Libraries & universities

Libraries & archives

Canada

Archives Canada: Canadian Archival Information Network

CISTI Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information

Canadian Library Gateway

College of the North Atlantic

Law Society of Newfoundland

Library and Archives Canada (AMICUS)

Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries

University of Toronto

France

Bibliotheque Nationale de France

United Kingdom

Access to Archives

Archives Hub
Gateway to the archives of UK universities and colleges.

British Library Integrated Catalogue

COPAC
Merged online catalogue of major research libraries in the UK and Ireland

United States

HOLLIS - Harvard Online Library Information System

Library of Congress

MELVYL: University of California Libraries

WorldCat

WorldCat [Off-campus login required]
(find books, articles, media ... in the collections of 10,000 libraries worldwide)

Other Countries

European Library
(merged online catalogue of 43 European National Libraries)

LibWeb
(search over 7,000 libraries in 146 countries - from Ohio)

National Library Catalogues Worldwide

UNESCO Archives Portal
An international gateway to information for archivists and archive users.

UNESCO Libraries Portal
An international gateawy to information for librarians and library users.

Universities

There are many lists of university websites, including these:

Canadian Universities
List from the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC)

American Universities
Complete list of each Community College and University in the United States of America.

Index of American Universities
listings from the University of Florida

Web U.S. Higher Education

World-wide
General Education Online (GEO) over 6,400 links to various educationalfacilities from over 160 countries around the world

Research Grants

Canadian directory to foundations and corporations [Off-campus login required]

Community of Science funding opportunities [Off-campus login required]

Foundation Center Online

SRA's Grantsweb
U.S., Canadian and International - From the Society of Research Administrators

Research funding
UBC Office of Research Funding

Scholarships

FastWeb
U.S. Site Containing Listings for 600,000 Scholarships

ScholarshipsCanada.com
Canadian Scholarships - From EDge Interactive Publishing Inc.