Search Results

Database Indexes by Title

P

PAB : Newfoundland periodical article bibliography
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1668-present available online:
Index - Bibliography covering more than 90,000 periodical articles relating to Newfoundland and Labrador -- Maintained by the Centre for Newfoundland Studies, Memorial University Libraries.
PAIS index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1915-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers international policy oriented literature: economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international relations, social policy, the environment, demography, public health, science & technology - Comprises 625,800 records describing journal articles, conference papers, books, government documents, statistical directories, and more.
PANGAEA : publishing network for geoscientific & environmental data

Coverage: 2000-present available online:
Catalogue - information system to archive, publish and distribute data from global change research with special emphasis on paleoclimatic, marine and environmental sciences.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals and papers - access more than 800,000 articles in thousands of journals from hundreds of disciplines from sciences, technology, medicine, to social sciences, to humanities and the arts.
Parker Library on the web
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 6th to 18th century available online:
User Guide
Index, images - Illuminated manuscripts + Anglo-Saxon, Anglo-Norman & Middle-English texts, and other manuscripts - Covers literature, theology, music, medieval travelogues & maps, apocalypses, bestiaries, royal ceremonies, historical chronicles & Bibles.
Passport
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1998-present available online:
User Guide
Statistics, full-text - online market research tool monitoring industry trends - global market analyses, data on business enterprises, consumer market sizes, country marketing data, marketing forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies & brands, business information sources, major market profiles - includes full-text of Euromonitor market research reports
Patentscope
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
This facility allows you to search a wealth of international patent applications and to view the latest information and documents available to the International Bureau.
Patrologia Latina : the full text database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1844-1865 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844-1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862-1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
PEDro : physiotherapy evidence database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1929-present available online:
Index and Abstracts - Over 17,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy - Trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality and assigned a rating based on their validity.
Periodicals archive online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1802-2002 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
Petroleum abstracts® Tulsa database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1961-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers worldwide petroleum exploration & production-related information: drilling, well completion, reservoir engineering, recovery methods, pipelining, shipping & storage, geology, geochemistry, geophysics, well logging, alternative fuels & energy sources, ecology & pollution, mineral commodities, energy economics - comprises 900,000+ records describing journal articles, papers, books, conference proceedings, government reports & patent filings.
Philosopher's index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1940-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers philosophy & its interdisciplinary fields: ethics, aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, political philosophy, social philosophy - Comprises 540,000+ records describing articles from 1,600+ journals + books, anthologies, encyclopedias, etc.
PhilPapers : philosophical research online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprehensive index covering 1 million philosophy articles, pre-prints and books - Philpapers' index and its archive are integrated with its structured bibliography which organizes most entries into 4,988 topics at different levels of generality.
PILOTS : published international literature on traumatic stress
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1871-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Over 41,000 records - Covers the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (PILOTS), including articles, books, theses, and reports on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health manifestations of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations.
Play index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1949-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers 30,000+ published plays from antiquity to present - Play titles, authors, subjects and genres - Casting and age limits - Includes links to find the play in a book and to find related Web resources.
Poems & poets
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, Full text -- Search for poems by poet, category, occasion, title, first line, glossary term, country or keyword - sponsored by the Poetry Foundation.
Political science database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1985-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - covers the literature of political science and international relations, including comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, & hundreds of related topics - indexes more that 500 publications, including 300 full-text scholarly journals.
Pop culture universe : icons, idols, ideas
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, full-text - explore topics related to American popular culture: music, television, film, art, fashion, recreation & sport - search or browse by decade, topic or subject - covers books & book chapters, newspaper & magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, biographies, maps, images, videos, primary documents & more.
POPLINE
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers population, family planning, and related health issues ? Includes 370,000+ records describing journal articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports - whenever possible, POPLINE provides links to free full-text in its records.
Powell's technical books
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Sale listings - New and used books in the areas of engineering and technology.
PQDT open
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Covers 28,000+ open access dissertations and theses - The authors of these dissertations have opted to publish their work as open access and make their research available for free on the open Web.
PRIMO : peer-reviewed instructional materials online database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2001-present available online:
Full-text - peer-reviewed instructional materials created by librarians to teach people about discovering, accessing and evaluating information in networked environments - tutorials cover a wide variety of topics from a general overview of the research process to the specifics of how to navigate a psychology database.
Prints & photographs online catalog

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Catalogue - Catalogue records and digital images held by the Prints & Photographs Division other units of the Library of Congress - Note that this is not an exhaustive listing of the holdings of the Prints & Photographs Division.
Proceedings.com
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2006-present available online:
Index - Extensive conference proceedings database, containing listings of thousands of printed conference publications from hundreds of technical associations and societies.
Project Gutenberg online book catalog
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Catalogue - Over 33,000 electronic books freely available to download in a variety of languages.
Project Muse
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - leading provider of digital humanities & social science content for the scholarly community - Complete, full-text articles in academic journals from 200+ university presses & learned societies + indexing for their scholarly books.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises records describing 5.1 million dissertations & theses covering all fields of study from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works; significant & growing international coverage - full-text for 2,100,000+ graduate works added since 1997 + selected full-text for works written prior to 1997 - dissertations include 350-word abstracts, July 1980- ; Master's theses include 150-word abstracts, 1988- ; otherwise brief bibliographic citations are provided - where available, links to 24-page previews of dissertations & theses are included.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The globe and mail
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1844 to 4 years ago available online:
Full Text, Images - Over 1.4 million pages from Canada's national newspaper - Coverage includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, birth and death notice, and more -- breadth / depth of content make it a vital tool for Canadian studies.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The Irish times and the Weekly Irish times
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1859 to 2 years ago available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - explore 150 years of Ireland's turbulent history, rich culture, & complex political climate - comprehensive news reporting, along with sports, business, arts, lifestyle coverage, & more from The Irish Times & its related periodicals.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The Toronto star
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1894 to 2 years ago available online:
Full Text - Includes every page of every newspaper issue: -news that shaped each day + editorial & opinion articles, business pages, political cartoons, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, birth & marriage notices - Browse by date or search by keyword(s) or phrase - Retrieves PDF images of relevant pages.
ProQuest social sciences premium collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1915-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Includes databases covering international literature in the social sciences: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts + International Bibliography of the Social Sciences + PAIS International + Worldwide Political Science Abstracts + Social Services Abstracts + Sociological Abstracts + ERIC + Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts + PILOTS ( Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) - Provides bibliographic access to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers.
PsycARTICLES
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1894-present available online:
Index, Abstracts, Full text - General psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology in areas including animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.
PsycBOOKS
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1600-present available online:
Full Text - more than 38,000 PDF chapters from over 2,500 psychology ebooks - hundreds of current APA books; 1,600+ classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology - 1,500 authored entries from the APA "Encyclopedia of Psychology".
PsycCritiques
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1956 to present available online:
Full Text - Book reviews covering more than 40,000 scholarly and professional books in psychology - Reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books.
PsycEXTRA
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1910 to present available online:
Index, Abstracts, Full Text - 170,000 records describing gray literature relating to psychology and the behavioral sciences - Technical, annual & government reports, conferences papers, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more.
PsychiatryOnline
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
PsychiatryOnline is a website that features DSM-IV-TR® and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Much more than individual titles, PsychiatryOnline features sophisticated searching and indexing tools that enable users to quickly target all the information needed.
Psychology & behavioral sciences collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1965-present available online:
Full Text - Over 560 journals - Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods - Full text publications are indexed in PsycINFO - Full text for some titles is delayed 6 months to 1 year.
PsycINFO
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1840-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science & mental health - Over 3 million records describing scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, reports, & dissertations.
Publications warehouse
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1880-present available online:
Variable coverage (some full text) - Over 75,000 citations - Covers publications of the United States Geological Survey (USGS) - Includes articles, books, book chapters, reports, maps, and other publications.
PubMed
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1948-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 24 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals - Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences - Includes links to databases and related resources from NCBI - Links to articles available though Memorial University Libraries have been added.
PubMed : [open access]
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1948-present available online:
User Guide
Variable coverage - Over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals - Covers medicine, biomedicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences - Includes links to databases and related resources from NCBI - Links to articles available though Memorial University Libraries have been added. [OPEN ACCESS version for REMOTE, NON-MUN users].
PubMed central : an archive of life science journals
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Full Text - Over 1000 journals - The U.S. National Institutes of Health free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature - Access to full text is free, except when a journal requires a subscription for access to recent articles.
PubMed dietary supplement subset
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
Index, abstracts - Over 730,000 article citations -- Covering use and function of vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition, fortification of foods with supplemental nutrients, nutrient composition of herbal and botanical products, and growth and production of herbal and botanical products.

Return to Database Search