Search Results

Database Indexes by Title

M

Management of the northern cod fishery : a guide to information sources
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1977-2017 available online:
Bibliography - guide for identifying & locating information resources that deal with the management of the Newfoundland cod fishery in the 2J3KL zone - majority of sources are of a social, political or economic nature, categorized by format & arranged chronologically or alphabetically depending on format.
Manuscriptorium
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1400s-present available online:
"The Manuscriptorium project is creating a virtual research environment providing access to all existing digital documents in the sphere of historic book resources (manuscripts, incunabula, early printed books, maps, charters and other types of documents). These historical resources, otherwise scattered in various digital libraries around the world, are now available under a single digital library interface. The service provides seamless access to more than 5 million digital images."
Marine technology abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1940-present available online:
Index, abstracts - comprises 125,000+ records describing technical articles, reports, books, conference & transaction papers, etc. covering all aspects of maritime technology: ship & vessel descriptions, design & construction; ship powering, equipment, maintenance, repair & conversion; cargo handling/port design & operation; safety at sea, marine pollution & environmental protection; coastal / ocean engineering; offshore technology; ship resistance & propulsion, motions, sea-keeping & maneuvering; corrosion & fouling - CONTACT YOUR LIBRARY BEFORE PAYING for any article linked from this database.
Materials science & engineering database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers new technologies & engineering research: civil, mechanical, chemical, environmental, energy, safety & transportation + engineering materials: metals, alloys, polymers, engineered ceramics, composites, biomaterials, corrosion, recycling, welding, etc - comprises 35+ million records describing journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, technical reports & other grey literature - includes 20+ million full-text resources.
MathSciNet
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1940-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 3.2+ million records describing journal articles, books/chapters, conference papers about the mathematical sciences - records include bibliographic citations, abstracts, reviews, references & links to full-text ; each is classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification - the MR Citation Database tracks citations by author or individual journal + highly cited articles by subject or year + analyses of journals by their Mathematical Citation Quotient.
Mechanical & transportation engineering abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1966-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers mechanical & transportation engineering, industrial & manufacturing processes, design principles, forensics, marketing of engineering services, and more - Comprises 6.8 million records describing articles in scholarly & trade journals, conference papers, technical reports, patents, books, etc.
MEDLINE complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1809-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 27+ million records describing journal articles on health, medicine, nursing, pre-clinical sciences, pharmacology, dentistry, genetics & genomics, neurology, molecular biology, microbiology, histology, veterinary medicine - full-text for 2,500+ journals is available.
MedPix
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Images - comprises 50,000+ radiographic & other medical image with accompanying descriptive text.
Mental measurements yearbook
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1938-present available online:
Index, full-text - guide to 3000+ contemporary testing instruments & 10,000+ consumer-oriented reviews for complete evaluation of tests - entries include purpose, author, publisher & scoring information + an edited review by a leading expert in the content area - tests cover educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, business & leadership.
Mergent online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2003-present available online:
U.S. company data - Covers 10,000 publicly traded U.S. companies and private companies from the Dun & Bradstreet Private Company Database - Includes SEC filings, annual reports, and select financial information - Also includes country profiles with statistical data.
Metacritic.com
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Metacritic compiles reviews from respected critics and publications for movies, DVDs, music, television and games.
MLA international bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1926-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers modern literatures worldwide, literary theory & criticism, linguistics, folklore, film / television / theatre, rhetoric & composition, history of the book - Comprises 2.2 million records describing scholarly research published in journal articles, books / chapters, dissertations, web sites - Search tools include Personal Names and Subject thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals database.
Modern world history online

Coverage: Mid 15th century-present available online:
Variable coverage - Includes subject entries, biographies, images, maps, charts, primary source documents, videos, and timelines - Covers the full scope of world history from the mid-15th century to the present.
Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1895-1976 available online:
User Guide
Index - Comprises records on reports, studies, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. by all US Federal government agencies - Includes information on agriculture; economics; energy; food; earth sciences; natural resources; technology developments; public policy; tax reform; business law; transport and infrastructure; health - Links provided when available.
Movie review query engine : MRQE
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1910-present available online:
Index, full-text - Internet’s most comprehensive collection of opinion about film: 1.0+ million reviews covering 119,000+ motion pictures - searchable index of published & available movie reviews + news, interviews & other movie-related material from international, national & local newspapers, arts & entertainment journals, blogs, etc.
Music & performing arts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1600-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text, streaming audio, streaming video - covers audio & video that spans all time periods + hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers & ensembles - cross-searches audio, video, scores & full-text reference content from all Alexander Street Press music & performing arts databases.
Music index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprehensive guide to periodicals & literature covering classical & popular music: all styles & genres of music, musicians & the music industry - cover-to-cover analysis of 475+ periodicals, supplemented with book reviews, obituaries, news & selective coverage from 230+ more periodicals.
Music Online. Classical music library
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 350 C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, streaming audio - classical music covering major genres & time periods from medieval to contemporary: choral works, symphonies, operas, avant-garde - provides musical sound recordings + MIDI files, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history & glossary) & images - browse / search using titles, instruments, performers / ensembles, time periods, publishers, composers, genres, people, release date, language, label, etc.
Music online. Contemporary world music
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, streaming audio - comprises 50,000 tracks that deliver world music from all regions in every continent - focuses on contemporary genres: reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing & jazz - also includes traditional world music: Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel & gagaku.
Music online. Smithsonian global sound for libraries
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, streaming audio -- virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical & aural traditions - streaming access to 44,000+ tracks from the Smithsonian archives & world music archives in Asia & Africa music - covers 169 countries, 1000+ genres / sub-genres, 1400+ cultural groups, 450+ languages - data on 100,000s of artists & ensembles - search / browse by title, instrument, performer / ensemble, publisher, people, cultural group, genre, place.
Music periodicals database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1874-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.3+ million records describing articles from 610 international music periodicals (scholarly & popular) - covers music education & performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, classical music & opera, jazz & blues, rock, soul & hip-hop, folk music, music business, sound recording, music therapy, instruments includes full-text for 225+ journals.
MyiLibrary
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects.

Return to Database Search