Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Classics - Try These First

année philologique
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1924-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 836,000 records describing academic journal articles & books/chapters + 502,000 book reviews on Classical topics: Greek & Roman history, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science from the second millennium BCE to 800 CE + early Christian texts, patristics; numismatics, papyrology, epigraphy .
Humanities source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 3.5 million records describing scholarly sources in the humanities -- Covers feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
Loeb classical library

Coverage:
Loeb Classical Library is a digital library of more than 520 volumes of Greek and Latin texts with their English translations. Works of epic and lyric poetry, drama, history, philosophy, medicine, relgion, mathematics, and more are included in this resource. Bookmarking and annotation features are available to users.
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.

Classics - More Specifically

Ancient and medieval history online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-1500 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers eight civilizations: ancient Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece & Rome; ancient and medieval Africa; medieval Europe; the Americas; ancient and medieval Asia - Coverage spans prehistory through the 1500s, includes: biographies; primary sources; images; maps and charts; timelines.
Art index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1929-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers articles, book reviews, exhibit reviews, reproductions of works of art from over 600 academic & popular journals - Covers decorative, fine & commercial art, art history & criticism, archaeology, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, costume design, television & motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, digital art, video art, industrial design, architecture & architectural history, etc.
Arts & humanities database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals.
Cambridge histories online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1957-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Covers the 270+ volumes of Cambridge Histories reference books - Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
Classical works knowledge base
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
"The CWKB knowledge base assembles data about Classical works (1,550 authors and 5,200 texts, with variants forms in the main modern languages of Classical studies and common abbreviations). The knowledge base also contains the linking heuristics to the passage level for 6,732 manifestations of Classical works."
Daily life through history
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Full-text - Covers daily life across the globe and throughout history, including: arts, clothing, education, family life, food and drink, gender, politics, recreation, religion, science, social customs, warfare, and work - Includes primary documents, articles, encyclopedias, books, images, maps, and timelines.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
Early European books : printed sources to 1700
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Pre-1701 available online:
User Guide
Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through the close of the seventeenth century. The resource represents a diverse array of printed sources and opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books. All works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of the project, together with all pre-1701 works in European languages printed further afield. Builds upon and complements Early English Books Online (EEBO) and is largely concerned with non-Anglophone materials; however, books in English or printed in the English-speaking world that are already represented in EEBO are not omitted from Early European Books where they form an integral element of the predominantly non-Anglophone collections that have been made available for digital capture. Full-colour, high-resolution (400 ppi) facsimile images scanned directly from the original printed sources. Each item in the collection is c
Gale literary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Index, full-text - research authors & their works, literary movements & genres - cross-search fourteen Gale literary resources to find full-text literature criticism, reviews & overviews, journal articles & author biographical information: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Shakespeare Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Children’s Literature Review, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Something About the Author.
Gnomon online : the Eichstätt information system for classical studies
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
Full Text - Supplement to Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank on CD - Covers approximately 15% of the CD, including the complete set of entries from 1997 onwards.
Historische Bibliographie online : historische Bibliographie und Jahrbuch der historischen Forschung
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers literature in the field of history with strength in German publications -- journal articles, monographs & anthologies -- supplemented by the Jahrbuch detailing emergent, not yet published, research -- search interface / results in German
Index to Jewish periodicals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1988-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 230 journals devoted to Jewish history, activity and thought - intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.
International medieval bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1967-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers 480,000+ scholarly articles, notes, and similar literature from journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays - Includes all subjects relating to the Middle Ages, within the date range 300-1500 and, geographically, within Europe, the Middle East and North Africa - The supplementary "Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale" covers books about the Medieval period.
Iter bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1784-present available online:
Index - Over 1,250,000 citations to books, journal articles, reviews, bibliographies, exhibition catalogues, abstracts, discographies, and dissertations (published since 1990) - Covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Library of Latin texts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Click "Enter databases" button at right; then select database (either series A or series B).
Index, full-text - comprises texts from the beginning of Latin literature through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council - covers all works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, an extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas - presents complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux, Thomas a Kempis and more.
literary encyclopedia
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Index, full-text - literary reference work comprising 7,600+ authoritative profiles - world-wide coverage of literary & cultural history: individual authors or works + genres, concepts, movements, theories + national / regional developments - features author chronologies with historical context + customizable timelines, thematic or course-oriented bookshelves, related article clusters, critical bibliographies.
Nestor : bibliography of Aegean prehistory and related areas
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1959-present available online:
Index - searchable international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics & related fields - prehistoric period in the regions covered, from the Paleolithic through the end of the Geometric period - comprises 41,000+ bibliographic entries & 11,000+ reviews - some full-text links are provided.
Old Testament abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1978-present available online:
User Guide
Index. abstracts - Over 450 journals - Covers journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies - Topics include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology, and more.
Patrologia Latina : the full text database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1844-1865 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844-1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862-1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
Philosopher's index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1940-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers philosophy & its interdisciplinary fields: ethics, aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, political philosophy, social philosophy - Comprises 540,000+ records describing articles from 1,600+ journals + books, anthologies, encyclopedias, etc.
Tables of contents of journals of interest to classicists : TOCS-IN
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1992-present available online:
Index -- searchable tables of contents from 200 journals in classics & classical studies: archaeology, Greek, Roman & ancient Near East history, Greek & Latin linguistics & literature, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics & palaeography - covers 100,000 articles; fifteen percent of TOCS-IN entries link to the full-text of the articles.

Classics - Also to Consider

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
EHPS : European history primary sources
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 500-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers scholarly Web sites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe - each Web site has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source.
Gale primary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-2012 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varies by journal available online:
User Guide
Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years.
LexisNexis academic
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Now known as Nexis Uni. Index, full-text - Access news, business & legal sources using a variety of flexible search options -- Covers 15,000+ sources: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, selected reference works.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts.
Periodicals archive online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1802-2002 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.