Search Results

Database Indexes by Title

B

Barnes&Noble.com : world's largest bookseller online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1975-present coverage available online:
Sale listings - Millions of books, e-books, audio books, music, CDs, DVDs & other products - Searchable by author, title, subject keyword, awards, format & other criteria
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
BBC news
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2015-present available online:
Full-text - Up-to-the-minute international & national news and feature stories posted on the British Broadcasting Corporation's web site - also covers entertainment, business, science, sports, technology & health news.
BELIT : bioethics literature database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
Index - extensive bibliographic directory covering world literature on bioethics - comprises 550,00+ records describing journal articles, books / chapters, legal documents, grey literature, newspaper articles & more -- records created at ethics research centres in Germany, France & the USA.
BFI Screenonline
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Full-text - extensive , continuously updated resource celebrating the history & variety of British film & television - includes thousands of stills, posters & press books + online encyclopedia from the British Film Institute - biographies of key personalities from Britain's film & television industries - video is not available outside of the UK.
BHA and RILA
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1975-2007 available online:
Index, abstracts - covers scholarly writing about the history of European & American visual arts, including journal articles, conference papers, book, exhibition reviews & exhibition catalogues - searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title or other elements; index terms (descriptors) and abstracts may be in English or in French.
Bibliografía mesoamericana
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1514-2012 available online:
Index - 73,000+ records describing books, journal articles, essays in collected works, dissertations/theses, audio/visual materials, etc. on Mesoamerica [México, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras & El Salvador] - covers archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, & related disciplines.
Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1958-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 400,000+ records covering books & book reviews on all subjects relating to the Middle Ages, within the date range 300-1500 and, geographically, within Europe, the Middle East and North Africa - companion to the index of journal articles in the International Medieval Bibliography online.
Bibliographie de la littérature française
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1994-present available online:
Index - comprises 150,000+ records describing articles & reviews which have appeared in France & abroad concerning French & Francophone literature from the 16th century to the present - use the BLF for research on a writer, theme or period from French & Francophone literature - sometimes called the Rancoeur - the name of the first BLF bibliographer .
Bibliographieportal zur Geschichte Ostmitteleuropas = Bibliography portal on the history of East Central Europe
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1920-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 800,000+ records describing scholarly literature concerning the history of Eastern Central European areas - covers journal articles, books/chapters & encyclopedias/articles - maintained by the Herder Institut for an international consortium.
Bibliography of Asian studies
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia - comprises 900,000+ records describing western-language journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast & South Asia - Subjects: philosophy, religion, literature, history, fine arts, music, theatre, architecture, anthropology, archaeology, economics, politics, sociology, environmental sciences, public health & medicine.
Bibliography of British and Irish history
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers historical writing concerning the British Isles, the British Empire & Commonwealth during all periods for which written documentation is available, 55 B.C.E. onwards - Bibliographical data + detailed subject classification for 500,000+ articles in academic & popular journals and books.
Bibliography of linguistic literature = Bibliographie linguistischer Literatur
Internet access unrestricted (1971-2000).
Coverage: 1971-2000 present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers linguistics in general, with all its neighbouring disciplines & subdomains + English, German and Romance language (French, Italian & Spanish) linguistics in particular + other languages to a smaller extent - comprises 110,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, monographs, dissertations & festschrifts.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers all aspects of native North American culture, history & life, 16th century to present: native culture, history, daily life, archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, ethnobotany, legend & literacy - comprises 141,000 citations describing books, essays, journal articles & government documents - essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal & medical researchers, linguists, theologians & policy makers.
Bibliotek.dk
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - National bibliography & union catalogue comprising 13 million records describing books, periodicals, newspapers, music, sheet music, video tapes/DVDs, CD-ROMs, audio books etc. held in Denmark’s public & academic libraries - also covers major articles published in Danish newspapers & periodicals since 1945.
Bio
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2003-present available online:
Index, full-text - explores life events & relationships of individuals, past & present, in the A&E Network's biography knowledge base - comprises 7,200+ biographies + features that highlight newsworthy, compelling & surprising points-of-view: In The News, Nostalgia, Celebrity, History & Culture, Crime & Scandal.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1450-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - digital library providing open access to 48,300,000+ pages / 104,000+ titles of natural history, botany, biodiversity & taxonomic literature - the BHL is a consortium of major natural history, botanical & research libraries that have digitized resources housed in each participating institution, providing free access to the legacy literature that underpins the work of the natural science community - the BHL serves as the literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.
Biography and genealogy master index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1870-present available online:
User Guide
Index - biographical entries covering 5.8 million people, living & deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations & fields of endeavor - index provides citations that point to 15+ million biographies published in thousands of volumes / editions of important current & retrospective biographical reference sources - search for the source publication in the OneSearch Catalogue.
Biological abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1926-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprehensive coverage of life sciences research: botany, zoology, microbiology, biochemistry, clinical & experimental medicine, biophysics, and more - comprises 12+ million bibliographic records describing articles from over 4,200 scholarly journals - search by topic, author, source publication, publication year, address, taxonomic data, major concepts, concept codes, or other identifying codes.
Biological science database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1809-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - monitors articles from 8,000+ scholarly, trade & popular journals, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs / books / chapters, government documents & patents - interdisciplinary database comprising 40 million records: animal behaviour, bacteriology & virology, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, molecular biology, plant science & mycology, aquatic organisms & marine biology, microbiology, entomology, zoology & ecology + aspects of agriculture & veterinary science + health, risk & safety sciences.
Biology database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.5+ million records describing articles from 440 academic & trade journals + government reports & conference papers - topics: biology, biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, cytology & histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy & zoology - includes 1.1+ full-text scholarly journal articles.
BioMed Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
Index, full-text - covers 290+ quality peer-reviewed journals in biology, biomedicine, environmental studies, medicine, public health& related sciences -journal articles, reports, meeting abstracts, as well as information about current controlled trials - OA publishing advice for authors & editors.
BioOne complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1994-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - comprises 135,000+ records describing articles available in 190+ high-impact, full-text journals from small scientific societies / scholarly publishers - covers critical, peer-reviewed articles focusing on organismal biology, ecology, zoology & environmental / aquatic sciences - search using author name, keywords in title, abstract, figure / table captions, or article full-text, date, journal or DOI.
Birds of North America online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1992-present available online:
Index, full-text scientific information for the 716 bird species nesting in the United States & Canada - covers appearance & measurements, behaviours, food habits, distribution, habitat, migration, breeding, demography & populations, nests, eggs & nestlings, conservation, management & research priorities - photo, video & audio galleries, recordings of bird songs & calls + an extensive bibliography for each species.
Blackwell's for learning - for life
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage:
Sale listings - featuring information about books, textbooks, e-books & rare books, classical CDs, DVDs from documentaries to world cinema and printed music - covers all personal & academic, university & specialist reading & research topics + Official Publications from The Stationery Office, HSE & other UK / International government bodies.
Bloomberg business
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1991-present available online:
Index, full-text - Worldwide coverage of business, financial & political News from Bloomberg’s magazines, TV stations & radio programs - Markets covers stocks, interest rates, bonds, currencies, mutual funds, exchange traded funds & commodities; stock search provides detailed charts, historic pricing, volume, company news & various financial indicators - Insights: Personal Finance offers stock recommendations, portfolio tracker, financial calculator tool & financial glossary.
Bloomberg professional
QEII: Can be viewed in The Commons on level 2 at the Bloomberg terminal.
Coverage:
Provides up-to-the-minute news and prices from financial markets around the world. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies. Coverage includes equities, money markets, currencies, bonds, commodities, mortgage-backed securities, and derivatives. Much of the information can be presented graphically.
Book review digest plus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1905-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers 2+ million concise, critical evaluations from 5,000+ indexed journals - Master book records include descriptive summaries, subject indexing, grade levels & links to book review citations + full-text or excerpts - covers adult, young adult & children’s fiction & nonfiction with subject coverage: art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences - invaluable resource for literary & biographical research, readers’ advisory & collection development for both literature.
Book review digest retro
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1905-1982 available online:
User Guide
Index - provides excerpts & citations for 1 or more substantial reviews of juvenile & adult fiction / non-fiction books, reference works + book summaries, abstracts & citations - reviews excerpted from selected periodicals in the humanities, social sciences or general sciences published in the U.S.A., Canada, or Great Britain - access nearly eight decades of literary critique, evaluation & thought.
BookFinder.com
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Search engine - resource for bibliophiles providing unbiased information about books available online - searches over 150 million books for sale - new, used, rare, out-of-print & textbooks - covers every major bookseller catalog online, then offers data to compare prices & selection.
BookFlix
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
"All the fiction/nonfiction pairs in BookFlix are categorized according to nine themes: Animals and Nature; Earth and Sky; Family and Community; People and Places; Music and Rhyme; ABC's and 1, 2, 3's; Adventure; Imagination; and Celebrations. From the Home page, click on one of the nine themes to browse the pairs in each category. Pairs are listed in alphabetical order by story title. The browse is presented in a flipbook format. Pages can be turned by clicking the appropriate buttons; or click the tabs at the side of the book to jump to other pages."
Books in print global edition
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
Index -- trusted, authoritative source for tracking bibliographic & purchasing information for books -- covers 20+ million titles (in print, out of print, forthcoming) including books, e-books, audio books & multimedia titles -- offers powerful search, browse, refine, discovery, collection development & acquisitions tools -- title records may include professional reviews, tables of contents, full-text previews, cover images, author biographies, awards information, summaries, annotations & more -- global coverage: U.S., U.K., Canadian, European & Australian publications -- includes comprehensive database covering 165,000+ publishers, distributors, wholesalers & book agents.
Books24x7
MUN access to EngineeringPro only, a subset of Books24x7.
Coverage: 1985-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - access contents of hundreds of the best and latest engineering books - SEARCH the EngineeringPro Collection or BROWSE Engineering topics - covers handbooks & reference texts for a range of engineering disciplines: Aerospace, Chemical & process, Civil, Electrical & electronic , Environmental, General, Industrial, manufacturing & operational systems, Marine, Mechanical, Optical, Petroleum, mining & geological, Software, Sustainability, Systems, Telecommunications + Bioengineering, Materials science, Mathematics, Nanotechnology Physics, Safety & Health.
Books2ebooks : the future of reading is digital
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1500-1900 available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - search over 5.8 million books from 36 libraries - giving direct access to digitised items as well as books offered for digitisation on demand.
Bridgeman Images
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Images - access photographic reproductions of paintings, sculpture, textiles, maps & anthropological artefacts + newer forms of media including early photography, newsreels & documentaries - every subject, concept, style or medium in collections from artists, national museums, private collections - Search or browse using industry leading metadata or key-word functions to discover high resolution images & clips that are accessible for users all over the world; registration required to purchase / download images.
Britannica academic edition
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Search & read over 73,000 articles from the Encyclopedia Britannica + articles from 700 periodicals + ebooks & primary sources selected from Project Gutenberg + links to a Media Collection comprising 27,000+ images & maps, animations, videos, audio files - Research Tools include: Compare Countries, This Day in History, Timelines, World Atlas, World Data Analyst, Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary, Merriam-Webster Online Thesaurus, Biographical dictionary, Quotations dictionary, headlines from major news outlets.
Britannica world data analyst
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1930-present available online:
User Guide
Index, data, full-text - analyze countries & regions at a glance: country snapshots, current & chronological comparisons + ranked statistics - produce detailed statistical comparisons for countries of the world using recent statistics & historical data; create tables or charts, then export data to a spreadsheet.
British Architectural Library catalogue
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1500-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - covers one of the top architectural collections in the world - comprises 4 million records describing 150,000+ books, articles from 2,000 scholarly & trade architectural journals, biographical files, audio visual materials - subjects: architecture of specific countries or regions, building types (e.g. churches, galleries & houses), town planning, sustainability, architectural law & practice -- RIBAPix indexes 90,000+ images in the photographs, drawings & manuscripts collections.
British history online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1300-1800 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - digital library comprising texts relating to the medieval & modern history of the United Kingdom & Ireland - also includes materials relating to Britain’s colonial history & British diplomacy abroad - focuses on the period 1300-1800; however, texts relating to everything from Roman & Anglo-Saxon Britain to the twentieth century may be found.
British Library newspapers. Part I,1800-1900
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-1899 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - full runs of 47 influential national & regional newspapers published in Victorian Britain: dailies, weeklies + penny papers - over 2.2 million pages of searchable digitized primary content covering 19th century English, Scottish & Irish life: politics, international affairs, business, sport, entertainment & the arts.
British newspaper archive
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1710-1956 available online.
User Guide
Index - browse / search this online collection of historical British & Irish newspapers, scanned in their original format - covers 650+ newspaper titles - Memorial University Libraries DO NOT SUBSCRIBE TO FULL-TEXT ARTICLES through the British Newspaper Archive -CONSULT your library to obtain copies of articles through our collections or document delivery.
British standards online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current standards available online:
Sale listings -- comprises 50,000+ records describing current & historic standards, books & related publications available at the BSI Shop -- When a required STANDARD IS NOT AVAILABLE in our collections, the Memorial University Libraries will RUSH acquire it for current MUN students, faculty & staff - CONTACT THE QEII LIBRARY at http://www.library.mun.ca/forms/recommend/
Buchhandel.de
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1750-present available online:
Sale Listings - comprises records describing 3+ million German language books, videos, CDs & DVDs, talking books, calendars, maps, magazines & software - provides ordering details: title, author, year, ISBN & pricing information.
Business market research collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1985-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Conduct company, industry, economic & geopolitical market research using: a. Hoover's Company Profiles (covering 40,000 global public & non-public companies, including financials, competitors, officers & more) - b. OxResearch (succinct articles on regional economic & political developments) – c. US Industry & Market Reports – d. Worldwide Industry & Market Reports (covering global industries in depth) – e. Snapshots (market research overviews on 40+ industries & 40 countries).
Business source complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1886-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 15+ million records describing scholarly & trade journal articles + full text financial data, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, investment & market research, industry & country reports + books, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings & more - covers all disciplines of business: marketing, management, information systems, purchasing, project management, accounting, finance & economics - profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database.

Return to Database Search