Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Criminology - Try These First

CriminalSource
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1898-present available online:
User Guide
Criminal Source provides search access to criminal, constitutional, evidence, and immigration cases from all Canadian jurisdictions. Primary sources include case law and legislation.
Legal source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 2.5 million records describing scholarly articles, case citations, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, periodicals and more - covers current issues, studies & trends in the legal world: criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment & more - the collection includes 1,200+ full-text scholarly law journals
NCJRS abstracts database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - 220,000+ summaries describing resources in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service library collection - includes government documents, books, research reports, journal articles & unpublished research - covers: corrections, courts, crime & crime prevention, drugs & substance abuse, law enforcement & the justice system, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness & victims.
Oxford bibliographies. Criminology
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of crime as a social phenomenon. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.

Criminology - More Specifically

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Campbell library. Campbell systematic reviews
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
Index, full-text - peer-reviewed online monograph series of systematic reviews -- reviews follow structured guidelines & standards for summarizing the international research evidence on the effects of interventions in crime & justice, education, international development & social welfare.
Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
Criminal justice database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1981-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprehensive international database covering 250+ criminal justice journals: criminology, law enforcement, corrections administration, addiction & drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, industrial security.
ICPSR bibliography of data-related literature
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1962-present available online:
User Guide
Index, data - continuously-updated database comprising 60,000+ records describing works which used data - covers journal articles, books, book chapters, government & agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts, magazine & newspaper articles, audiovisual materials - links to the data used in the reports are also provided.
Index to Canadian legal literature : ICLL
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Aug. 1985-present available online:
Index -- covers Canadian secondary legal literature including articles, case comments & annotations from 220+ Canadian legal / law-related journals + books, essays, government publications, theses, audio-visual materials, continuing legal education materials from law societies, working papers from law faculties & legal research institutes –- in English & French.
International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1951-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - International perspective on social sciences research: anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies + interdisciplinary fields - Over 2.5 million records describing materials from 100 countries and in 60 languages: journal articles, books / selected chapters, reviews.
John Johnson collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1500s-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Comprises more than 60,000 records describing print ephemera: 20,700 pieces of theatrical & non-theatrical ephemera from the Nineteenth-Century Entertainment category, 11,700+ items from the Book-trade category, 11,200+ Popular Prints, 22,400+ items from Advertising and over 1,500 from Crimes, Murders and Executions offers unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the 18th - early 20th centuries.
PsycINFO
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1840-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science & mental health - Over 3 million records describing scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, reports, & dissertations.
Social science database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Covers scholarly articles from 570 journals in the social sciences: Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Political science, Psychology, Social work, Sociology - more than 340 available in full text.
Social services abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1979-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 162,000+ records describing journal articles, dissertations, & book reviews - links to current research focused on social work, family & social welfare, poverty & homelessness, addiction, gerontology, violence, abuse, & neglect, community & mental health services.
SocINDEX with full text
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1940-present available online:
Index, abstracts - Covers sociology and closely related areas of study: abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Sociological abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1952-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - In-depth, non-evaluative records describing journal articles & book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications + abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, & conference papers - Covers international literature of sociology, including crime, demography, ethnic relations, family & social welfare, substance abuse, social planning, social psychology, violence, etc.

Criminology - Also to Consider

ABC CLIO eBook collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1991-present available online:
Index, full-text - covers 900+ online encyclopedias covering historical & cultural topics: American & world history + current events & issues, geography & world cultures, popular culture, folklore & mythology, religion, society & education, gender studies, crime & punishment, politics, law & government, business, the environment, physical & mental health.
Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
Catalog of U.S. government publications
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1789-present available online:
User Guide
Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992].
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
EHPS : European history primary sources
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 500-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers scholarly Web sites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe - each Web site has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1895-1976 available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more .
Open Knowledge Repository
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1978-present available online:
Index, full-text - large source for open access development knowledge - covers economics, agriculture, education, business, environment, social sciences, technology, aspects of development, etc.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
Web of science. SciELO citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.