Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Computer Science and Engineering - Try These First

ACM digital library
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1947- available online:
User Guide
This site provides full text access to every article ever published by the ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
ACM guide to computing literature
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1947-present available online:
Index, abstracts - comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing - comprises 2.6+ million records describing journal articles, books, conference papers, dissertations, theses & technical reports from the Association for Computing Machinery and 3,000+ other computing publishers - includes all content from the ACM Full-Text Collection ++ citations with links, where possible, to other computing publications.
Computing database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 4.9+ million records describing articles covering computer topics from 450 scholarly & trade journals, consumer magazines & news wires: computer games, graphics, hardware, networks, programming, security, software + artificial intelligence, database design & management, electronic data processing, information science & information theory, Internet & web commerce - includes full-text from 350 journals.
IEEE Xplore
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Full content 1988-present ; select IEEE content 1913-1987; select IET content 1965-1987 available online:
User Guide
Standards and Full Text - Over 1 million full text articles from over 12,000 publications - Includes access to literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related fields - Contains IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
MathSciNet
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1940-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 3.2+ million records describing journal articles, books/chapters, conference papers about the mathematical sciences - records include bibliographic citations, abstracts, reviews, references & links to full-text ; each is classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification - the MR Citation Database tracks citations by author or individual journal + highly cited articles by subject or year + analyses of journals by their Mathematical Citation Quotient.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.

Computer Science and Engineering - More Specifically

Abstracts in new technology & engineering
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1981-present available online:
Index, abstracts -- monitors U.K. & U.S. publications on computing technologies, electronics, medical technology, engineering (chemical, civil, electrical, food, marine, mechanical, petroleum) -- covers 350 trade & academic periodicals + conference proceedings, technical reports, books.
ArXiv.org
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1991-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Open access to 1,258,750+ e-prints in physics & related disciplines, mathematics, statistics, computer science (from the Computing Research Repository), quantitative biology & quantitative finance - provides links to bibliographic references & citations via the INSPIRE and the ADS databases.
Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
Career & technical education database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 5+ million records describing articles from full-text journals, magazines & blogs offering career advice & comprehensive trade / industry knowledge + tools & resources for landing a job - covers technical, business & health fields.
CiteSeerX : scientific literature digital library and search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Covers literature in computer and information science - Provides resources such as algorithms, data, metadata, services, techniques, and software that can be used to promote other digital libraries - Includes over 750,000 documents.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
Engineering village
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1884-present available online:
Index, abstracts - comprises 22+ million records describing research articles from 5,000+ engineering journals, conference proceedings, theses, patents & technical reports - covers all aspects of engineering & applied sciences.
IBM redbooks
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2000-present available online:
Index, full-text - access the IBM how-to books known as Redbooks, Redguides, Redpapers, Technotes, etc. - covers computing installation & implementation experiences, typical solution scenarios & step-by-step how-to guidelines - often include sample code & other support materials that are available as downloads from the site.
IBM technical paper search
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1995-present available online:
Index, abstracts, full-text - covers technical papers written by members of the IBM Research community - subjects: computer science & engineering, chemistry, materials science, mathematics, physics & electrical / systems engineering - most papers available as full-text preprints.
Materials science & engineering collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers new technologies & engineering research: civil, mechanical, chemical, environmental, energy, safety & transportation + engineering materials: metals, alloys, polymers, engineered ceramics, composites, biomaterials, corrosion, recycling, welding, etc - comprises 35+ million records describing journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, technical reports & other grey literature - includes 20+ million full-text resources.
SIAM e-books
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2011-present available online:
Access to approximately 400 books published by SIAM over the past five decades.
Synthesis digital library of engineering and computer science
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Index - Full text - An information service for the research, development, and educational community in engineering and computer science. Contains 50- to 100-page self-contained electronic documents--lectures, which are organized into a hierarchical structure of disciplines and series. Each is authored by a prominent contributor to the field.

Computer Science and Engineering - Also to Consider

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
Annual reviews
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1932-present available online:
Index, full-text - comprises thousands of useful, intelligent syntheses covering significant primary research literature from 45 disciplines in the biological, medical, physical & social sciences - comprehensive, timely critical reviews that identify the principal contributions of any field and help researchers maintain current awareness in their field.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
Catalog of U.S. government publications
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1789-present available online:
User Guide
Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992].
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Federal Science Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1600-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - search library records from Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Environment & Climate Change Canada, Fisheries & Oceans Canada [WAVES], Health Canada, National Research Council Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada - covers books & e-books, journals & e-journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, standards … on environmental, physical & life sciences, fisheries & aquaculture, food & agriculture, earth sciences, forestry, geology, engineering & applied sciences, ocean & nautical sciences, technology, medicine & health sciences, business.
Google patents
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1782-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - comprises 87+ million records describing patents / patent applications from 17 patent offices around the world - includes patent summary, claims, drawings, citations & referenced by notes + full-text - to facilitate prior art searching, Google Patents links to copies of technical documents & books in Google Scholar or Google Books - patents & supporting documents with non-English text are machine-translated to English & indexed - patent documents are machine-classified using the Cooperative Patent Classification to facilitate patent searching / finding.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
LexisNexis academic
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Now known as Nexis Uni. Index, full-text - Access news, business & legal sources using a variety of flexible search options -- Covers 15,000+ sources: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, selected reference works.
National Academies Press
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1930-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - 9,000 full-text books & technical reports from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering & Medicine - authoritative information on important matters in the social, biological, physical & applied sciences, engineering, medicine, business & education.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
Web of science. SciELO citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.
WorldWideScience.org
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1930-present coverage available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts -- Global science gateway cross-searching 100+ U.S. & international scientific databases from over 70 countries - Covers fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment & basic sciences - links to full-text when available.