Articles
This guide is for the 7th edition of the APA manual (2020).
Capitalization: Only capitalize the first letter of all major words in periodical names (names of journals, magazines and newspapers). For the titles of articles, only capitalize the first letter of the first word of the title and subtitle, and any proper nouns (names of people, places, businesses or organizations). See the following examples.
Article titles:
Student satisfaction with online learning: Lessons from organizational behavior
Drug use among transgender people in Ontario, Canada: Disparities and associations with social exclusion
Periodical Names:
Research in Higher Education Journal
Psychology Today
Multiple authors: For articles with up to and including 20 authors, include the names of all authors in the reference list. For 21 or more authors, use ellipses after the name of the 19th author, and then list the last author named.
Journal Article (Print)
Include the DOI as a hyperlink if the article has one, regardless of whether or not you used the online or the print version.
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article.
Title of Journal, volume #(issue #), page #s.
DOI link
Kozma, A., & Stones, M. J. (1983). Re-validation of
the Memorial University of Newfoundland scale of
happiness. Canadian Journal on Aging, 2(1), 27-
29. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0714980800015610
Journal Article (From a library database)
Provide the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) as a hyperlink. Do not include the database name, with the one exception of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal,
volume #(issue #), page #s. DOI link
Fuller, D. (2002). Critical friendships: Reading women's
writing communities in Newfoundland. Women's
Studies International Forum, 25(2), 247-260.
https://doi.org/10.1016/S0277-5395(02)00234-0
Journal Article (From a library database, no DOI)
Do not include URLs for articles accessed through the library. Do not include the database name, with the one exception of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal,
volume #(issue #), page #s.
Beghetto, R. (2017). Inviting uncertainty into the
classroom: Five strategies to help students
respond well to uncertainty and foster complex
problem-solving skills. Educational Leadership,
75(2), 20-25.
Journal Article with an Article Number
Its increasingly common for articles published online to have an article number or "eLocator." These articles usually don't have page numbers. Include the article number instead of the page range.
Hudson, A., & Vodden, K. (2020). Decolonizing
pathways to sustainability: Lessons
learned from three Inuit communities in
NunatuKavut, Canada. Sustainability,
12(11), Article 4419. https://doi.org/
Journal Article (No DOI, with a "nondatabase" URL)
For open access journals freely available on the internet, provide the URL as a hyperlink if there is no DOI. You may use a shortened URL generated by a link shortener. Either the long or short URL is acceptable.
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal,
volume #(issue #), page #s. Nondatabase URL
Ahmann, E., Tuttle, L. J., Saviet, M., & Wright,
S. D. (2018). A descriptive review of ADHD
coaching research: Implications for college
students. Journal of Postsecondary Education
and Disability, 31(1),17-37. shorturl.at/kqBSZ
Magazine Article (Print, No DOI)
Some magazines have no volume or issue numbers. If so, just leave that out.
Author, A. A. (Year, Month day). Title of article.
Title of Magazine, volume #(issue #), page #s.
Jaffe, E. (2012, March/April). What do men really
want? Psychology Today, 45(2), 62-87.
Magazine Article (Online)
Provide the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) as a hyperlink, or, if the article has no DOI, provide the URL as a hyperlink. Do not include URLs for articles accessed through a library database or include the database name. You may use a shortened URL generated by a link shortener. Either the long or short URL is acceptable. Some articles will not have volume, issue or page numbers. If so, just leave that out.
Author, A. A. (Year, Month day). Title of article.
Title of Magazine, volume #(issue #), page
#s. DOI link or nondatabase URL
Orland, K. (2019, October 22). Study casts doubt
on value of WHO’s “gaming disorder” diagnoses.
Ars Technica. shorturl.at/fgESZ
Newspaper Article (Print)
Many newspapers have no volume or issue numbers. If so, just leave that out. If no author is listed, begin with the article title, followed by the date, like in the example below.
Author, A. A. (Year, Month day). Title of article.
Title of Newspaper, volume #(issue #),
page #s.
Captain spots "sea monster" off Halifax. (1952,
May 2). The Western Star, 52(2876), 1.
Article on a News Website
Cite like a page on a website. If the author and the website name are the same, leave out the title of website. You may use a shortened URL generated by a link shortener. Either the long or short URL is acceptable.
Author, A. A. (Year, month day). Title of article.
Title of Website. URL
Skinner, R. J. (2019, November 4). Burnout is
real and here's how to handle it, according
to experts. CBC. shorturl.at/oEMO1
Newspaper Article (Online)
Do not include URL if accessed through the library or include database name. Many online newspapers do not have volume, issue or page numbers, if so, just leave out.
Author, A. A. (Year, month day). Title of article.
Title of Newspaper, volume #(issue #),
page #s. Nondatabase URL
Zul, M., Gibbs, K., & Busby, K. (2018, January 29).
Mental-health research needs more than private
donations. The Globe and Mail, A13.
Blog Post
Blogs are cited like periodicals. You may use a shortened URL generated by a link shortener. Either the long or short URL is acceptable.
Author, A. A. (Year, month day). Title of post.
Title of Blog. URL
Gautum, S. (2019, December 28). Emotions
and motivations. The Mouse Trap.
https://the-mouse-trap.com/2019/12/
For more examples, see pages 316-321 of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th edition, in reference and on reserve at the library, call number: BF 76.7 P83 2020.