Other Types of Sources
Class lecture, speech, or academic talk
Put the lecture title in quotation marks after the speaker's name. If the lecture is untitled, place the course name in square brackets.
Bodner, John. 2008. [Folklore and Popular
Culture]. Lecture, Grenfell Campus,
Memorial University of Newfoundland,
Corner Brook, NL, February 15, 2008.
Class Notes on Course Website (i.e. Brightspace)
Include date they were created, posted or last revised; If no such date is available include date of access, but in that case, in your in-text citation, use "n.d.". Include the URL.
Bodner, John. 2008. "Folksong." Course notes for
Folklore and Popular Culture, Grenfell
Campus, Memorial University of
Newfoundland, Corner Brook, NL. http://
online.mun.ca/folk1000%20jbodner/
Feb%2015%202008.pdf.
Dictionary/Encyclopedia (Print)
Chicago Style advises not including commonly used or well-known reference books in your bibliography but gives no specific instructions for author-date style. We recommend using a footnote, and omitting from your reference list. Do not give full publication information; only provide edition, if other than first. Cite the title of the entry proceeded by s.v., meaning sub verbo, or "under the word"; plural s.vv.
2. Encyclopedia Britannica. 15th ed. S.v. "Salvation."
Dictionary/Encyclopedia (Online)
Include the DOI or "digital object identifier". If it is not available, use the URL instead. If you accessed it through a library database, name the database; do not use a library database URL.
3. Oxford English Dictionary. 3rd ed. S.v. "Anomie." https://doi.org/10.1093/acref/9780199571123.
Government Document, Canadian (Print)
The Chicago Manual recommends consulting the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation (9th ed.) for more specific information.
Statistics Canada. 2007. A National Overview:
Population and Dwelling Counts, 2006
Census. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.
Government Document, Canadian (Online)
Include publication or last revision/modification date; If no such date is available include date of access, but in that case, in your in-text citation, use "n.d.". Include the URL.
Environment Canada. 2011. "Canada's Emission
Trends." http://www.ec.gc.ca/Publications/
E197D5E7-1AE3-4A06-B4FC-
CB74EAAAA60F/CanadasEmissionsTrends.
pdf.
Interview (Unpublished)
Interviews are not included in the reference list unless they are available for others to access (for example, in a library or archive, or posted online). Consider preserving a permanent record of any interviews you conduct to prevent possible challenges to the research.
(David Peddle, interview by author, Corner Brook, NL, March 22, 2011)
Movie
For streaming films accessed through the library, include the database name (i.e. Audio Cine Films, Kanopy, Digital Theatre+). Do not use a library database URL.
Streaming:
Zemeckis, Robert, dir. 1985. Back to the Future.
Universal Pictures. Accessed September
13, 2020. Audio Cine Films.
DVD:
Melford, George, and Varick Frissell, dir. 1931.
The Viking. Burbank, CA: Morningstar
Entertainment, 2008. DVD.
Personal Communication (Conversation, email, text, DM)
References to communications are usually built into the text and not included in the reference list. Email addresses should be omitted. If you need to include it, ensure you obtain the permission of the owner. Examples:
In a text to the author on April 4, 2020, a representative from the organization wrote that...
(John A. Smith, pers. comm., May 29, 2005)
(Edwin Bezzina, Facebook direct message to author, May 17, 2020)
Thesis/Dissertation (Print)
Anger, Dorothy C. 1983. "Putting it Back
Together: Micmac Political Identity in
Newfoundland." Master's thesis, Memorial
University of Newfoundland.
Thesis/Dissertation (Library Database)
Include the name of the database. If an identification number is provided, include it in brackets after the database name.
Dick, Jerry. 2011. “Making the Newfoundland
Outport.” Master’s thesis, Memorial
University of Newfoundland. ProQuest
(MR81860).
Thesis/Dissertation (Internet)
Include the URL.
Anger, Dorothy C. 1983. "Putting it Back
Together: Micmac Political Identity in
Newfoundland." Master's thesis, Memorial
University of Newfoundland. http://
collections.mun.ca/cdm4/document.php?
CISOROOT=/theses&CISOPTR=301551
&REC=13.