Other
This guide is for the 9th edition of the MLA Handbook (2021).
Class Lecture
Instructor's Lastname, Firstname. Lecture
Description of Lecture. Day Mon. year,
University Name.
Lewis, Robert. Lecture. Mummering tradition in
Newfoundland. 5 Feb. 2011, Memorial U
of Newfoundland.
Class Notes/Material on Course Website (e.g. Brightspace)
If there is a date on the file, use that date. If there is no date, use the date you accessed it at the end of the entry.
“Title of PDF/PP/Video.” Course Name, taught
by Instructor's Name. Course Site Name,
University Name, Day Mon. year, URL.
“Characteristics of Successful Entrepreneurs.”
BUSN 1020: Introduction to
Entrepreneurship, taught by Jose Lam.
Brightspace, Grenfell Campus, Memorial U
of Newfoundland. online.mun.ca/d2l/le/
content/195539/viewContent/3769534/
View?ou=194537. Accessed 14 Oct. 2018.
Dictionary/Encyclopedia
If no author is available, begin with the title instead.
Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Entry."
Dictionary/Encyclopedia Name, edited by
Editor's Name/s, edition #, vol. #,
Publisher/s, year, pp. #s. Title of Database
or Website, DOI or URL.
Jamieson, Donald C. "I Saw the Fight for
Confederation." The Book of
Newfoundland, edited by Joseph R.
Smallwood and James R. Thoms, vol. 3,
Newfoundland Book Publishers, 1967, pp.
70-104. Memorial U of Newfoundland
Digital Archives Initiative, collections.mun.
ca/digital/collection/cns_tools/id/43833/
rec/33.
Dissertation or Thesis
Author Lastname, Firstname. Title of Dissertation
/Thesis. Year. University Name, master’s
thesis or PhD dissertation. Database Name,
DOI or URL.
Breslin, Samantha. Living with Music: An
Ethnography of Sessions in St. John's,
Newfoundland. 2011. Memorial U of
Newfoundland, master’s thesis. ProQuest,
search.proquest.com/docview/902181185?accountid=12378.
E-mail or Text Message
Sender Lastname, Firstname. Email to
Receiver’s Name. Day Mon. year.
Grenfell Campus Student Union. E-mail to all
students. 4 Nov. 2019.
Strickland, Heather. Text message to the
author. 12 July, 2016.
Film or "TV" Show (Streaming)
After the title, you can include the names of any contributor(s) relevant to your research. For the publisher, list the production company that made it (the “most prominently displayed” or that “had primary overall responsibility” for it). You can list multiple publishers. If viewed through an app, include the app name at the end of the entry.
FILM
Title. Contributor/s, Publisher/s, original year of
release. Title of Database/Site, URL.
Miss Representation. Directed by Jennifer
Siebel Newsom, The Representation
Project, 2011. Kanopy, mun.kanopy.com/
video/miss-representation-0.
RBG. Directed by Julie Cohen and Betsy West,
Participant Media / CNN Films / Storyville
Films, 2018. Netflix app.
Episode of a Series
“Episode Title.” Series Title, contributor/s, season
#, episode #, Publisher/s, Day Mon. year it
aired. Title of Database/Site, URL.
“The Ryans and the Pittmans.” Republic of Doyle,
written by Steven DiMarco, season 2, episode
6, CBC, 16 Feb. 2011. CBC Gem, gem.cbc.ca/
media/republic-of-doyle/season-2/episode-6/
38e815a-00ccbe4f9e8.
“Salt.” Salt Fat Acid Heat, hosted by Samin Nosrat,
season 1, episode 2, Jigsaw Productions, 11
Oct. 2018. Netflix, www.netflix.com.
Government Document
MLA advises if you are working with very few government sources to “treat them just like any other source written by an organization” (p. 120). Record the name as presented in the source.
Graphic Novel (Multiple Contributors)
A graphic novel with a single creator (i.e. same person wrote and illustrated it) can be cited similar to a print book. For multiple contributors, the names of any contributors “who are important to your discussion” can be included after the title with a description of their role (p. 150).
Title of Issue. Title of Series, Contributors, no.
or vol. #, Publisher/s, year.
Season of Mists. The Sandman, by Neil
Gaiman, penciled by Kelly Jones, coloured
by Steve Oliff and Danny Vozzo, vol. 4,
Vertigo, 2011.
Storybook Love. Fables, by Bill Willingham,
lettered by Todd Klein, no. 3, Vertigo,
2002.
Interview
Name of person interviewed. Interview.
Conducted by Name of Interviewer,
day Mon. Year.
French, George. Interview. Conducted by John
Bodner, 12 Nov. 2014.
Reviews
For online reviews, see examples under Articles or Websites and include additional relevant information.
Untitled
Reviewer Lastname, Firstname. Review of Title,
by Author/Editor/Director/Artist. Title of
Journal/Magazine/Newspaper, vol. #,
no. #, day Mon. year, pp. #s.
Warner, Patrick. Review of An Island in the Sky:
Selected Poetry of Al Pittman, edited by
Martin Ware and Stephanie McKenzie.
Books in Canada, vol. 33, no. 7, Oct.
2004, p. 36.
Titled
Reviewer Lastname, Firstname. "Title of
Review." Title of Journal/Magazine/
Newspaper, vol. #, no. #, day Mon.
year, pp. #s.
Jesse, Green. “Theater Review: Come from
Away Makes a Musical out of Canadian
Niceness.” New York, 20 Mar. 2017.
Didn't find the example you were looking for? Librarians are happy to help! Visit us in person, ask us, or live chat with us. Copies of the complete MLA Handbook (9th ed.) are also available at our libraries in Reference or on Reserve. Call Number: LB 2369 M53 2021.