Search Results

Database Indexes by Title

D

Daily life online. World folklore and folklife
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1884-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Reference works covering international tales, myths, & urban legends, celebrations, rituals, food & drink, holidays, festivals, religion & belief, music & dance, traditional arts & crafts + thousands of classic folk tales: Hans Christian Andersen stories, Grimm's fairy tales, & folktales from around the world - Includes Aarne-Thompson Tale Type Numbers.
Daily life through history
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Full-text - Covers daily life across the globe and throughout history, including: arts, clothing, education, family life, food and drink, gender, politics, recreation, religion, science, social customs, warfare, and work - Includes primary documents, articles, encyclopedias, books, images, maps, and timelines.
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Database of books published in Spain
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1972-present available online:
User Guide
Sale listings - comprises 1,000,000+ records describing books published in Spain - can be searched by keyword, ISBN, author, title, subject, publisher, year of publishing or a combination of these terms.
Database of Mid-Victorian wood-engraved illustration

Coverage: 1860s-1870s available online:
User Guide
Welcome to the Database of Mid-Victorian Illustration (DMVI), which contains records and images of over 850 literary illustrations that were published in or around 1862. These illustrations provide bibliographical and iconographical details, as well as the ability for users to view images at exceptionally high quality. Access images by using a keyword search, advanced search, or browse through images by iconographic classification.
Defining gender
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1450-1910 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - history, literature, sociology & education from a gendered perspective: conduct & politeness, domesticity & the family, consumption & leisure, education & sensibility, and the body, including illustrated writings on anatomy & midwifery - includes 50,000+ primary documents from British archives + biographies, essays, an interactive chronology & popular searches.
deĢsLibris
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
Index, full-text - Open Access Documents from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres & other public interest groups - This collection represents the leading edge of primary research and opinion in all areas of Canadian public policy and health and medical research.
Dialnet
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Index - Over 2 million records in over 5,000 periodicals - Contains Spanish academic journals, theses and books in all fields of study - Limited full text and theses are available.
Dictionary of Canadian biography
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Years 1000-1930 + selected updated material available online:
Index, full-text - accounts of the lives of 8400 people who contributed significantly to the development of Canada - browse by name, occupation, region of birth or activity.
Dictionary of literary biography complete online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1978-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Over 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres - Includes content from the DLB main series, the DLB documentary series, and the DLB yearbook series.
Digital book index
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Index - Covers digital or electronic books distributed by both print and electronic publishers - Includes genres such as Adult, Professional, Business, Technical, Reference, and Children's books - Does not list databases, theses, dissertations, magazines, or other unpublished works.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
Digital National Security Archive
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1942-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text -- Covers critical post World War II international events, countries & U.S. foreign policy decisions -- Comprises 80,000+ declassified primary documents organized in 36 subject collections -- Includes glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, & photographs.
Digital Public Library of America
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Search engine - single point of access to millions of items including photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA's collections by timeline, map, format, and topic. Users can also save items to customized lists and share their lists with others.
Digital scriptorium
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 700-1700 available online:
User Guide
Images - database offering cross-institutional digital access to 70,000+ images from medieval & renaissance manuscripts - the Digital Scriptorium is designed to enhance knowledge & appreciation of the material through images that expand descriptions & correct their errors, through searches that provide answers & provoke questions, and through descriptions that share the demands & expertise of the library, academic & cultural communities.
Directory of history dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1873-present available online:
Index - covers 56,700+ dissertations completed or currently in progress at 202 academic history departments in Canada & the United States -- records include author, school, year, dissertation title & advisor for each PhD awarded -- search using any of these parameters, including keyword search for titles
Directory of Newfoundland and Labrador magazines
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1807-present available online:
Index - Includes magazines published in Newfoundland and held in the collections at the Centre for Newfoundland Studies at the Queen Elizabeth II Library and at the Provincial Resource Library in the Arts and Culture Centre in St. John's - Some magazines with only one or two issues have not been listed at this time.
Directory of open access books
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue, full text - discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license - searchable index to records describing 1,400+ OA books, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher's website or repository; browse the DOAB by title, subject, or publisher.
Directory of open access journals : DOAJ
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2000-present (some journal coverage starts earlier) available online:
Index, full-text - Covers 800,000+ articles from 7,800+ open access scientific / scholarly periodicals - DOAJ journals publish research or review papers in the humanities, social sciences, medicine, sciences or technology.
Directory of world cinema
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: ca.1906-one year ago available online:
This is a pre-print web-based database for content collection. Search or browse to explore the database and read film reviews featured in print volumes published so far.
Dissertation reviews
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage:
Features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences. The site offer readers a glimpse of each discipline's immediate present by focusing on the window of time between dissertation defense and first book publication. Dissertation Reviews also features reviews of and guides to archives, libraries, databases, and other collections where such dissertation research was conducted, to help scholars improve their ability to undertake current and future research.
DiVA : academic archive on-line
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
Index, abstracts - Includes bibliographic data for research publications and student theses written at 37 Scandinavian universities and colleges - Links to full text included when available.
Doctoral dissertations in musicology
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Theses and Dissertations - Over 12,000 records, updated periodically through the academic year - Includes records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
Dominion law reports plus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1912-present available online:
Full-text -- Online version of one of Canada's major law reports series -- Covers precedent-setting civil & criminal cases from all common law provinces & territories and cases of general interest from Quebec - Includes DLR Classification Scheme and Index for the 3rd & 4th DLR series.
DRAM
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1880-present available online:
User Guide
Index, streaming audio - access 4,600+ CD-quality albums documenting American music: folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic & beyond - music can be searched / browsed by work, performer or ensemble, album, track title, label & date of recording / composition - includes complete original liner notes + essays from independent record labels & sound archives + biographical & role information for some artists - DRAM gives priority to originality, artistic merit, historical interest, relevance to its collection & the opportunity to preserve, restore & disseminate music that would otherwise be difficult or impossible to obtain.
DTIC online : information for the defense community
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 2+ million records describing unclassified scientific & technical reports, patents, proceedings, or theses: military history, politics, biological & medical science, environmental pollution & control, behavioural & social science. Links to full-text when available.
DynaMed
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
Index, full-text - clinically-organized summaries for 3,200+ diseases, disorders & symptoms, with information on etiology, associated conditions, diagnosis, diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment & prevention - topically-driven menu allows physicians, medical students & other health care professionals to research high-end synthesized information from respected publications, associations & contributing clinicians - includes 800+ topic summaries on AHFS Drug Information - updated daily with content from 500+ medical journals.

Return to Database Search