Articles
Journal article, 1-3 authors (Print)
Note:
11. Gordon Cox, "A Newfoundland Christmas Caroling Tradition," Folk Music Journal 3, no. 3 (1977): 249.
Bibliography:
Cox, Gordon. "A Newfoundland Christmas
Caroling Tradition." Folk Music Journal 3,
no. 3 (1977): 242-60.
Journal article, 4-10 authors (Print)
In your note, cite only the name of the first author followed by "et al." Include all authors' names in the bibliography.
Note:
12. Ben Hawkins et al., “The Road to Damascus,” Carnivale 2, no. 13 (2005): 18.
Bibliography:
Hawkins, Ben, Justin Crowe, Clayton Jones,
Rita Sue Dreifuss, and Apollonia
Bojakshiya. “The Road to Damascus.”
Carnivale 2, no. 13 (2005): 1-24.
Journal article, more than 10 authors (Print)
In your note, cite only the name of the first author followed by "et al." In your bibliography, list the first seven authors’ names, followed by “et al.”
Note:
13. Malcolm Reynolds et al., "The Browncoats Rise Again: The Turning Point in the Unification War," Mutant Enemy 9, no. 20 (2002): 14.
Bibliography:
Reynolds, Malcolm, Zoe Washburne, Hoban
Washburne, Inara Serra, Kalyee Frye,
Jayne Cobb, Shepherd Book, et al. "The
Browncoats Rise Again: The Turning Point
in the Unification War." Mutant Enemy 9,
no. 20 (2002): 1-14.
Journal article (Online)
Include the DOI or "digital object identifier". If it is not available, use the URL instead. If you've accessed it through a library database, name the database; do not use a library database URL.
Note:
14. Pierre Pepin, Eugene Colbourne, and Gary Maillet, "Seasonal Patterns in Zooplankton Community Structure on the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelf," Progress in Oceanography 91, no. 3 (2011): 280, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.pocean.2011.01.003.
Bibliography:
Pepin, Pierre, Eugene Colbourne, and Gary
Maillet. "Seasonal Patterns in Zooplankton
Community Structure on the Newfoundland
and Labrador Shelf." Progress in
Oceanography 91, no. 3 (2011): 273-285.
https://doi.org/10.1016/j.pocean.2011
.01.003.
Magazine Article (Print)
Note:
15. Harry Wilson, “When Cod Was King,” Canadian Geographic, December 2013, 32.
Bibliography:
It is usually sufficient to cite magazines in notes.
Magazine Article (Online)
Include the URL (or DOI, if available) at the end of the citation. If you've accessed it through a library database, name the database; do not use a library database URL. If there are no page numbers, in the note, identify the location by adding a description (like a paragraph number, heading, or section description).
Note:
16. Frank Moher, "Son of the Rock," Backofthebook.ca: Canada's Online Magazine, October 11, 2008, para. 5, http://backofthebook.ca/2008/10/11/son-of-the-rock/331/.
Bibliography:
It is usually sufficient to cite magazines in notes.
Newspaper Article
Omit page numbers for newspapers. For online newspaper articles, include a URL (or DOI, if available) at the end of the citation.
Note:
17. Gordon Pitts, "The Fishery is Dead; Long Live the Fishery," Globe and Mail, February 18, 2008.
Bibliography:
Newspaper articles are more commonly cited only in notes.