Books
Book, 1-3 authors
If the city of publication might be unfamiliar or easily confused with another city, add the abbreviation for the province/state.
Note:
1. Steven K. Katona, Valerie Rough, and David T. Richardson, A Field Guide to the Whales, Porpoises, and Seals from Cape Cod to Newfoundland, 4th ed. (Washington: Smithsonian Institute Press, 1993), 182.
Bibliography:
Katona, Steven K., Valerie Rough, and David T.
Richardson. A Field Guide to Whales,
Porpoises, and Seals from Cape Code to
Newfoundland. 4th ed. Washington:
Smithsonian Institute Press, 1993.
Book, 4-10 authors
In your note, cite only the name of the first author followed by "et al." Include all authors' names in the bibliography.
Note:
2. Kathryn Rose et al., Newfoundland and War (St. John’s, NL: Memorial University of Newfoundland Press, 2012), 4.
Bibliography:
Rose, Kathryn, Crystal Rose, Lisa Goddard and
Erin Alcock. Newfoundland and War. St.
John’s, NL: Memorial University of
Newfoundland Press, 2012.
E-Book (Downloaded)
If you downloaded it to your computer or e-book reader, indicate the format (Kindle edition, Kobo edition, PDF e-book, EPUB e-book). If page numbers are not available, use a chapter number, section heading, or other indicator.
Note:
3. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (New York: Penguin Classics, 2007), Kobo edition, 174.
Bibliography:
Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York:
Penguin Classics, 2007. Kobo edition.
E-Book (Library Database)
Include the DOI or "digital object identifier". If it is not available, include the database name instead. Do not use a library database URL.
Note:
4. Jennifer Mary Hubbard, A Science on the Scales: The Rise of Canadian Atlantic Fisheries Biology, 1898-1939 (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2006), 276-77, Des Libris.
Bibliography:
Hubbard, Jennifer Mary. A Science on the Scales:
The Rise of Canadian Atlantic Fisheries
Biology, 1898-1939. Toronto: University of
Toronto Press, 2006. Des Libris.
E-Book (Online)
Include the DOI or "digital object identifier". If it is not available, include the URL. If page numbers are not available, use a chapter number, section heading, or other indicator and in the note you may use a chapter or page specific URL. In the bibliography, use the URL for the book's main page.
Note:
5. Robert Southey, The Early Naval History of England (Philadelphia: Carey, Lea and Blanchard, 1835), 33-34, https://www.google.ca/books/edition/The_Early_Naval_History_of_England/SY7Sjts3nPQC?hl=en&gbpv=0.
Bibliography:
Southey, Robert. The Early Naval History of
England. Philadelphia: Carey, Lea and
Blanchard, 1835. https://www.google.ca/
books/edition/The_Early_Naval_History_
of_England/SY7Sjts3nPQC?hl=en&gbpv=0.
Edited Book (editor instead of an author)
Note:
6. Ursula Kelly and Elizabeth Yeoman, eds., Despite this Loss: Essays on Culture, Memory and Identity in Newfoundland and Labrador (St. John's, NL: Iser Books, 2010), 117.
Bibliography:
Kelly, Ursula and Elizabeth Yeoman, eds. Despite
this Loss: Essays on Culture, Memory and
Identity in Newfoundland and Labrador.
St. John's, NL: Iser Books, 2010.
Edited Book (editor in addition to an author)
When editors' names follow the title, only use "ed." (not "eds.") as it refers to "edited by".
Note:
7. Al Pittman, An Island in the Sky: Selected Poetry of Al Pittman, ed. Martin Ware and Stephanie Mckenzie (St. John's, NL: Breakwater, 2003), 129.
Bibliography:
Pittman, Al. An Island in the Sky: Selected Poetry
of Al Pittman. Edited by Martin Ware and
Stephanie Mckenzie. St. John's, NL:
Breakwater, 2003.
Article/Chapter in a Book
Note:
8. W. Gordon Handcock, "English Migration to Newfoundland," in Peopling of Newfoundland: Essays in Historical Geography, ed. John J. Mannion (St. John's, NL: Memorial University of Newfoundland, Institute of Social and Economic Research, 1977), 36.
Bibliography:
Handcock, W. Gordon. "English Migration to
Newfoundland." In Peopling of Newfoundland:
Essays in Historical Geography. Edited by
John J. Mannion, 15-48. St. John's, NL:
Memorial University of Newfoundland,
Institute of Social and Economic Research,
1977.
Translated Book
Note:
9. Roch Carrier, La Guerre, Yes Sir!, trans. Sheila Fischman (Toronto: Anansi, 1970), 16.
Bibliography:
Carrier, Roch. La Guerre, Yes Sir! Translated by
Sheila Fischman. Toronto: Anansi, 1970.
Edition of a Book (other than the first)
Add the number of the edition after the title, and after the name of any editor(s) or translator(s).
Note:
10. Kirk R. Butt, Early Settlers of Bay St. George, 2nd ed. (Whitby, ON: Boonen Books, 2007), 29.
Bibliography:
Butt, Kirk R. Early Settlers of Bay St. George.
2nd ed. Whitby, ON: Boonen Books,
2007.