionary
(Terms from Classical Mythology and Art - From the Beazley Archive at Oxford)
CREDO reference[Off-campus login required]
(Includes useful resources under the categories "Art; Bilinguals; Biography; Business; Food; Geography; Health; History; Humanities; Language; Law; Literature; Music; Politics; Religion; Science; Technology")
Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology
(From Academic Press)
Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
(Includes Philosophical Terms, a Timeline, and Entries on Philosophers - From Garth Kemerling of Newberry College)
Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
(E. Cobham Brewer's 1894 Classic)
Dictionary of Symbolism
(From the University of Michigan)
Dictionary of Education PLUS
(From the University of Michigan)
Dictionary of PC Hardware and Data Communication Terms
(From O'Reilly and Associates)
DOD Dictionary of Military Terms
Duhaime's Law Dictionary
(From the World Wide Legal Information Association)
FOLDOC - Free On-line Dictionary of Computing
(Contains Over 13,000 Computing Terms - From The Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine in London)
Geologylink Geologic Glossary
(From Houghton Mifflin)
Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
(From D. Glick of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Portland Press)

Glossary of Literary Terms

(From Thomson Gale)
Glossary of Mathematics
(From Alexander Bogomolny, a Former University of Iowa Professor)
Glossary of Musical Terms
(From HNH.com)
Glossary of Parliamentary Procedures, House of Commons, Canada
(Provides Definitions of Terms Used in the House of Commons - From the Clerk of the House of Commons)
A Glossary of Political Economy Terms
(From Auburn University)
Glossary of Sociological Terms
(From the University of Canterbury, New Zealand)
Greek-English Lexicon
(By Liddell and Scott)
Internet Glossary of Statistical Terms
(From Bryn Mawr College and the Animated Software Company)
Kilkoyne's (Chemistry) Glossary
(From the University of Sunderland, UK)
Linguistic Glossary
(From the Summer Institute of Linguistics, Dallas, Texas)
On-Line Medical Dictionary
(Contains over 46,000 Terms - From the Graylab CancerWeb)
Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences
(From Athabaska University)
Oxford Reference Online [Off-campus login required]
(Includes useful resources under the categories "Art and Architecture; Bilingual Dictionaries; Biological Sciences; Classics; Computing; Earth and Environmental Sciences; Economics and Business; English Language Reference; Food and Nutrition; History; Law; Literature; Medicine; Military History; Mythology and Folklore; Performing Arts; Physical Sciences and Mathematics; Politics and Social Sciences; Religion and Philosophy; Science")
Saints and Angels
SYMBOLS.com
(Over 2,500 Graphic Symbols From the Western World)
The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy
Victorian Dictionary
Words of Art - Glossary of Theory and Criticism for the Visual Arts
(From Okanagan University College, B.C.)

Thesauri

CREDO reference [Off-campus login required]
(Includes useful resources under the category "Dictionaries")
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus
(From Merriam-Webster)
Oxford Reference Online [Off-campus login required]
(Includes useful resources under the category "English Dictionaries and Thesauruses")
Roget's II: The New Thesaurus
(3rd Edition - From Bartleby.com)
Thesaurus.com
(From Lexico LLC)
Wordsmyth: The Educational Dictionary-Thesaurus
(From The ARTFL Project, University of Chicago)