Other Types of Sources
Class Lecture, Speech, or Academic Talk
Put the lecture title, if known, in quotation marks after the speaker's name. If the lecture is untitled, place the course name in square brackets.
Note:
29. John Bodner, [Folklore and Popular Culture] (Lecture, Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Corner Brook, NL, February 15, 2008).
Bibliography:
Bodner, John. [Folklore and Popular Culture].
Lecture, Grenfell Campus, Memorial
University of Newfoundland, Corner
Brook, NL, February 15, 2008.
Class Notes/File on Course Website (Brightspace)
Turabian doesn’t provide specific advice. Memorial University Libraries advises: Put the file’s title in quotation marks after the Instructor's name. Add a description in square brackets, e.g. Lecture Notes, PowerPoint, Video, etc. If there is no date available, include the date you accessed it.
Note:
30. John Bodner, "Folksong" [Lecture Notes for FOLK 1000], Brightspace, Memorial University of Newfoundland, February 15, 2008, http://online.mun.ca/folk1000%20jbodner/Feb%2015%202008.pdf.
31. Edwin Bezzina, “The Salem Witch Trials” [Video for HIST 2330], Brightspace, Memorial University of Newfoundland, accessed October 31, 2020, https://online.mun.ca/d2l/le/content/195539/viewContent/2865592/View.
Bibliography:
Turabian doesn’t provide specific advice. Memorial University Libraries advises only including in notes.
Dictionary/Encyclopedia (Print)
For commonly used or well-known reference books, do not give full publication information; only provide edition, if other than first. Cite the title of the entry proceeded by s.v., meaning sub verbo, or "under the word" (plural s.vv.).
Note:
32. Encyclopedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. "Salvation."
Bibliography:
In Turabian Style, well-known dictionaries and encyclopedias do not need to be included in bibliographies.
Dictionary/Encyclopedia (Online)
If accessed through the library, give the DOI or “Digital Object Identifier” (preferred) or the name of the database (e.g. Oxford Reference, Credo Reference etc.). If accessed on the internet, include the URL. If there is no date provided, include a date of access.
Note:
33. Encyclopedia Britannica Online, s.v. "Sibelius, Jean," accessed June 1, 2005, http://www.britannica.com/ebc/article?tocld=9378608.
Bibliography:
In Turabian Style, well-known dictionaries and encyclopedias do not need to be included in bibliographies.
Government Document, Canadian (Print)
List as much of the following information as you can:
34. Government (e.g. country, province, city), Government Body, Title, Individual Authors if any, Identifying Number or (City of Publication: Publisher, date of publication), page numbers or other locators if necessary. Unless its obvious, include (Canada) at the end of the citation.
Note:
35. Newfoundland and Labrador, Human Rights Commission, Human Rights Act Fact Sheet (St. John's, NL: Human Rights Commission, 2010).
Bibliography:
Newfoundland and Labrador. Human
Rights Commission. Human Rights Act
Fact Sheet. St. John's, NL: Human
Rights Commission, 2010.
Government Document, Canadian (Online)
If no date of publication or revision is given, include the date you accessed it.
Note:
36. Canada, Environment Canada, Canada's Emission Trends, Cat. No. En84-83/2011E (July, 2011), p. 19, http://www.ec.gc.ca/Publications/E197D5E7-1AE3-4A06-B4FC-CB74EAAAA60F/CanadasEmissionsTrends.pdf.
Bibliography:
Canada. Environment Canada. Canada's
Emission Trends. Cat. No. En84-83/2011E.
July, 2011. http://www.ec.gc.ca/
Publications/E197D5E7-1AE3-4A06-B4FC
-CB74EAAAA60F/CanadasEmissions
Trends.pdf.
Interview (Unpublished)
Note:
37. David Peddle, interview by author, Corner Brook, NL, March 22, 2011.
If you cannot reveal the identity of the person interviewed:
38. Interview with an undergraduate student, St. John’s, NL, April 1, 2019.
Bibliography:
Interviews are not included in the bibliography unless they are available for others to access (for example, in a library or archive, or posted online).
Movie
Include the director’s name/s. Only include writers, actors, producers, etc. if relevant to your research. Include the company that produced or distributed the movie and the year it was released. If you are citing a specific clip, you can include the timings in the note.
Streaming
If accessed through the library, include the database name (e.g. Audio-Cine Films, Digital Theatre+, etc.). If accessed through the internet include a URL.
Note:
39. The Artist was a Woman, directed by Suzanne Bauman (Filmmakers Library, 1988), 10:20 to 10:54, Alexander Street.
DVD
Note:
40. The Viking, directed by George Melford and Varick Frissell, featuring Bob Bartlett (Paramount Pictures, 1931; Morningstar Entertainment, 2008), DVD.
Bibliography:
You can list the film either under the name of the director or under the title:
Bauman, Suzanne, director. The Artist was a
Woman. Filmmakers Library, 1988.
59 min. Alexander Street.
or
The Viking. Directed by George Melford and
Varick Frissell. Featuring Bob Bartlett.
Paramount Pictures, 1931; Morningstar
Entertainment, 2008. 1 hr., 10 min.
DVD.
Personal Communication (Conversation, email, text, DM)
Personal communications can be cited in the text only, or in a note.
In-text examples:
In a conversation with me on June 17, 2018, Jay Rosedale confirmed that…
(Elizabeth Hofstadt to author, Facebook direct message, November 12, 2020)
Note:
41. Megan Calvet, email message to the author, May 18, 2019.
Bibliography:
Personal communications should only be cited in the text or in notes.
Thesis/Dissertation (Print)
Note:
42. Nicole Childs, "The Impact of Hurricane Floyd on the Children of Eastern North Carolina" (master's thesis, Eastern Carolina University, 2002), 24.
Bibliography:
Childs, Nicole. "The Impact of Hurricane Floyd
on the Children of Eastern North
Carolina." Master's thesis, Eastern
Carolina University, 2002.
Thesis/Dissertation (Online)
If accessed through the library, give the name of the database (e.g. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.). If accessed on the internet, include the URL.
Note:
43. Afrah Daaimah Richmond, "Unmasking the Boston Brahmin: Race and Liberalism and the Long Struggle for Reform at Harvard and Radcliffe, 1945-1990" (PhD diss., New York University, 2011), 101-2, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
Bibliography:
Richmond, Afrah Daaimah. "Unmasking the
Boston Brahmin: Race and Liberalism
and the Long Struggle for Reform at
Harvard and Radcliffe, 1945-1990."
PhD diss., New York University, 2011.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Global.