Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Film and Video, Streaming - Try These First

Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
Audio ciné films
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
"Audio Ciné Films Inc. is the exclusive Canadian public performance representative for Walt Disney Pictures, Touchstone Pictures, Hollywood Pictures, Buena Vista Pictures Distribution, Pixar Animation Studios, Alliance Films, New Line Cinema, Fine Line Features, Miramax Films, Focus Features, Odeon Films, USA Films, Artisan Entertainment, MGM Studios, United Artists, Orion Pictures, Universal Studios C, Polygram Filmed Entertainment, Equinoxe Films, TVA Films, Think Films, Warner/Turner/MGM Titles, FunFilms Distributions, Atopia Distribution Inc., and Les Films Séville Films"--Web site.
Criterion on demand
Internet access restricted to MUN users only.
Coverage:
An online digital library of feature film titles licensed for Canadian viewing. Criterion-on-Demand represents a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, DreamWorks SKG, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. The title selection includes 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.
Films on demand
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
Films on Demand is a digital video streaming service which offers access to educational videos from a variety of producers including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more. The Master Academic Collection brings together over 25,000 videos from many areas of study, including health &medicine, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, business & economics, as well as archival films & newsreels.
NFB campus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
Streaming video - access 6,000+ Canadian films, both Campus & NFB free titles - covers NFB produced documentaries, animations, experimental films, media & alternative dramas across a wide range of subjects: environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts - the NFB CAMPUS subscription allows streaming, not downloading, of videos; with Campus, faculty can screen films from NFB's online collection in the classroom; faculty can create personal accounts to make & share playlists with their students - includes 500 films with study guides & other tools available to educational subscribers only.

Film and Video, Streaming - More Specifically

Ethnographic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, video - visual encyclopedia of human behavior & culture comprising 1,300+ hours of streaming video: ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films & previously unpublished fieldwork - includes footage from every continent & hundreds of unique cultures - topics: ethnographic methodologies, language & culture, food, foraging & cooking, social stratification & status, kinship & families, migration & conflict, religion & belief systems, music, dance & art, etc.
Music & performing arts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, full-text, streaming audio, streaming video - covers audio & video that spans all time periods + hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers & ensembles - cross-searches audio, video, scores & full-text reference content from all Alexander Street Press music & performing arts databases.

Film and Video, Streaming - Also to Consider