Search Results
Database Indexes by Subject
Engineering, Petroleum - Try These First |
|
| Engineering village | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1884-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - comprises 22+ million records describing research articles from 5,000+ engineering journals, conference proceedings, theses, patents & technical reports - covers all aspects of engineering & applied sciences. | |
| Materials science & engineering collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1950-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - covers new technologies & engineering research: civil, mechanical, chemical, environmental, energy, safety & transportation + engineering materials: metals, alloys, polymers, engineered ceramics, composites, biomaterials, corrosion, recycling, welding, etc - comprises 35+ million records describing journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, technical reports & other grey literature - includes 20+ million full-text resources. | |
| OnePetro | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1927-present [varies for each publisher] available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - Approx. 130,000 conference papers, journal articles, & technical documents from the oil and gas exploration and production industry - Includes documents from the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), the Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), International Society of Offshore and Polar Engineers (ISOPE), World Petroleum Council (WPC) and others. | |
| Petroleum source | |
|
Coverage: |
|
| Petroleum Source is a new full-text database for petroleum studies. It provides access to the largest collection of leading journals covering the extraction, refining and transportation of oil, gas and petroleum products. Petroleum Source includes 72 active full-text journals not available in any version of Academic Search. | |
| Scopus | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences. | |
| Web of science core collection | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. | |
Engineering, Petroleum - More Specifically |
|
| AAPG datapages | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - access to all publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists: journal articles, books / chapters, conference papers / abstracts, guide-books, etc + similar publications from ~40 petroleum geology societies from around the world. | |
| Abstracts in new technology & engineering | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1981-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts -- monitors U.K. & U.S. publications on computing technologies, electronics, medical technology, engineering (chemical, civil, electrical, food, marine, mechanical, petroleum) -- covers 350 trade & academic periodicals + conference proceedings, technical reports, books. | |
| AccessEngineering | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2000-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - comprises 6,000+ chapters from 700 McGraw-Hill handbooks & textbooks, including Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, & more - also includes interactive tables & graphs + 800 instructional videos to reinforce key engineering concepts. | |
| Arctic Science and Technology Information System : ASTIS = Système d'information sur les sciences et les technologies arctique : SISTA | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 83,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, theses, books, government reports, etc. on northern Canada & the circumpolar Arctic - subjects: earth sciences, biological & health sciences, engineering & technology, marine areas, politics, economic & social conditions, land use, indigenous peoples, traditional knowledge, archaeology, history, art & literature. | |
| ASME digital collection | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1960-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - covers papers/chapters published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers: aerospace, applied mechanics, biomechanical & biomedical, boilers & pressure vessels, building & construction, power & fuels, design, dynamic systems & control, energy, environmental. fluids, heat transfer, internal combustion engines, manufacturing & processing, nanotechnology, noise control & acoustics, nondestructive evaluation, nuclear engineering, ocean, offshore & arctic engineering, pipeline & piping systems, renewable energy, robotics & mechatronics, transportation, tribology - Access full-text of all ASME journals [1960- ] & conferences [2002- ] + ASME Press books [1993- ]. | |
| Business source complete | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1886-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 15+ million records describing scholarly & trade journal articles + full text financial data, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, investment & market research, industry & country reports + books, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings & more - covers all disciplines of business: marketing, management, information systems, purchasing, project management, accounting, finance & economics - profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. | |
| Canadian business & current affairs database | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1971-present available online: |
|
| Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present. | |
| CSA OnDemand (no IT) | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Complete CSA Collection (No IT): In This collection you will find, with the exception of IT and Telecommunication standards, a collection of all CSA's standards and standards-related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries. | |
| Digital Commons network | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online: |
|
| The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology. | |
| Encyclopedia of life support systems | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 2004-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - compendium of twenty multi-volume encyclopedias covering trans-disciplinary relationships between nature & human society - disciplinary & interdisciplinary articles cover environmental & health aspects of the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, engineering & technology ; discuss effective approaches for managing natural resources like renewable & non-renewable energy, biodiversity, ecology, hydrology, health, agriculture & more. | |
| GeoRef | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1669-present (North America); 1933-present (rest of the world) available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - 3.4+ million records describing articles from 3,500 journals as well as books/chapters, maps, geological survey documents & society reports, conference papers, theses / dissertations, etc. - covers all the geosciences: areal, economic, engineering, environmental, extraterrestrial, structural & surficial geology, geochemistry & geophysics, hydrogeology & hydrology, marine geology & oceanography, mineralogy & crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology & stratigraphy. | |
| IHS engineering360 | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current available online: |
|
| Search Engine - critical engineering content, information, insight, tools & community for engineers & technical professionals - News & Analysis: authoritative coverage of industry/market news, insights & critical information - Products & Suppliers: data on 122 million parts from suppliers across the industrial sector, searchable by specification - Reference Library: access 95 million engineering documents, technical articles, reports, publications, patents & e-books - Standards Directory - Engineering Community: offering forums, blogs & related resources. | |
| INIS repository | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1946-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 3.8+ million records describing journal articles, research & development reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations & standards on nuclear science & technology + environmental, economic & health effects of nuclear energy: nuclear reactors, reactor safety, nuclear fusion, nuclear chemistry, nuclear physics, materials science + applications of radiation & radioisotopes in medicine, agriculture, industry & pest control. | |
| Knovel | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1975-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Full-text - Content from 3,600 leading engineering reference works & databases covering 28 technology subjects unmatched depth & breadth of validated engineering content aggregated from 90+ international publishers & professional societies - data analytics enable detailed property & material/substance searches. | |
| National Service Center for Environmental Publications | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1950-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - search, retrieve, download, print technical, scientific & educational publications from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) - includes 7,000+ print & 35,000+ digital documents, including reports, papers, test methods, standards, guidelines & more | |
| Oceanic abstracts | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1981-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, Abstracts - Oceanography: marine & brackish-water environments, Physical & chemical oceanography, Marine geology, geophysics & geochemistry, Marine pollution, Meteorology & Climatology, Nonliving marine resources, Navigation and communications, Maritime law, Ships & Shipping - 450,000+ records covering worldwide technical literature: journal articles, reports, etc. | |
| Science.gov : USA.gov for science | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1900-present available online: |
|
| Search engine, full-text - Federated search of 45+ databases and 2000+ websites from 14 U.S. federal agencies - Covers journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings & other published materials - Subjects: agriculture, applied sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, communication, earth & ocean sciences, energy, environment, medicine, mathematics, physics. | |
| SciFinder | |
| Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1907-present available online: |
|
| Index, Full Text Links - Over 10,000 journals and patents from more than 61 patent authorities - Searches Chemical Abstracts and other databases, including Medline - Covers many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more - Also includes organic and inorganic substance information. | |
| TRID : the TRIS and ITRD database | |
| Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1923-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - includes 1,090,000+ records describing published research from the U.S., Canadian & international transportation sources - covers journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, books & environmental impact statements - covers all modes & disciplines of transportation: Aviation, Highway, Marine Transportation, Motor Carriers, Pedestrians & Bicyclists, Pipelines, transit, Public Transportation, Railroads -- more than 156,000 records contain links to full-text documents. | |
Engineering, Petroleum - Also to Consider |
|
| Academic search complete | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1887-present: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals. | |
| Academic video online | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: |
|
| Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners. | |
| American doctoral dissertations | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1902-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. | |
| BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1200-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text. | |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1789-present available online: |
|
| Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992]. | |
| DART-Europe E-theses portal | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1602-present available online |
|
| Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database. | |
| Federal Science Library | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1600-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - search library records from Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Environment & Climate Change Canada, Fisheries & Oceans Canada [WAVES], Health Canada, National Research Council Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada - covers books & e-books, journals & e-journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, standards … on environmental, physical & life sciences, fisheries & aquaculture, food & agriculture, earth sciences, forestry, geology, engineering & applied sciences, ocean & nautical sciences, technology, medicine & health sciences, business. | |
| Google patents | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1782-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, full-text - comprises 87+ million records describing patents / patent applications from 17 patent offices around the world - includes patent summary, claims, drawings, citations & referenced by notes + full-text - to facilitate prior art searching, Google Patents links to copies of technical documents & books in Google Scholar or Google Books - patents & supporting documents with non-English text are machine-translated to English & indexed - patent documents are machine-classified using the Cooperative Patent Classification to facilitate patent searching / finding. | |
| Google scholar | |
|
Coverage: Varying dates available online: |
|
| Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links. | |
| IsisCB explore | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1974-2014 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - comprises several hundred thousand citations describing works in the history of science - core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science - covers all fields of science, mathematics & engineering. | |
| Journal citation reports | |
|
Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories. | |
| Journal TOCs | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: Current issues available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher. | |
| Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976 | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1895-1976 available online: |
User Guide |
| Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more . | |
| National Academies Press | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1930-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - 9,000 full-text books & technical reports from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering & Medicine - authoritative information on important matters in the social, biological, physical & applied sciences, engineering, medicine, business & education. | |
| Paperity | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1850-present available online: |
|
| Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts. | |
| ProQuest Central | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1665 to present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles. | |
| ProQuest dissertations & theses global | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1637-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available. | |
| Web of science. SciELO citation index | |
|
Internet access available to MUN users only. Coverage: 1997-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences. | |
| WorldCat | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online: |
User Guide |
| Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded. | |
| WorldWideScience.org | |
|
Internet access unrestricted. Coverage: 1930-present coverage available online: |
User Guide |
| Index, abstracts -- Global science gateway cross-searching 100+ U.S. & international scientific databases from over 70 countries - Covers fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment & basic sciences - links to full-text when available. | |