Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Engineering, Civil - Try These First |
|
| Civil engineering database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Journals: 1956-present; Books: 1900-present; Conferences: 1983-present available online: |
|
| Index, limited Full Text - Indexes all ASCE publications: bibliographic records, journal articles, and conference papers - Limited full text links available for articles. | |
| Engineering village | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1884-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - comprises 22+ million records describing research articles from 5,000+ engineering journals, conference proceedings, theses, patents & technical reports - covers all aspects of engineering & applied sciences. | |
| Materials science & engineering collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1950-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers new technologies & engineering research: civil, mechanical, chemical, environmental, energy, safety & transportation + engineering materials: metals, alloys, polymers, engineered ceramics, composites, biomaterials, corrosion, recycling, welding, etc - comprises 35+ million records describing journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, technical reports & other grey literature - includes 20+ million full-text resources. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts – Records for academic journals, books, and conference proceedings published worldwide. Covers science, engineering, medicine, social science, social work, arts, and humanities. Includes Scopus AI. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts – Records for academic journals, books, and conference proceedings published worldwide. Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes Research Assistant, an AI tool. | |
Engineering, Civil - More Specifically |
|
| AccessEngineering | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2000-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises 6,000+ chapters from 700 McGraw-Hill handbooks & textbooks, including Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, & more - also includes interactive tables & graphs + 800 instructional videos to reinforce key engineering concepts. | |
| ADA: Arctic Discovery and Access | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Records describing peer-reviewed publications, government and industry reports, conference proceedings, posters, news articles, photos, maps, field journals, films, and descriptions of field research projects related to northern Canada and the circumpolar Arctic. Subjects include marine, biological and health sciences, engineering, technology, politics, economics, social conditions, land use, Indigenous peoples, traditional knowledge, archaeology, history, art, and literature. Also searches the Arctic Institute of North America's archives, special collections, and artwork, which includes paintings, drawings, sculpture, artefacts, and faunal materials. | |
| Agricultural & environmental science collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1660-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - cross-disciplinary resource indexing the global literature of environmental sciences & agricultural research - covers academic & trade journal articles, conference proceedings, government publications, technical reports, working papers, magazines, newspapers, wire feeds & other resources - full text is provided for much of AESD's content. | |
| Arctic & Antarctic regions | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1800-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Over 1 million records - describing articles, reports and books on cold regions. Covers temperate latitudes with cold winters, to the Himalayas and the poles. | |
| ASME digital collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers papers/chapters published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers: aerospace, applied mechanics, biomechanical & biomedical, boilers & pressure vessels, building & construction, power & fuels, design, dynamic systems & control, energy, environmental. fluids, heat transfer, internal combustion engines, manufacturing & processing, nanotechnology, noise control & acoustics, nondestructive evaluation, nuclear engineering, ocean, offshore & arctic engineering, pipeline & piping systems, renewable energy, robotics & mechatronics, transportation, tribology - Access full-text of all ASME journals [1960- ] & conferences [2002- ] + ASME Press books [1993- ]. | |
| Business source complete | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1886-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 15+ million records describing scholarly & trade journal articles + full text financial data, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, investment & market research, industry & country reports + books, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings & more - covers all disciplines of business: marketing, management, information systems, purchasing, project management, accounting, finance & economics - profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. | |
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| Career & technical education database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1970-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 5+ million records describing articles from full-text journals, magazines & blogs offering career advice & comprehensive trade / industry knowledge + tools & resources for landing a job - covers technical, business & health fields. | |
| Computer science database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1970-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 4.9+ million records describing articles covering computer topics from 450 scholarly & trade journals, consumer magazines & news wires: computer games, graphics, hardware, networks, programming, security, software + artificial intelligence, database design & management, electronic data processing, information science & information theory, Internet & web commerce - includes full-text from 350 journals. | |
| CSA OnDemand (no IT) | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Complete CSA Collection (No IT): In This collection you will find, with the exception of IT and Telecommunication standards, a collection of all CSA's standards and standards-related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries. | |
| Digital Commons network | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| Index, full-text – open access, peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. | |
| DTIC online : information for the defense community | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 2+ million records describing unclassified scientific & technical reports, patents, proceedings, or theses: military history, politics, biological & medical science, environmental pollution & control, behavioural & social science. Links to full-text when available. | |
| Encyclopedia of life support systems | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2004-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - compendium of twenty multi-volume encyclopedias covering trans-disciplinary relationships between nature & human society - disciplinary & interdisciplinary articles cover environmental & health aspects of the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, engineering & technology ; discuss effective approaches for managing natural resources like renewable & non-renewable energy, biodiversity, ecology, hydrology, health, agriculture & more. | |
| GeoRef | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1669-present (North America); 1933-present (rest of the world) available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - 3.4+ million records describing articles from 3,500 journals as well as books/chapters, maps, geological survey documents & society reports, conference papers, theses / dissertations, etc. - covers all the geosciences: areal, economic, engineering, environmental, extraterrestrial, structural & surficial geology, geochemistry & geophysics, hydrogeology & hydrology, marine geology & oceanography, mineralogy & crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology & stratigraphy. | |
| GeoScienceWorld | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1890-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - access scholarly journals produced by leading earth science societies & research institutes - offers specialized & graphical searching capabilities which are linked & inter-operable with the GeoRef bibliographic search database - MUN Libraries offer full-text access to GSW journals only. | |
| GreenFILE | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1910-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 538,000+ records describing well-researched scholarly articles, government & industry reports, & general-interest publications concerning human impacts on the environment - Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, environmental education, law, health &technology - Includes Open Access full text for more than 5,800 items. | |
| IEEE Xplore | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: Full content 1988-present ; select IEEE content 1913-1987; select IET content 1965-1987 available online: |
User Guide |
| Standards and Full Text - Over 1 million full text articles from over 12,000 publications - Includes access to literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related fields - Contains IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. | |
| IHS engineering360 | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current available online: |
|
| Search Engine - critical engineering content, information, insight, tools & community for engineers & technical professionals - News & Analysis: authoritative coverage of industry/market news, insights & critical information - Products & Suppliers: data on 122 million parts from suppliers across the industrial sector, searchable by specification - Reference Library: access 95 million engineering documents, technical articles, reports, publications, patents & e-books - Standards Directory - Engineering Community: offering forums, blogs & related resources. | |
| INIS repository | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1946-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 3.8+ million records describing journal articles, research & development reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations & standards on nuclear science & technology + environmental, economic & health effects of nuclear energy: nuclear reactors, reactor safety, nuclear fusion, nuclear chemistry, nuclear physics, materials science + applications of radiation & radioisotopes in medicine, agriculture, industry & pest control. | |
| Knovel | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1975-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Full-text - Content from 3,600 leading engineering reference works & databases covering 28 technology subjects unmatched depth & breadth of validated engineering content aggregated from 90+ international publishers & professional societies - data analytics enable detailed property & material/substance searches. | |
| National Service Center for Environmental Publications | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1950-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - search, retrieve, download, print technical, scientific & educational publications from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) - includes 7,000+ print & 35,000+ digital documents, including reports, papers, test methods, standards, guidelines & more | |
| NRC Research Press journals | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1929-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - 30+ current/ceased Canadian scholarly science/technology journals; most available in full-text - covers a broad range of biological & physical science, engineering & applied sciences disciplines - most articles from NRC Research Press journals (1951-2010) are freely available to all Canadians. | |
| Oceanic abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1981-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Abstracts - Oceanography: marine & brackish-water environments, Physical & chemical oceanography, Marine geology, geophysics & geochemistry, Marine pollution, Meteorology & Climatology, Nonliving marine resources, Navigation and communications, Maritime law, Ships & Shipping - 450,000+ records covering worldwide technical literature: journal articles, reports, etc. | |
| ProQuest ebook central | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects. | |
| Science.gov : USA.gov for science | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Search engine, full-text - Federated search of 45+ databases and 2000+ websites from 14 U.S. federal agencies - Covers journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings & other published materials - Subjects: agriculture, applied sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, communication, earth & ocean sciences, energy, environment, medicine, mathematics, physics. | |
| TRID : the TRIS and ITRD database | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1923-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - includes 1,090,000+ records describing published research from the U.S., Canadian & international transportation sources - covers journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, books & environmental impact statements - covers all modes & disciplines of transportation: Aviation, Highway, Marine Transportation, Motor Carriers, Pedestrians & Bicyclists, Pipelines, transit, Public Transportation, Railroads -- more than 156,000 records contain links to full-text documents. | |
Engineering, Civil - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - a multi-disciplinary database providing access to millions of articles from thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. | |
| Academic video online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Index, streaming video – Videos in all fields of study and research. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners. & Peabody winners. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - Record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century, many with links to full-text. | |
| BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text – Millions of records describing open access documents in thousands of institutional repositories, selected websites, and local data collections. | |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1789-present available online: |
|
| Index, selected full-text - Records for current and historical publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government, with links to many online publications. The database is updated daily and offers optional searches of records in the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials, and the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992]. | |
| DART-Europe E-theses portal | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online |
|
| Index, full-text - Research theses held in European repositories, with link to full-text of every thesis listed. | |
| Dialnet | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Index - Over 2 million records in over 5,000 periodicals - Contains Spanish academic journals, theses and books in all fields of study - Limited full text and theses are available. | |
| Federal Science Library | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1600-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - search library records from Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Environment & Climate Change Canada, Fisheries & Oceans Canada [WAVES], Health Canada, National Research Council Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada - covers books & e-books, journals & e-journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, standards … on environmental, physical & life sciences, fisheries & aquaculture, food & agriculture, earth sciences, forestry, geology, engineering & applied sciences, ocean & nautical sciences, technology, medicine & health sciences, business. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search engine – Coverage of scholarly literature in all disciplines, from academic publishers and organizations. Current Memorial students, faculty, and staff can set up full-text links in Google Scholar settings. In the Library Links box, search for Memorial University of Newfoundland – Get it @ Memorial. | |
| IsisCB explore | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1974-2014 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises several hundred thousand citations describing works in the history of science - core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science - covers all fields of science, mathematics & engineering. | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index – Records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies. Covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science, technology, transportation, infrastructure, and more. | |
| National Academies Press | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1930-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - 9,000 full-text books & technical reports from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering & Medicine - authoritative information on important matters in the social, biological, physical & applied sciences, engineering, medicine, business & education. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| SPRILIB : a polar and glaciological bibliographic database | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online: |
|
| Index and Abstracts - Over 120,000 records - Covers literature relating to the Arctic, Antarctic, and snow and ice throughout the world - Includes articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, government documents, and other reports - Comprises three databases: SPRILIB Antarctica, SPRILIB Ice and Snow, and SPRILIB Russian North. | |
| Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1980-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts – Indexes South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles. Covers: engineering, science, technology, general internal medicine, sports sciences, business, economics, public administration, history, arts and humanities. Includes Research Assistant, an AI tool. | |
| Web of science. SciELO citation index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts – Cited references from hundreds of open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: agricultural sciences; applied social science; biological sciences; engineering; exact and earth sciences; health sciences; linguistics, letters and arts; mathematics; physics; and social sciences. Includes Research Assistant, an AI tool. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest library catalogue comprising millions of bibliographic records describing materials in libraries world-wide. Locate books, music, videos, maps, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items, and which libraries own them. Items not held by Memorial Libraries can be requested via Document Delivery. | |
| WorldWideScience.org | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1930-present coverage available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts -- Global science gateway cross-searching 100+ U.S. & international scientific databases from over 70 countries - Covers fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment & basic sciences - links to full-text when available. | |