Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Film and Television Studies - Try These First

AFI catalog : American Film Institute catalog
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1893-1975 (comprehensive); 1976-present (full or short records) available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - national filmography documenting American cinema history - provides authoritative plot summaries & production notes with source citations - search by keyword, film title, character name, cast, production crew, release information, subject, genre & songs - covers every motion picture produced, sponsored or financed in the U.S.A.
Communication abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1978-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprehensive source covering journal articles on communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields - Covers 244,000+ records from over 300 publications world-wide.
Film & television literature index with full text
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1913-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers more than 400 journals + books - Film & television theory, reviews, preservation & restoration, screen-writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects - Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present - Over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
MLA international bibliography with full text
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals. The complete MLA International Bibliography includes: 2.8 million detailed bibliographic citations documenting the scholarly record from the early 20th century forward; indexing by the MLA's staff of highly trained subject matter experts and by contributing scholars; access to the MLA Thesaurus and the Directory of Periodicals; well as 1,000 full text journals: including many of the most-used journals in the MLA International Bibliography, such as Applied Linguistics, Critique, Comparative Literature, Renaissance Quarterly and College Composition & Communication; 3-year backfile of the top 100 journals; & extensive backfiles to Volume 1, Issue 1 for over 45 journals. The MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global liter
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.

Film and Television Studies - More Specifically

American film scripts online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1903-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 1,000+ scripts by 1,062 writers - full-text searchable with detailed indexing on scenes, characters, and people - includes facsimile images for more than 500 screenplays, short biographies of writers and awards given to individual films.
Annual bibliography of English language and literature : ABELL
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1920-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Comprises 960,000+ records describing scholarly writings on English language & literature and related topics - Subjects: drama, poetry, fiction, biography, literary theory, film, bibliography, traditional culture, syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics, stylistics, dialectology, vocabulary, orthography, dictionaries & grammars, language, literature & the computer - Lists monographs, journal articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world, and in any language.
Art index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1929-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers articles, book reviews, exhibit reviews, reproductions of works of art from over 600 academic & popular journals - Covers decorative, fine & commercial art, art history & criticism, archaeology, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, costume design, television & motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, digital art, video art, industrial design, architecture & architectural history, etc.
Arts & humanities database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals.
BFI Screenonline
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Full-text - extensive , continuously updated resource celebrating the history & variety of British film & television - includes thousands of stills, posters & press books + online encyclopedia from the British Film Institute - biographies of key personalities from Britain's film & television industries - video is not available outside of the UK.
Bibliography of Asian studies
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia - comprises 900,000+ records describing western-language journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast & South Asia - Subjects: philosophy, religion, literature, history, fine arts, music, theatre, architecture, anthropology, archaeology, economics, politics, sociology, environmental sciences, public health & medicine.
Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
Digital Commons network
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
The Digital Commons network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.
Directory of world cinema
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: ca.1906-one year ago available online:
This is a pre-print web-based database for content collection. Search or browse to explore the database and read film reviews featured in print volumes published so far.
Filmportal.de
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1895-present available online:
Portal - Data covering 80,000 German feature films, long documentaries, short films or newsreels; 178,000 people who worked on these productions - Includes plot summaries, biographies, images and some reviews - Limited information available in English.
Gale literary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Index, full-text - research authors & their works, literary movements & genres - cross-search fourteen Gale literary resources to find full-text literature criticism, reviews & overviews, journal articles & author biographical information: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Shakespeare Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Children’s Literature Review, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Something About the Author.
Google news
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current 30 days available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - automated compilation service & search engine for news - aggregates content from 4,500+ English language news sources - versions for more than 80 regions / languages are available - selection of news stories is fully automated; news sites are selected by human editors from 25,000+ publishers.
Humanities source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 3.5 million records describing scholarly sources in the humanities -- Covers feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
Index Islamicus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1906-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers all aspects of Islam & the Muslim world: Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia & Africa, Muslim minorities elsewhere: archaeology, economics, education, geography, history, language, literature, media, philosophy, politics, religion, social sciences - Covers journal articles, conference papers, books/chapters.
International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1951-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - International perspective on social sciences research: anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies + interdisciplinary fields - Over 2.5 million records describing materials from 100 countries and in 60 languages: journal articles, books / selected chapters, reviews.
literary encyclopedia
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Index, full-text - literary reference work comprising 7,600+ authoritative profiles - world-wide coverage of literary & cultural history: individual authors or works + genres, concepts, movements, theories + national / regional developments - features author chronologies with historical context + customizable timelines, thematic or course-oriented bookshelves, related article clusters, critical bibliographies.
Metacritic.com
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Metacritic compiles reviews from respected critics and publications for movies, DVDs, music, television and games.
Movie review query engine : MRQE
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1910-present available online:
Index, full-text - Internet’s most comprehensive collection of opinion about film: 1.0+ million reviews covering 119,000+ motion pictures - searchable index of published & available movie reviews + news, interviews & other movie-related material from international, national & local newspapers, arts & entertainment journals, blogs, etc.
Pop culture universe : icons, idols, ideas
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, full-text - explore topics related to American popular culture: music, television, film, art, fashion, recreation & sport - search or browse by decade, topic or subject - covers books & book chapters, newspaper & magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, biographies, maps, images, videos, primary documents & more.

Film and Television Studies - Also to Consider

ABC CLIO eBook collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1991-present available online:
Index, full-text - covers 900+ online encyclopedias covering historical & cultural topics: American & world history + current events & issues, geography & world cultures, popular culture, folklore & mythology, religion, society & education, gender studies, crime & punishment, politics, law & government, business, the environment, physical & mental health.
Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
annual register : a record of world events
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1758-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - year-by-year record of world events: chronicles & analyses major / minor events, developments & trends throughout the world - comprises annual articles on each country, region or international organization: historical context & perspective, biographical information, economics, environment, science, law, religion, arts & sport + obituaries, speeches & selected documents.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Film literature Index
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1976-2001 available online:
User Guide
Index - Over 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001 - The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular.
Gale primary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-2012 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varies by journal available online:
User Guide
Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Trove
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
Web of science. SciELO citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.