Other Typs of Sources
Class lecture, speech, or academic talk
Put the lecture title in quotation marks after the speaker's name. If the lecture is untitled, place the course name in square brackets.
Note:
27. John Bodner, [Folklore and Popular Culture] (lecture, Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Corner Brook, NL, February 15, 2008).
Bibliography:
Bodner, John. [Folklore and Popular Culture].
Lecture, Grenfell Campus, Memorial
University of Newfoundland, Corner Brook,
NL, February 15, 2008.
Class Notes on Course Website (Brightspace)
Include date they were created, posted or last revised; If no such date is available include date of access. Include the URL.
Note:
28. John Bodner, "Folksong" (course notes for Folklore and Popular Culture, Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Corner Brook, NL, February 15, 2008), http://online.mun.ca/folk1000%20jbodner/Feb%2015%202008.pdf.
Bibliography:
Bodner, John. "Folksong." Course notes for
Folklore and Popular Culture, Grenfell
Campus, Memorial University of
Newfoundland, Corner Brook, NL,
February 15, 2008. http://online.mun.ca/
folk1000%20jbodner/Feb%2015%
202008.pdf.
Dictionary/Encyclopedia (Print)
For commonly used or well-known reference books, do not give full publication information; only provide edition, if other than first. Cite the title of the entry proceeded by s.v., meaning sub verbo, or "under the word"; plural s.vv.). Do not include page numbers.
Note:
29. Encyclopaedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. "Salvation."
Bibliography:
In Chicago Style, well-known dictionaries and encyclopedias do not need to be included in bibliographies.
Dictionary/Encyclopedia (Online)
Include the DOI or "digital object identifier". If it is not available, use the URL instead. If you accessed it through a library database, name the database; do not use a library database URL.
Note:
30. Oxford English Dictionary, 3rd ed., s.v. "Anomie," https://doi.org/10.1093/acref/9780199571123.001.0001.
Bibliography:
In Chicago Style, well-known dictionaries and encyclopedias do not need to be included in bibliographies.
Government Document, Canadian (Print)
The Chicago Manual recommends consulting the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation (9th edition) for more specific information.
Note:
32. Statistics Canada, A National Overview: Population and Dwelling Counts, 2006 Census (Ottawa: Statistics Canada, 2007), p. 279-80.
Bibliography:
Statistics Canada. A National Overview: Population and Dwelling Counts, 2006 Census.
Ottawa: Statistics Canada, 2007.
Government Document, Canadian (Online)
Include publication or last revision date; If no such date is available include date of access. Include the URL.
Note:
33. Environment Canada, "Canada's Emission Trends" (July, 2011), p. 19,
http://www.ec.gc.ca/Publications/E197D5E7-1AE3-4A06-B4FC-CB74EAAAA60F/CanadasEmissionsTrends.pdf.
Bibliography:
Environment Canada. "Canada's Emission
Trends." July, 2011. http://www.ec.gc.ca/
Publications/E197D5E7-1AE3-4A06-
B4FC-CB74EAAAA60F/CanadasEmissions
Trends.pdf.
Interview (Unpublished)
Note:
34. John A. Smith, telephone conversation with author, May 29, 2005.
35. David Peddle, interview by author, Corner Brook, NL, March 22, 2011.
Bibliography:
Interviews are not included in the bibliography unless they are available for others to access (for example, in a library or archive, or posted online). Consider preserving a permanent record of any interviews you conduct to prevent possible challenges to the research.
Letters to the Editor and Readers' Comments
Published letters to the editor do not include headlines.
Note:
36. Crystal Rose, letter to the editor, The Western Star, October 12, 2016.
Comments are treated like a comment on a blog post, where you list the names as they are recorded with the comment, and other identifying information in parenthesis. If you can include a direct link to the comment, do so; otherwise, link to the article. Replies can refer to the cited comment.
37. Kate (Newfoundland), May 24, 2014, comment on Meghan Gamsby, "Join QEII for Art Hive," The Telegram, May 22, 2014, http://www.telegram.ca/2014/05/22/QEII-arthive.html.
38. Meghan (Newfoundland), reply to Kate, May 25, 2014.
Movie
For streaming films accessed through the library, include the database name (i.e. Audio Cine Films, Kanopy, Digital Theatre+). Do not use a library database URL.
Streaming
Note:
39. Back to the Future, directed by Robert Zemeckis, released 1985, by Universal Pictures, accessed September 13, 2020, Audio Cine Films.
Bibliography:
Zemeckis, Robert, dir. Back to the Future.
Released 1985, by Universal Pictures.
Accessed September 13, 2020. Audio
Cine Films.
DVD
Note:
40. The Viking, directed by George Melford and Varick Frissell (1931; Burbank, CA: Morningstar Entertainment, 2008), DVD.
Bibliography:
Melford, George, and Varick Frissel, dir. The
Viking. 1931; Burbank, CA: Morningstar
Entertainment, 2008. DVD.
Multimedia App Content
This includes video games, interactive books, encyclopedias and other content that is a stand-alone application, for use on an individual computer or device. Make sure to include the version number and information on the operating system required to run the app.
Note:
41. Temple Run 2, iPad, ed., 1.47 (Imangi Studios, LLC, 2017), iOS 7.0 or later.
Bibliography:
Imangi Studios, LLC. Temple Run 2. V.1.47.
Imangi Studios, 2017. iOS 7.0 or later.
Personal Communication (Conversation, email, text, DM)
References to communications are usually built into the text, but can be provided in a note. Email addresses should be omitted. If you need to include it, ensure you obtain the permission of the owner.
In a text to the author on April 4, 2020, a representative from the organization wrote that...
Note:
42. Edwin Bezzina, email message to author, January 19, 2019.
43. Facebook Messenger direct message to author, May 17, 2020.
Bibliography:
Personal communications are not included in the bibliography. Consider preserving a permanent record of personal communications to prevent possible challenges to the research.
Thesis/Dissertation (Print)
Note:
44. Dorothy C. Anger, "Putting it Back Together: Micmac Political Identity in Newfoundland," (master's thesis, Memorial University of Newfoundland, 1983), 142.
Bibliography:
Anger, Dorothy C. "Putting it Back Together: Micmac Political Identity in Newfoundland."
Master's thesis, Memorial University of Newfoundland, 1983.
Thesis/Dissertation (Library Database)
Include the name of the database; do not use a library dabase URL. If an identification number is provided, include it in brackets after the database name.
Note:
45. Jerry Dick, “Making the Newfoundland Outport,” (master’s thesis, Memorial University of Newfoundland, 2011), 9, ProQuest (MR81860).
Bibliography:
Dick, Jerry. “Making the Newfoundland
Outport.” Master’s thesis, Memorial
University of Newfoundland, 2011.
ProQuest (MR81860).
Thesis/Dissertation (Internet)
Note:
46. Dorothy C. Anger, "Putting it Back Together: Micmac Political Identity in Newfoundland," (master's thesis, Memorial University of Newfoundland, 1983), 142, http://collections.mun.ca/cdm4/document.php?CISOROOT=/theses&CISOPTR=301551&REC=13.
Bibliography:
Anger, Dorothy C. "Putting it Back Together:
Micmac Political Identity in
Newfoundland." Master's thesis, Memorial
University of Newfoundland, 1983.
http://collections.mun.ca/cdm4/document.
php?CISOROOT=/theses&CISOPTR=
301551&REC=13.