Other
Class Lecture
Unpublished works that cannot be retrieved by readers (e.g. emails, class lectures, presentations) are cited as “personal communication” and are only cited in the text of your paper, not in your reference list.
In-Text Citation only:
(Author, A. A., personal communication, Month day, year)
(Buckle, J., personal communication, January 15, 2019)
Powerpoint or Lecture Notes Posted on a Course Site
If the information is posted on a course site (e.g. Brightspace, or Library’s Course Resources site) that the audience you are writing for has access to, such as your Instructor or fellow students, provide the name of the site and it’s URL. Your Instructor is the author. If there is no formal title, include a description in square brackets.
Author, A. A. (Year, Month day). Title of lecture
or [Description]. Name of Site. Login
page URL.
Bodner, J. (2019, November 6). [PowerPoint
slides on fieldwork]. Brightspace.
https://online.mun.ca/d2l/loginh/
Dictionary/Encyclopedia Entry
If no author is available, begin with the title, followed by the date. Provide the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) as a hyperlink if it has one. If accessed through a library database, do not include URL or database name. If accessed through the internet, include a non-database URL. If an online source has no page numbers, leave that out.
Author, A. A. if available. (Year). Title of entry.
In E. E. Editor (Ed.), Title of dictionary/
encyclopedia (pp. page #s). Publisher/s.
DOI or URL if applicable
Roesch, S. (2006). Coping mechanisms. In Y.
K. Jackson (Ed.), Encyclopedia of
multicultural psychology. Sage
Publications. http://doi.org/10.4135/
Facial expression. (2007). In G. R. VandenBos
(Ed.), APA dictionary of psychology (pp.
362-363). American Psychological
Association.
Dissertation or Thesis (Print)
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of dissertation/thesis
[Unpublished doctoral dissertation OR
master's thesis]. Name of University.
Knight, J. C. (2011). The association of
continuity of family physician care with
health care services utilization and costs
in Newfoundland and Labrador
[Unpublished doctoral dissertation].
Memorial University of Newfoundland.
Dissertation or Thesis (From a library database)
If accessed through the library, include the publication number and the database name. Do not include a URL.
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of dissertation/thesis
(Publication No. #) [Doctoral dissertation
OR master’s thesis, University Name].
Database Name.
Rusch, L. C. (2010). Depression stigma
reduction: The impact of models of
depression on stigma and treatment
seeking (Publication No. 3373881)
[Doctoral dissertation, University of
Wisconsin-Milwaukee]. ProQuest
Dissertations and Theses Global.
Dissertation or Thesis (Online)
If accessed through an online repository, digital archive or other open-access source, include the source name and URL.
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of dissertation/thesis
[Doctoral dissertation OR master's thesis,
University Name]. Source. URL
Sadatcharam, K. (2019). Assessing potential
applications of multi-coil and multi-
frequency electromagnetic induction
sensors for agricultural soils in western
Newfoundland [Master’s thesis, Memorial
University of Newfoundland]. Memorial
University Research Repository.
http://research.library.mun.ca/id/eprint/
Interview
Quotations from people you interviewed (i.e. research participants) are not cited in your reference list and also differ from how “personal communications” are cited. State in the text of your paper that the quotation is from someone you interviewed. When quoting a research participant, abide by any ethical agreements about confidentiality or anonymity. See p.278 of the APA Manual for more information.
Example:
Gordon Pennell, a life-long resident of Corner Brook, was interviewed in his home about what it was like growing up on the west side during the late 1950s and 1960s. Mr. Pennell described “rock fights” between children from the Country Road neighbourhood and children “from the other side of the brook.”
Movies or TV Shows
It is not necessary to specify how you watched it (e.g. streaming or DVD). For movies, the director is the author. For an episode of a TV show, the writer and the director are the authors. Specify their role in brackets after their name. If more than one production company is listed, include them all, separated by semi-colons.
Movie:
Director, D. D. (Director). (Year of release).
Title [Film]. Production Company/
Companies.
Cheney, I. (Director). (2018). The most
unknown [Film]. Science Sandbox;
Motherboard; Sandbox Films (II); Vice
Media.
Episode of a TV Show:
Writer, W.W. (Writer), & Director, D. D.
(Director). (Year, Month day). Title of
episode (Season #, Episode#) [TV series
episode]. In Producer, P. P. & Producer, P. P.
(Executive Producers), Title of TV series.
Production Company.
Verdecchia, R. (Writer & Director). (2019,
November 2). Be afraid: The science of
fear (Season 59, Episode 6) [TV series
episode]. In Henderson, G., & Henderson,
S. (Executive Producers), The nature of
things. CBC.
Podcast
List the host as the author. Include episode number if it has one. You may use a shortened URL generated by a link shortener. Either the long or short URL is acceptable. If URL is unknown (accessed through an app) leave out the URL.
Author, A. A. (Host). (Year, Month day). Episode
title (No. #) [Audio podcast episode]. In
Podcast title. Publisher. URL
O’Reilly, T. (Host). (2018, August 31). How some
grocery store mirrors nudge you toward
healthier choices [Audio podcast episode].
In Under the influence. CBC Radio.
Report By Government Agency Or Other Organization
Include a report number if it has one. If the author and publisher are the same, leave out publisher name to avoid repetition. You may use a shortened URL generated by a link shortener. Either the long or short URL is acceptable.
Government Department/Organization/
Committee. (Year, Month day). Title of
document or report. (Report no. #).
Publisher. URL
Newfoundland and Labrador Department of
Health and Community Services. (2009,
June). Newfoundland and Labrador
gambling prevalence study.
https://www.health.gov.nl.ca/health/
publications/2009_gambling_study.pdf
Didn't find the example you were looking for? Librarians are happy to help! Visit us in person, ask us, or live chat with us. Copies of the complete Publication manual of the American Psychological Association: The official guide to APA style (7th ed.) are also available at our libraries in Reference or on Reserve. Call Number: BF 76.7 P83 2020