Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Communications Studies - Try These First |
|
| Communication abstracts | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1978-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprehensive source covering journal articles on communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields - Covers 244,000+ records from over 300 publications world-wide. | |
| Film & television literature index with full text | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1913-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Covers more than 400 journals + books - Film & television theory, reviews, preservation & restoration, screen-writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects - Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present - Over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive. | |
| Linguistics & language behavior abstracts | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1973-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - International coverage of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, geographical & anthropological linguistics & language sciences: phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, discourse analysis, nonverbal communication, learning disabilities, psycholinguistics - Includes 460,000+ descriptions of journal articles, books / chapters, reviews, & dissertations - Thesaurus comprising 3,700+ index terms available online. | |
| Linguistics abstracts online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1985-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - comprises 120,000+ abstracts describing scholarly articles from 800 linguistics journals - essential tool for linguistics scholars: writing papers, preparing teaching materials, compiling bibliographies, checking references, keeping up-to-date with emerging trends & important developments in the field. | |
| Linguistics database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts -- comprises 85,000+ records describing journal articles & other sources in linguistics -- covers all aspects of the study of language: phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax & semantics -- provides full-text content for 163 linguistics journals + thousands of relevant theses & working papers | |
| Pop culture universe : icons, idols, ideas | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - explore topics related to American popular culture: music, television, film, art, fashion, recreation & sport - search or browse by decade, topic or subject - covers books & book chapters, newspaper & magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, biographies, maps, images, videos, primary documents & more. | |
| Underground & independent comics, comix, and graphic novels | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1950-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Full-text - scholarly online collection of adult comic books & graphic novels - includes original material along with interviews, commentary, theory, & criticism from journals, books, & magazines. | |
Communications Studies - More Specifically |
|
| Academic search complete | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| Alternative press index | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1969-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 900,000+ records describing journal, newspaper, & magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals - provides access to emerging theories & practices of radical social change, socialism and revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. | |
| Alternative press index archive | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1969-1990 available online: |
|
| Index - Over 474,000 records - Includes citations for journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals dealing with emerging theories and practices of radical social change - International and interdisciplinary coverage. | |
| Arts & humanities database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1945-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals. | |
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| Complete broadcasting industry guide : television, radio, cable & streaming | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Current |
|
| The Complete Broadcasting Industry Guide: Television, Radio, Cable & Streaming provides comprehensive television, radio, cable and streaming industry information for Canadian and U.S. markets, including market areas, call letter lists, station profiles, ownership, programming, technical specs, professional services, training, and more. The "Introductory material" section includes a detailed Chronology of Electronic Media from 1666; regulatory information; glossary; abbreviations; and short features about video games, streaming, and generative AI. | |
| CompPile : an inventory of publications in writing studies, including post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse analysis : 1939-current | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1939-present available online: |
|
| Index - an inventory of publications in writing studies, including postsecondary composition, rhetoric, technical writings, ESL and discourse analysis - includes research bibliographies - provides citations to published works and links to free Web resources. For most book or article results, look up book or article in Summon. | |
| Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) | |
Coverage: |
|
| The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)—representing the full panoply of American regional vocabulary, from Adam’s housecat to Zydeco—has long been consulted by a wide range of scholars and lovers of language and regional nuance. This digital version transforms the dictionary into an interactive, multimedia tool that will greatly benefit both scholarly inquiry and general intellectual curiosity. | |
| Humanities & social sciences index retrospective | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1907-1984 available online: |
|
| Index - Academic & popular journals covering all humanities & social sciences research areas - Covers 1,300,000 articles from nearly 1,200 English-language | |
| Humanities source ultimate | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1907-present available online: |
|
| Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research. | |
| Social science database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - Covers scholarly articles from 570 journals in the social sciences: Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Political science, Psychology, Social work, Sociology - more than 340 available in full text. | |
| Telecommunications database | |
Coverage: 1995- |
|
| This database is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology. Whether you’re looking for the latest news on WAP technology, following market penetration of new technologies, or gathering information about the key players in this field, ProQuest Telecommunications helps you stay one step ahead. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. Search more than 600,000 records, dating back to the early 1990's. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
Communications Studies - Also to Consider |