Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Education and Teaching - Try These First

Education database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1988-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, some full-text - Covers the field of education: primary, secondary, and higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, & hundreds of related topics - access over 1,090 top educational publications, including more than 800 of the titles in full text.
Education source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4 million records describing scholarly/practical journal articles concerning all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, as well as educational specialties such as Student Counseling, Testing, Vocational Education, Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Social Issues, Health Education - includes full-text for 1,700+ English-language journals, 550+ books & monographs & education-related conference papers - 100,000 controlled & cross-referenced names of educational tests.
ERIC : [via Ebsco]
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1966-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.6+ million records (370,000 with full-text) describing information sources on teaching, learning & research in education: journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses & dissertations, research reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, monographs - many ERIC documents [labeled ED] are available online ; others are stored in microfiche in the QEII Library, Room-L1012.
ERIC : [via ProQuest]
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1966-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.6+ million records (370,000 with full-text) describing information sources on teaching, learning & research in education: journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses & dissertations, research reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, monographs - many ERIC documents [labeled ED] are available online ; others are stored in microfiche in the QEII Library, Room-L1012.

Education and Teaching - More Specifically

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Campbell library. Campbell systematic reviews
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
Index, full-text - peer-reviewed online monograph series of systematic reviews -- reviews follow structured guidelines & standards for summarizing the international research evidence on the effects of interventions in crime & justice, education, international development & social welfare.
Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
Career & technical education database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 5+ million records describing articles from full-text journals, magazines & blogs offering career advice & comprehensive trade / industry knowledge + tools & resources for landing a job - covers technical, business & health fields.
Children's literature comprehensive database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1993-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text -- over 400,000 critical reviews supplied by 40+ quality review sources -- covers children's books ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels & nonfiction for young adults; from ancient fables to graphic novels -- also covers Awards, Honors, Prizes, Best Books & State Reading Lists -- identify children's books by reading, interest, age, class & lexile levels, as well as topic.
Counseling and psychotherapy transcripts, client narratives, and reference works
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - real transcripts of more than 2000 therapy & counseling sessions, first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, & content from 50 reference works to contextualize the primary material. The database currently includes approximately 61,900 pages of material, including more than 14,000 pages of session transcripts, more than 22,000 pages of client narratives, and more than 24,000 pages of secondary reference material
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
Educational media reviews online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1984-present available online:
Index, full-text - more than 6000 reviews covering educational videos, DVDs & CD-ROMs written primarily by librarians and teaching faculty in institutions across the United States and Canada - ratings include: recommended, highly recommended or not recommended.
ERIC : [Education Resources Information Center]
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1966-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.6+ million records (370,000 with full-text) describing information sources on teaching, learning & research in education: journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses & dissertations, research reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, monographs - many ERIC documents [labeled ED] are available online ; others are stored in microfiche in the QEII Library, Room-L1012.
HEDBIB : international bibliographic database on higher education
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
Index - covers 25,000+ references on higher educations systems, administration, planning & policy, costs & finances, evaluation of higher education, issues relative to academic staff & students, academic cooperation, academic mobility & equivalences of degrees, higher education trends, curriculum, teaching methods and learning processes.
IGI Global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2000-present available online:
Index, full-text - collection comprising 3,700+ information science & technology e-books, reference books, encyclopedias, multi-volume publications, case studies & proceedings - 87,000+ peer-reviewed chapters on computing & information technology + IT applications in Business, Education. Engineering, Environment, Government, Libraries, Media & Communications, Medicine & Healthcare, Security & Forensics, Social Sciences & Online Behavior.
Index to Canadian legal literature : ICLL
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Aug. 1985-present available online:
Index -- covers Canadian secondary legal literature including articles, case comments & annotations from 220+ Canadian legal / law-related journals + books, essays, government publications, theses, audio-visual materials, continuing legal education materials from law societies, working papers from law faculties & legal research institutes –- in English & French.
Kids InfoBits
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1989-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - research database for students in kindergarten through grade 5 with full text age-appropriate access to newspapers, magazines & selected reference materials - provides information on current events, the arts, science, health, sports, etc.
LearnTechLib : the learning and technology library
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present (selected coverage) available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - research, developments, applications in educational technology and e-learning - journal articles, conference papers from the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education.
Mental measurements yearbook
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1938-present available online:
Index, full-text - guide to 3000+ contemporary testing instruments & 10,000+ consumer-oriented reviews for complete evaluation of tests - entries include purpose, author, publisher & scoring information + an edited review by a leading expert in the content area - tests cover educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, business & leadership.
MyiLibrary
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects.
National Council of Teachers of English : NCTE
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1912-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers content from all NCTE journals + all files on the web sites of the NCTE, ReadWriteThink, Literacy Coaching Clearinghouse & the National Center for Literacy Education (NCLE) - subjects: teaching / learning of English, reading, literacy & language arts at all levels of education.
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
PsycINFO
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1840-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science & mental health - Over 3 million records describing scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, reports, & dissertations.
Research in context
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
Index, full-text - Covers cultures, government, people, history, sports, geography, literature, science & social issues - Includes books, images, biographies, audio, video, magazines, newspapers, creative works, primary sources - 300 topic pages & overviews for subjects & social issues most studied by junior high students - science experiments - contextual information for key works & documents.
SAGE research methods
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1976-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Explore methods & concepts to help design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct research, write up findings - Focusing on research methodology, SRM can be used for the social sciences, health sciences, and more - comprises 175,000 pages of Sage book, journal & reference content.
Something about the author online
Internet access available to MUN user only.
Coverage: 1700-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 20,000+ articles examining the lives & works of authors / illustrators for children & young adults - includes illustrated biographies, literature criticism, reviews & news, topic & work overviews, primary sources & literary works, multimedia.
TeachingBooks.net : author & book resources to support reading education
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text, streaming media - searchable collection comprising thousands of resources on fiction & nonfiction books used in the K-12 environment - guides to thousands of books, original movies of authors & illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings + a wealth of multimedia resources on literature for children's & young adults for use in reading & library activities.
TestLink : world's largest test collection database
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Early 1900s to present available online:
Index - 25,000+ tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS - makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers.
TumbleBook library
Available on Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries website. Login using an NLPL card number and PIN.
Coverage: 1900-present available online.:
Index, full-text -- TumbleBooks: animated, talking picture books including fiction, non-fiction & foreign language titles + Read-Alongs: chapter books with sentence highlighting & narration + e-books to read online + Tumble Puzzles & Games + National Geographic videos & games + French & Spanish language materials.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.

Education and Teaching - Also to Consider

American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
Britannica academic edition
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Search & read over 73,000 articles from the Encyclopedia Britannica + articles from 700 periodicals + ebooks & primary sources selected from Project Gutenberg + links to a Media Collection comprising 27,000+ images & maps, animations, videos, audio files - Research Tools include: Compare Countries, This Day in History, Timelines, World Atlas, World Data Analyst, Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary, Merriam-Webster Online Thesaurus, Biographical dictionary, Quotations dictionary, headlines from major news outlets.
Directory of open access journals : DOAJ
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 2000-present (some journal coverage starts earlier) available online:
Index, full-text - Covers 800,000+ articles from 7,800+ open access scientific / scholarly periodicals - DOAJ journals publish research or review papers in the humanities, social sciences, medicine, sciences or technology.
Federal Science Library
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1600-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - search library records from Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Environment & Climate Change Canada, Fisheries & Oceans Canada [WAVES], Health Canada, National Research Council Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada - covers books & e-books, journals & e-journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, standards … on environmental, physical & life sciences, fisheries & aquaculture, food & agriculture, earth sciences, forestry, geology, engineering & applied sciences, ocean & nautical sciences, technology, medicine & health sciences, business.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Google scholar : [open access]

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users.
International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1951-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - International perspective on social sciences research: anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies + interdisciplinary fields - Over 2.5 million records describing materials from 100 countries and in 60 languages: journal articles, books / selected chapters, reviews.
Journal citation reports
Internet access available on campus only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, data - citation data for journal evaluation: quantifiable statistical data providing a systematic, objective way to evaluate & compare journals using citation data drawn from ~12,000 scholarly & technical journals / conference proceedings from 60+ countries - JCR covers all specialties in science, technology & social sciences - provides dynamic, interactive features supported by visualizations of JCR indicators that facilitate evaluations of published research in varying fields.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
National Academies Press
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1930-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - 9,000 full-text books & technical reports from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering & Medicine - authoritative information on important matters in the social, biological, physical & applied sciences, engineering, medicine, business & education.
Non-governmental organizations search
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
Index, full-text – custom search covering content from 1,100+ web sites of international & non-governmental (NGOs) or civil society (CSOs) organizations.
Open Knowledge Repository
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1978-present available online:
Index, full-text - large source for open access development knowledge - covers economics, agriculture, education, business, environment, social sciences, technology, aspects of development, etc.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals and papers - access more than 800,000 articles in thousands of journals from hundreds of disciplines from sciences, technology, medicine, to social sciences, to humanities and the arts.
PQDT open
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Covers 28,000+ open access dissertations and theses - The authors of these dissertations have opted to publish their work as open access and make their research available for free on the open Web.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.
ProQuest social sciences premium collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1915-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Includes databases covering international literature in the social sciences: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts + International Bibliography of the Social Sciences + PAIS International + Worldwide Political Science Abstracts + Social Services Abstracts + Sociological Abstracts + ERIC + Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts + PILOTS ( Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) - Provides bibliographic access to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Teacher reference center
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1984-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers articles from 280+ peer-reviewed education journals & magazines - topics include assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, science & mathematics, and more.
Trove
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
Web of science. SciELO citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.
WorldWideScience.org
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1930-present coverage available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts -- Global science gateway cross-searching 100+ U.S. & international scientific databases from over 70 countries - Covers fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment & basic sciences - links to full-text when available.