Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Art and Architecture - Try These First |
|
| Art Discovery Group catalogue | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
|
| Catalogue - offers an art-focused research experience; the ADGC combines a database of records from art library catalogues + records from the SCIPIO database of art & rare book sales catalogues + additional art-focused WorldCat content from a multitude of online sources, journals, eBooks, databases, repositories - research resource for art-historical literature held in the finest art libraries worldwide: Europe, North America, Asia & Australia. | |
| Art index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1929-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers articles, book reviews, exhibit reviews, reproductions of works of art from over 600 academic & popular journals - Covers decorative, fine & commercial art, art history & criticism, archaeology, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, costume design, television & motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, digital art, video art, industrial design, architecture & architectural history, etc. | |
| British Architectural Library catalogue | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1500-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - covers one of the top architectural collections in the world - comprises 4 million records describing 150,000+ books, articles from 2,000 scholarly & trade architectural journals, biographical files, audio visual materials - subjects: architecture of specific countries or regions, building types (e.g. churches, galleries & houses), town planning, sustainability, architectural law & practice -- RIBAPix indexes 90,000+ images in the photographs, drawings & manuscripts collections. | |
| Humanities source ultimate | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1907-present available online: |
|
| Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research. | |
| Periodicals index online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665-2005 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index – Citations for millions of articles in the humanities and social sciences; includes three centuries of scholarly publications in over 60 languages and dialects. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
Art and Architecture - More Specifically |
|
| AATA online : abstracts of international conservation literature | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1880-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 138,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, books / chapters & technical reports - covers conservation, preservation & management of material cultural heritage: architectural heritage, archaeological sites, works of art, cultural objects & materials, production techniques & history of technology - browse using subject terms from the Getty Conservation Institute thesaurus; browse comprehensive subject-specific bibliographies produced for GCI’s conservation & scientific research projects. | |
| American bibliography of Slavic, East European and Eurasian studies : ABSEEES | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1939-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Subjects: anthropology; culture & the arts; economics; politics; education; and geography - Journal articles, books & their chapters, dissertations, online resources and government documents are indexed - See EBSEES for additional coverage. | |
| Arts & humanities database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals. | |
| BHA and RILA | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1975-2007 available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - covers scholarly writing about the history of European & American visual arts, including journal articles, conference papers, book, exhibition reviews & exhibition catalogues - searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title or other elements; index terms (descriptors) and abstracts may be in English or in French. | |
| Bibliography of Asian studies | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia - comprises 900,000+ records describing western-language journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast & South Asia - Subjects: philosophy, religion, literature, history, fine arts, music, theatre, architecture, anthropology, archaeology, economics, politics, sociology, environmental sciences, public health & medicine. | |
| Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1700-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - covers all aspects of Indigenous North American culture, history and life, 16th century to present. An essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians and policy makers. | |
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| Digital Commons network | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| Index, full-text – open access, peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. | |
| European bibliography of Slavic and East European studies : EBSEES = Bibliographie européenne des travaux sur l'ex-URSS et l'Europe de l'Est = Europäische Bibliographie zur Osteuropaforschung | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1991-2007 available online: |
|
| Index - Over 85,500 titles - Includes books, journal articles, reviews, and theses on Eastern Europe (former Communist countries) that were published in Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Great Britain, and Germany, the Netherlands and Switzerland - Covers the social sciences and humanities. | |
| Historical abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1955-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Abstracts - Discover significant, groundbreaking, academic works on world history (excluding North America) from 1450-present: search world, regional, country & local histories, military history, women's history, history of education, etc + historical period searching - Comprehensive coverage of articles from 2,300+ historical journals, books & dissertations - "CLIO Notes for Historical Abstracts" provide chronologies & brief summaries of significant events / themes in modern history. | |
| HLAS online : handbook of Latin American studies | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1935-present available online: |
|
| Index - Bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences & humanities - Covers books, journal articles, conference papers & electronic resources -- Over 5,000 records added each year. | |
| Index Islamicus | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1906-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers all aspects of Islam & the Muslim world: Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia & Africa, Muslim minorities elsewhere: archaeology, economics, education, geography, history, language, literature, media, philosophy, politics, religion, social sciences - Covers journal articles, conference papers, books/chapters. | |
| Index to art in Canada to 1930 | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1823-1930 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - covers 74,000 works of art listed in 380 Canadian exhibition, auction & collection catalogues - covers all catalogues dated before 1900 + all catalogues published by the National Gallery of Canada + unpublished checklists of exhibitions held at the Gallery, 1880-1930 + catalogues for exhibitions held outside the Gallery, 1900-1930 search by artist, name of work, medium & more. | |
| International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1951-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts – Social sciences material from over 100 countries. Includes anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies, and interdisciplinary fields. | |
| International medieval bibliography | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1967-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Covers 480,000+ scholarly articles, notes, and similar literature from journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays - Includes all subjects relating to the Middle Ages, within the date range 300-1500 and, geographically, within Europe, the Middle East and North Africa - The supplementary "Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale" covers books about the Medieval period. | |
| Italinemo : riviste di italianistica nel mondo | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 2000-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30,000+ records describing articles from 130 Italian & international periodicals that focus on Italian literary & cultural studies - find articles using the Ricerca Articoli search interface; find reviews using the Ricerca Recensioni interface - search all journals or individual titles from the Titolo rivista drop-down list ; use Italian keywords or select subjects from the Descrittori Lista. | |
| Pop culture universe : icons, idols, ideas | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - explore topics related to American popular culture: music, television, film, art, fashion, recreation & sport - search or browse by decade, topic or subject - covers books & book chapters, newspaper & magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, biographies, maps, images, videos, primary documents & more. | |
| ProQuest ebook central | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects. | |
| Slavistik Portal = Portal po Slavistike | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1790-present available online: |
|
| Index - central point of access for Slavistics online - simultaneously search dozens of essential bibliographic databases for Slavistics + major library catalogues - covers history, politics & ethnography of the Slavic countries / regions + Slavic languages, linguistics & literatures, slavic folklore in particular. | |
| Trove | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text – Australia’s free online research portal. A collaboration between the National Library of Australia and libraries, universities, museums, and archives. Includes digital copies of newspapers, books, photographs, archival and government documents, maps, and more. Can also be used to locate physical copies held in Australia. | |
| Women's studies international | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Covers women's studies, feminist research & related topics worldwide - Includes records for over 871,000 articles from 2000+ journals, newspapers, bulletins, books, conference proceedings, theses & dissertations, NGO studies, reports, Web sites & documents. | |
Art and Architecture - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - a multi-disciplinary database providing access to millions of articles from thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. | |
| Academic video online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Index, streaming video – Videos in all fields of study and research. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners. & Peabody winners. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - Record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century, many with links to full-text. | |
| BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text – Millions of records describing open access documents in thousands of institutional repositories, selected websites, and local data collections. | |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1789-present available online: |
|
| Index, selected full-text - Records for current and historical publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government, with links to many online publications. The database is updated daily and offers optional searches of records in the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials, and the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992]. | |
| DART-Europe E-theses portal | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online |
|
| Index, full-text - Research theses held in European repositories, with link to full-text of every thesis listed. | |
| Dialnet | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Index - Over 2 million records in over 5,000 periodicals - Contains Spanish academic journals, theses and books in all fields of study - Limited full text and theses are available. | |
| EHPS : European history primary sources | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 500-present available online: |
|
| Index - covers scholarly Web sites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe - each Web site has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source. | |
| Gale primary sources | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1400-2012 available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search engine – Coverage of scholarly literature in all disciplines, from academic publishers and organizations. Current Memorial students, faculty, and staff can set up full-text links in Google Scholar settings. In the Library Links box, search for Memorial University of Newfoundland – Get it @ Memorial. | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Varies by journal available online: |
User Guide |
| Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index – Records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies. Covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science, technology, transportation, infrastructure, and more. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| Periodicals archive online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1802-2002 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Full text - Complete digital backfiles for hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts – Records for academic journals, books, and conference proceedings published worldwide. Covers science, engineering, medicine, social science, social work, arts, and humanities. Includes Scopus AI. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts – Records for academic journals, books, and conference proceedings published worldwide. Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes Research Assistant, an AI tool. | |
| Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts – Indexes South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles. Covers: engineering, science, technology, general internal medicine, sports sciences, business, economics, public administration, history, arts and humanities. Includes Research Assistant, an AI tool. | |
| World Digital Library | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 8000 B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - Internet-based, easily-accessible collection of cultural treasures from countries & cultures around the world - Includes digitized primary materials: manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, sound recordings, films, prints, photographs, etc. - Navigation tools & content descriptions available in 7 languages; more languages represented by the digital artefacts. | |