Other Types of Sources
Class Lecture, Speech, or Academic Talk
Put the lecture title, if known, in quotation marks after the speaker's name. If the lecture is untitled, place the course name in square brackets.
Bodner, John. 2008. [Folklore and Popular
Culture]. Class lecture, Grenfell Campus,
Memorial University of Newfoundland,
Corner Brook, NL, February 15, 2008.
Class Notes/File on Course Website (Brightspace)
Turabian doesn’t provide specific advice. Memorial University Libraries advises: Put the file’s title in quotation marks. Add a description in square brackets, e.g. Lecture Notes, PowerPoint, Video, etc. If there is no date available, include the date you accessed it.
Bodner, John. 2008. "Folksong" [Lecture notes
for FOLK 1000]. Brightspace, Memorial
University of Newfoundland, February 15,
2008. http://online.mun.ca/folk1000
%20jbodner/Feb%2015%202008.pdf.
Dictionary/Encyclopedia (Print)
For commonly used or well-known reference books, do not give full publication information; only provide edition, if other than first. Cite the title of the entry proceeded by s.v., meaning sub verbo, or "under the word" (plural s.vv.). Well-known dictionaries and encyclopedias do not need to be included in your Reference List.
In-text:
(Encyclopaedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. "Salvation")
Dictionary/Encyclopedia (Online)
If accessed through the library, give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the name of the database (e.g. Oxford Reference, Credo Reference, etc.). If accessed on the internet, include the URL and if there is no date provided, include a date of access.
In-text examples:
(Oxford English Dictionary, 3rd ed., s.v. "Anomie," https://doi.org/10.1093/acref/9780199571123.001.0001)
(Encyclopedia Britannica Online, s.v. "Sibelius, Jean," accessed June 1, 2005, http://www.britannica. com/ebc/article?tocld=9378608)
Government Document, Canadian (Print)
List as much of the following information as you can:
Government (e.g. country, province,
city). Government Body. Year of
Publication. Title, by individual
Authors if any. Identifying Number
or City of Publication: Publisher,
Month day, year of publication.
Unless its obvious, include (Canada)
at the end of the citation.
Newfoundland and Labrador. Human Rights
Commission. 2010. Human Rights Act
Fact Sheet. St. John's, NL: Human Rights
Commission, January 5, 2010.
Government Document, Canadian (Online)
If no date of publication or revision is given, use the abbreviation "n.d." for "no date” and include the date you accessed it. Do not use the date of access in your in-text citation.
Canada. Environment Canada. 2011. Canada's
Emission Trends. Cat. No. En84-83/2011E,
July, 2011. http://www.ec.gc.ca/
Publications/E197D5E7-1AE3-4A06-B4FC
-CB74EAAAA60F/CanadasEmissions
Trends.pdf.
Interview (Unpublished)
In your in-text citation, use the name of the person interviewed: (Peddle 2011).
Peddle, David. 2011. Interview by author.
Corner Brook, NL, March 22, 2011.
If you cannot reveal the identity of the person interviewed, only cite it in the text. Do not include in Reference List.
In-text:
(Interview with an undergraduate student, April 1, 2019)
Movie
The Director is considered the author. Only include writers, actors, producers, etc. if relevant to your research. Include the year it was released, the company that produced or distributed the movie, and a publication date if applicable. If you are citing a specific clip, you can include the timings in your in-text citation: (Bauman 1988, 10:20 to 10:54).
Streaming:
If accessed through the library, include the database name (e.g. Audio-Cine Films, Digital Theatre+, etc.). If accessed through the internet include a URL.
Bauman, Suzanne, director. 1988. The Artist
was a Woman. Filmmakers Library.
59 min. Alexander Street.
DVD:
Melford, George, and Varick Frissell, directors.
1931. The Viking. Featuring Bob Bartlett.
Paramount Pictures; Morningstar
Entertainment, 2008. 1 hr., 10 min. DVD.
Personal Communication (Conversation, email, text, DM)
Personal communications can be cited in the text only.
In-text examples:
In a conversation with me on June 17, 2018, Jay Rosedale confirmed that…
(Elizabeth Hofstadt to author, Facebook direct message, November 12, 2020)
Thesis/Dissertation (Print)
Childs, Nicole. 2002. "The Impact of Hurricane
Floyd on the Children of Eastern North
Carolina." Master's thesis, Eastern
Carolina University.
Thesis/Dissertation (Online)
If accessed through the library, include the database name (e.g. ProQuest Dissertations & These Global). If accessed through the internet include a URL.
Richmond, Afrah Daaimah. 2011. "Unmasking
the Boston Brahmin: Race and Liberalism
and the Long Struggle for Reform at
Harvard and Radcliffe, 1945-1990."
PhD diss., New York University. ProQuest
Dissertations & Theses Global.