Articles
Journal Article, 1-3 authors (Print)
Include all authors' names.
Note:
10. William G. Thomas and Edward L. Ayers, "An Overview: The Differences Slavery Made; A Close Analysis of Two American Communities," American Historical Review 108 (December 2003): 1305.
Bibliography:
Thomas, William G., and Edward L. Ayers, "An
Overview: The Differences Slavery made;
A Close Analysis of Two American
Communities." American Historical Review
108 (December 2003): 1299-307.
Journal Article, 4 or more authors (Print)
In the note, list only the first author's name followed by "et al." In the Bibliography, include all authors, no matter how many.
Note:
11. Ben Hawkins et al., “The Road to Damascus,” Carnivale 2, no. 13 (2005): 18.
Bibliography:
Hawkins, Ben, Justin Crowe, Clayton Jones,
Rita Sue Dreifuss, and Apollonia
Bojakshiya. “The Road to Damascus.”
Carnivale 2, no. 13 (2005): 1-24.
Journal Article (Library Database)
If you accessed it through the library, give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the name of the database (e.g. Historical Abstracts, Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, Art Index, etc.).
Note:
12. Pierre Pepin, Eugene Colbourne, and Gary Maillet, "Seasonal Patterns in Zooplankton Community Structure on the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelf," Progress in Oceanography 91, no. 3 (2011): 280, http://doi.org/10.1016/j.pocean.2011.01.003.
Bibliography:
Pepin, Pierre, Eugene Colbourne, and Gary
Maillet. "Seasonal Patterns in
ZooplanktonCommunity Structure on
the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelf."
Progress in Oceanography 91, no. 3
(2011): 273-285. http://doi.org/
10.1016/j.pocean.2011.01.003.
Note:
13. Christopher Small, "Why Doesn't the Whole World Love Chamber Music?" American Music 19, no. 3 (Autumn 2001): 349, JSTOR.
Bibliography:
Small, Christopher. "Why Doesn't the Whole
World Love Chamber Music?" American
Music 19, no. 3 (Autumn 2001):
340-59. JSTOR.
Journal Article (Internet)
Give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the URL.
Note:
14. Kembrew McLeod, "Crashing the Spectacle: A Forgotten History of Digital Sampling, Infringement, Copyright Liberation and the End of Recorded Music," Culture Machine 10 (2009): 125, http://www.culturemachine.net/index.php/cm/article/view/349/351.
Bibliography:
McLeod, Kembrew. "Crashing the Spectacle:
A Forgotten History of Digital Sampling,
Infringement, Copyright Liberation and
the End of Recorded Music." Culture
Machine 10 (2009): 114-30.
http://www.culturemachine.net/index.
php/cm/article/view/349/351.
Magazine Article (Print)
Cite magazines by date only, even if they have a volume/issue number. Don’t include the page number range in your bibliography.
Note:
15. Mark Schapiro, "New Power for 'Old Europe'," Nation, December 27, 2004, 12-13.
Bibliography:
Schapiro, Mark. "New Power for 'Old Europe'."
Nation, December 27, 2004.
Magazine Article (Online)
If you accessed it through the library, give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the name of the database (e.g. Academic Search Complete, ProQuest Central, etc.). If you accessed it on the internet, include the URL, and there may be no page numbers to cite.
Note:
16. Frank Moher, "Son of the Rock," Backofthebook.ca: Canada's Online Magazine, October 11, 2008, http://backofthebook.ca/2008/10/11/son-of-the-rock/331/.
Bibliography:
Moher, Frank. "Son of the Rock."
Backofthebook.ca: Canada's Online
Magazine. October 11, 2008.
http://backofthebook.ca/2008/10/11/
son-of-the-rock/331/.
Newspaper Article, no author (Print)
Do not include page numbers for newspapers. If there is no author, begin with the article title.
Note:
17. "Cadbury Targets Russia," Globe and Mail, May 22, 1995.
Bibliography:
Newspaper articles are rarely included in bibliographies, however you may include an article only if it is "critical to your argument or frequently cited."
Newspaper or News Article (Online)
If you accessed it through the library, give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the name of the database (e.g. Factiva, Academic Search Complete, ProQuest Central, etc.). If you accessed it on the internet, include the URL. Do not include page numbers for newspapers. If there is no author, begin with the article title.
Note:
18. Gordon Pitts, "The Fishery is Dead; Long Live the Fishery," Globe and Mail, February 18, 2008, Nexis Uni.
Articles from news websites can usually be cited like articles in newspapers:
19. “Blueberry Heist Leaves Farmers Searching for Answers,” CBC News, September 21, 2021. https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/newfoundland-labrador/blueberry-theft-farm-nl-1.6182971.
Bibliography:
Online newspaper or news articles are rarely included in bibliographies, however you may include an article only if it is "critical to your argument or frequently cited."
For more examples of articles, please see pp. 187-193 of the A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. 9th ed available at the library: LB 2369 T8 2018. For blogs, see Websites and Social Media.