Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

English Language and Literature - Try These First

Gale literary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Index, full-text - research authors & their works, literary movements & genres - cross-search fourteen Gale literary resources to find full-text literature criticism, reviews & overviews, journal articles & author biographical information: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Shakespeare Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Children’s Literature Review, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Something About the Author.
Humanities source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 3.5 million records describing scholarly sources in the humanities -- Covers feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
Literature online : the home of English and American literature on the World Wide Web
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1884-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Resource for literary studies offering access to international criticism covering all aspects & periods of English literature - Comprises millions of records describing scholarly journal articles, essays, book chapters, web sites, etc - Combined searching of the MLA International Bibliography and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) - Integrated with the full text of 365 current literature journals + 4,500 literary biographies & 150+ reference works - Includes full text of 350,000 works of poetry, prose & drama from the 8th to the 21st century + streamed media sources: Poets on Screen (contemporary poets reading their own poems or classic poetry) and Shakespeare Audio Plays.
MLA international bibliography with full text
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals. The complete MLA International Bibliography includes: 2.8 million detailed bibliographic citations documenting the scholarly record from the early 20th century forward; indexing by the MLA's staff of highly trained subject matter experts and by contributing scholars; access to the MLA Thesaurus and the Directory of Periodicals; well as 1,000 full text journals: including many of the most-used journals in the MLA International Bibliography, such as Applied Linguistics, Critique, Comparative Literature, Renaissance Quarterly and College Composition & Communication; 3-year backfile of the top 100 journals; & extensive backfiles to Volume 1, Issue 1 for over 45 journals. The MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global liter
Orlando : women's writing in the British Isles from the beginnings to the present

Coverage: Access online
Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present includes biographical and writing career entries on British women writers, selected non-British or international women writers, and selected British and international men. The entries contain contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies. Also includes dated items representing events and processes (in the accounts of these writers, but also in the areas of history, science, medicine, economics, the law, and other contexts).
Oxford bibliographies. Medieval studies

Coverage:
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
ProQuest one literature

Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Full-text -- Includes 1,200 full-text journals, 500,000 primary works, 20,000 historic literary criticism sources, 1,300 videos, and 20,000 ebooks.Current scholarship available from 14,000 dissertations and thesis.
Shakespeare collection
Internet access restricted to MUN users only.
Coverage:
William Shakespeare (1564-1616) was perhaps the greatest dramatist the world has ever seen. The Shakespeare Collection contextualizes the legacy of this great poet and playwright, containing a selection of over 200 prompt books (annotated working texts of stage managers and company prompters) from the 17th to 20th centuries, the extensive diaries of Shakespeare enthusiast Gordon Crosse documenting 500 UK performances from 1890 to 1953, the First Folio and Quartos, editions and adaptations of Shakespeare's works from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, more than 80 works Shakespeare is thought to have been familiar with, as well as works composed by Shakespeare's contemporaries.
Theatre in video
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions. Browsable by productions, documentaries, people, companies, genres, theatres, and dates.
Women writers online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: https://qe2a-proxy.mun.ca/Login?url=https://wwo.wwp.northeastern.edu/WWO
Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. The range of genres and topics covered makes it a truly remarkable resource for teaching and research, providing an unparalleled view of women’s literate culture in the early modern period.

English Language and Literature - More Specifically

Annual bibliography of English language and literature : ABELL
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1920-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Comprises 960,000+ records describing scholarly writings on English language & literature and related topics - Subjects: drama, poetry, fiction, biography, literary theory, film, bibliography, traditional culture, syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics, stylistics, dialectology, vocabulary, orthography, dictionaries & grammars, language, literature & the computer - Lists monographs, journal articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world, and in any language.
Arts & humanities database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals.
At the circulating library : a database of Victorian fiction 1837-1901
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1835-1902 available online:
Catalogue -- biographical & bibliography database covering nineteenth-century British fiction -- "Search" author names or titles -- Find browse lists of authors, titles, publishers, years, genres or groups by using links under "Novels."
AustLit
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1780-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - definitive information resource and research environment for Australian literary, print & narrative cultures - authoritative database about Australian literature & storytelling, with biographical & bibliographical information, full text, exhibitions and rich online content - covers more than 850,000 works.
Bibliography of British and Irish history
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers historical writing concerning the British Isles, the British Empire & Commonwealth during all periods for which written documentation is available, 55 B.C.E. onwards - Bibliographical data + detailed subject classification for 500,000+ articles in academic & popular journals and books.
Book review digest plus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1905-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - covers 2+ million concise, critical evaluations from 5,000+ indexed journals - Master book records include descriptive summaries, subject indexing, grade levels & links to book review citations + full-text or excerpts - covers adult, young adult & children’s fiction & nonfiction with subject coverage: art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences - invaluable resource for literary & biographical research, readers’ advisory & collection development for both literature.
Cambridge histories online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1957-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Covers the 270+ volumes of Cambridge Histories reference books - Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Canadian book review annual online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1978-2012 available online:
Index, full-text - comprises 30,000+ authoritative reviews of English-language, Canadian-authored books: scholarly, reference, trade, children's & teen - searchable database [keyword, title, author, subject, reviewer & more] enables quick & easy access to reviews - reviewers are experts in their fields who offer thorough & knowledgeable evaluations of Canadian publications.
Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
Chaucer bibliography online
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1975-present available online:
Index - Corresponds to the Annotated Chaucer bibliography published annually in the journal, Studies in the Age of Chaucer.
Columbia Granger's World of poetry
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Index to poetry, including full-text and excerpts of some poems. This online version contains the contents of the following works: Columbia Granger's index to poetry in anthologies (eds. 8-12), Columbia Granger's index to poetry in collected and selected works, Columbia Granger's dictionary of poetry quotations, Classic hundred poems, as well as new content not published previously in print.
Communication abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1978-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprehensive source covering journal articles on communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields - Covers 244,000+ records from over 300 publications world-wide.
CompPile : an inventory of publications in writing studies, including post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse analysis : 1939-current
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1939-present available online:
User Guide
Index - an inventory of publications in writing studies, including postsecondary composition, rhetoric, technical writings, ESL and discourse analysis - includes research bibliographies - provides citations to published works and links to free Web resources. For most book or article results, look up book or article in Summon.
Contemporary authors online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800-present available online:
Index, full-text - bio-bibliographical information for 149,000+ modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists & scriptwriters - entries cover personal & contact information, career history, writings, biographical & critical sources, authors' comments & informative essays about their lives & work - search by author or individual work.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
Early Canadiana online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1557-1920 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - access early Canadian published documentary material: books, magazines & primary documents from CIHM microfilm series. Government documents & official publications, explorer accounts, religious publications & pamphlets - selected topical collections: Canadian literature, women's history, native studies, history of French Canada, Hudson's Bay Company records, the Jesuit Relations, genealogy & local history, travel & exploration, etc. Complements Canadiana's holdings.
Early English books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1473-1700 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Early English books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1473-1700 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Early English books online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1473-1700 available online:
User Guide
Full-text - over 125,000 literary & historical classics as they appeared in their original format - Works drawn from exhaustive bibliographies & collections of the period: Short-Title Catalogue I (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700), Thomason Tracts (broadsides from the English Civil War period, 1640-1661) & Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Eighteenth century collections online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700-1799 available online:
Full-text - Over 180,000 titles - Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera - Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference and women's studies.
Eighteenth century journals
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: circa 1685-1815 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Articles from British, Irish, Canadian, Caribbean and Indian magazines, journals & newspapers - Covers all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political & literary life: colonial life, provincial / rural affairs, the French and American revolutions.
English short title catalogue
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1473-1800 available online:
Catalogue - lists over 480,000 monographic & serial letter-press items printed in Britain, North America or territories governed by Britain in any language + English / British vernacular language materials printed in other parts of the world - covers books, pamphlets & other ephemeral materials + newspapers & other serials which began publication before 1801 - union catalogue for pre-1801 materials located in the collections of the British Library & 2000+ other libraries.
Film & television literature index with full text
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1913-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers more than 400 journals + books - Film & television theory, reviews, preservation & restoration, screen-writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects - Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present - Over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
International medieval bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1967-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers 480,000+ scholarly articles, notes, and similar literature from journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays - Includes all subjects relating to the Middle Ages, within the date range 300-1500 and, geographically, within Europe, the Middle East and North Africa - The supplementary "Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale" covers books about the Medieval period.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varies by journal available online:
User Guide
Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years.
Linguistics & language behavior abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1973-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - International coverage of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, geographical & anthropological linguistics & language sciences: phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, discourse analysis, nonverbal communication, learning disabilities, psycholinguistics - Includes 460,000+ descriptions of journal articles, books / chapters, reviews, & dissertations - Thesaurus comprising 3,700+ index terms available online.
literary encyclopedia
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Index, full-text - literary reference work comprising 7,600+ authoritative profiles - world-wide coverage of literary & cultural history: individual authors or works + genres, concepts, movements, theories + national / regional developments - features author chronologies with historical context + customizable timelines, thematic or course-oriented bookshelves, related article clusters, critical bibliographies.
Literary index
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E to present available online:
User Guide
Index master index to author / title listings in 130+ literature products from Gale - referenced products contain author biographies and critical essays on their writings - print / online editions of these publications are often available in the QEII Library; search the Classic Catalogue.
Literature criticism online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1565-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Literary criticism for different genres & time periods - covers content from Gale multi-volume compilations: Children's literature review, Classical and medieval literature criticism, Contemporary literary criticism, Drama criticism, Literature criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-century literature criticism, Poetry criticism, Shakespearean criticism, Short story criticism, Twentieth-century literary criticism.
New York review of books
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1963- available online:
Index, full-text - 50+ years of fully searchable NYRB back issues -- comprises 20,000+ articles, reviews, letters & original essays - valuable resource for all booklovers including scholars, students & writers.
Nineteenth century collections online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800s available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location.
Parker Library on the web

Coverage: 6th to 18th century available online:
Index, images - Illuminated manuscripts + Anglo-Saxon, Anglo-Norman & Middle-English texts, and other manuscripts - Covers literature, theology, music, medieval travelogues & maps, apocalypses, bestiaries, royal ceremonies, historical chronicles & Bibles.
Poems & poets
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, Full text -- Search for poems by poet, category, occasion, title, first line, glossary term, country or keyword - sponsored by the Poetry Foundation.
Project Muse
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - leading provider of digital humanities & social science content for the scholarly community - Complete, full-text articles in academic journals from 200+ university presses & learned societies + indexing for their scholarly books.
ProQuest ebook central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
Index, full-text - comprises 36,600+ ebooks, most from Cambridge University Press, Oxford UP, Springer and Taylor & Francis - covers all academic subjects.
Salem Press
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, full-text - complete contents of selected reference titles covering literature, history & music - searchable by author, subject, genre or geographical location - Critical Insights (authors, themes & works), Critical Surveys, Masterplots, Milestone documents, Decades series.
Shakespeare collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1597-present available online:
Index, full-text - Covers Shakespeare's works and their social & historical context - brings together reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material including selections from Prompt books.
Something about the author online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 20,000+ articles examining the lives & works of authors / illustrators for children & young adults - includes illustrated biographies, literature criticism, reviews & news, topic & work overviews, primary sources & literary works, multimedia.
SSRN eLibrary
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1995-present available online:
User Guide
Abstracts, full-text -- Comprises abstracts describing 581,000+ papers contributed by scholars worldwide, with links to full text - its Electronic Paper Collection offers full-text for 482,000+ working papers in PDF format -- Bibliometric analysis: 9 million references & 9.1 million footnotes have been matched to 6 million citations in EPC papers -- Entries include complete title, author, affiliation, ORCID IDs, abstract or description, keywords & distribution history.
TeachingBooks.net : author & book resources to support reading education
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1990-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text, streaming media - searchable collection comprising thousands of resources on fiction & nonfiction books used in the K-12 environment - guides to thousands of books, original movies of authors & illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings + a wealth of multimedia resources on literature for children's & young adults for use in reading & library activities.
Underground & independent comics, comix, and graphic novels
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - scholarly online collection of adult comic books & graphic novels - includes original material along with interviews, commentary, theory, & criticism from journals, books, & magazines.
World Shakespeare bibliography online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1960-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 125,000 records describing books, journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, and audiovisual materials - Covers all aspects of Shakespeare and his writings - Coverage is international and multilingual.
Wright American fiction
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1837-1888 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - digital collection comprising 2,887 titles from hundreds of American authors including Stowe, Twain, Harte, Hawthorne, Howells & Melville - allows insight into American literature, culture & history - database may be used for data mining & textual analysis.

English Language and Literature - Also to Consider

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
annual register : a record of world events
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1758-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - year-by-year record of world events: chronicles & analyses major / minor events, developments & trends throughout the world - comprises annual articles on each country, region or international organization: historical context & perspective, biographical information, economics, environment, science, law, religion, arts & sport + obituaries, speeches & selected documents.
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Gale primary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-2012 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Google scholar : [open access]

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - Open access version for remote, non-MUN users.
Index translationum
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index - comprises 2+ million records describing books that have been translated & published in any of the UNESCO Member States, 1979-present - covers books in all disciplines and languages.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
LexisNexis academic
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Now known as Nexis Uni. Index, full-text - Access news, business & legal sources using a variety of flexible search options -- Covers 15,000+ sources: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, selected reference works.
NoveList plus
Available on Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries website. Login using an NLPL card number and PIN.
Coverage: 1300-present available online:
User Guide
Index -- comprehensive readers’ advisory resource -- includes information about 250,000+ fiction works & thousands of readable nonfiction titles -- features content: lists covering award-winning books, book discussion guides, author read-alikes, books in similar genres, book talks, Recommended Reads + audiobook recommendations & audio samples.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts.
Periodicals archive online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1802-2002 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.