Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

Folklore - Try These First

Daily life online. World folklore and folklife
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1884-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - Reference works covering international tales, myths, & urban legends, celebrations, rituals, food & drink, holidays, festivals, religion & belief, music & dance, traditional arts & crafts + thousands of classic folk tales: Hans Christian Andersen stories, Grimm's fairy tales, & folktales from around the world - Includes Aarne-Thompson Tale Type Numbers.
Humanities source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 3.5 million records describing scholarly sources in the humanities -- Covers feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
International bibliography of the social sciences : IBSS
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1951-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - International perspective on social sciences research: anthropology, economics, political science, sociology, archaeology, education, media, law, religious studies + interdisciplinary fields - Over 2.5 million records describing materials from 100 countries and in 60 languages: journal articles, books / selected chapters, reviews.
MLA international bibliography with full text
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals. The complete MLA International Bibliography includes: 2.8 million detailed bibliographic citations documenting the scholarly record from the early 20th century forward; indexing by the MLA's staff of highly trained subject matter experts and by contributing scholars; access to the MLA Thesaurus and the Directory of Periodicals; well as 1,000 full text journals: including many of the most-used journals in the MLA International Bibliography, such as Applied Linguistics, Critique, Comparative Literature, Renaissance Quarterly and College Composition & Communication; 3-year backfile of the top 100 journals; & extensive backfiles to Volume 1, Issue 1 for over 45 journals. The MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global liter
Periodicals index online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665-2000 available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers more than 20 million articles published by 6,000+ periodicals in 37 key subject areas of the humanities & social sciences - encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages & dialects.
ProQuest Central
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1665 to present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - international coverage for 175 subject areas, featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, videos & more - aggregated full-text database comprising thousands journals + 2,000 newspapers, 100,000 theses, 455,000 working papers, millions of up-to-date company reports, market & industry reports, and country profiles.

Folklore - More Specifically

AATA online : abstracts of international conservation literature
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1880-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 138,000+ records describing journal articles, conference papers, books / chapters & technical reports - covers conservation, preservation & management of material cultural heritage: architectural heritage, archaeological sites, works of art, cultural objects & materials, production techniques & history of technology - browse using subject terms from the Getty Conservation Institute thesaurus; browse comprehensive subject-specific bibliographies produced for GCI’s conservation & scientific research projects.
ABC CLIO eBook collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1991-present available online:
Index, full-text - covers 900+ online encyclopedias covering historical & cultural topics: American & world history + current events & issues, geography & world cultures, popular culture, folklore & mythology, religion, society & education, gender studies, crime & punishment, politics, law & government, business, the environment, physical & mental health.
America : history and life
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1910-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - covers history & culture of the United States & Canada, prehistory to the present - citations describe articles from 1,700+ academic & popular journals + books, theses, conference papers, book / media reviews. ("Historical Abstracts" covers history of other countries).
American bibliography of Slavic and East European studies : ABSEES
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1939-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Subjects: anthropology; culture & the arts; economics; politics; education; and geography - Journal articles, books & their chapters, dissertations, online resources and government documents are indexed - See EBSEES for additional coverage.
année philologique
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1924-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 836,000 records describing academic journal articles & books/chapters + 502,000 book reviews on Classical topics: Greek & Roman history, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science from the second millennium BCE to 800 CE + early Christian texts, patristics; numismatics, papyrology, epigraphy .
AnthroBase.com : searchable, multilingual database of anthropological texts
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Variable listings - Includes: reviews; book chapters; biographies; conference papers; field notes; student articles - Languages include: Danish, English, French, German, Norwegian, Russian, Swedish.
Anthropology plus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Late 1800s-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers journal articles; reports; commentaries; edited works; obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, & linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies - 885,000+ articles from 2,5000 journals indexed.
Arts & humanities database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals.
Bibliography of Asian studies
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia - comprises 900,000+ records describing western-language journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast & South Asia - Subjects: philosophy, religion, literature, history, fine arts, music, theatre, architecture, anthropology, archaeology, economics, politics, sociology, environmental sciences, public health & medicine.
Bibliography of British and Irish history
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers historical writing concerning the British Isles, the British Empire & Commonwealth during all periods for which written documentation is available, 55 B.C.E. onwards - Bibliographical data + detailed subject classification for 500,000+ articles in academic & popular journals and books.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1700-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers all aspects of native North American culture, history & life, 16th century to present: native culture, history, daily life, archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, ethnobotany, legend & literacy - comprises 141,000 citations describing books, essays, journal articles & government documents - essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal & medical researchers, linguists, theologians & policy makers.
Canadian business & current affairs database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1971-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers Canadian academic, trade & popular journals of interest to the humanities, education, social sciences, sciences & professions + news / current events - Includes 4.5 million records describing articles from 1,665 periodicals which focus on Canada - full-text for 540+ periodicals & daily news sources, 1985-present.
eHRAF world cultures
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Variable Coverage - Includes information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns - Full Text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Ethnographic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, video - visual encyclopedia of human behavior & culture comprising 1,300+ hours of streaming video: ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films & previously unpublished fieldwork - includes footage from every continent & hundreds of unique cultures - topics: ethnographic methodologies, language & culture, food, foraging & cooking, social stratification & status, kinship & families, migration & conflict, religion & belief systems, music, dance & art, etc.
European bibliography of Slavic and East European studies : EBSEES = Bibliographie européenne des travaux sur l'ex-URSS et l'Europe de l'Est = Europäische Bibliographie zur Osteuropaforschung
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1991-2007 available online:
Index - Over 85,500 titles - Includes books, journal articles, reviews, and theses on Eastern Europe (former Communist countries) that were published in Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Great Britain, and Germany, the Netherlands and Switzerland - Covers the social sciences and humanities.
Film & television literature index with full text
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1913-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Covers more than 400 journals + books - Film & television theory, reviews, preservation & restoration, screen-writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects - Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present - Over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Gale literary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Index, full-text - research authors & their works, literary movements & genres - cross-search fourteen Gale literary resources to find full-text literature criticism, reviews & overviews, journal articles & author biographical information: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Shakespeare Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Children’s Literature Review, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Something About the Author.
Garland encyclopedia of world music
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text, streaming audio - comprehensive resource devoted to music research covering all the world's peoples - provides an overview with images covering each geographic region, its musical heritage & specific musical genres, practices & performances + links to hundreds of associated audio examples - indexing covers genre, subject, instrument, place, person, ensemble & cultural group.
Historical abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1955-present available online:
User Guide
Index, Abstracts - Discover significant, groundbreaking, academic works on world history (excluding North America) from 1450-present: search world, regional, country & local histories, military history, women's history, history of education, etc + historical period searching - Comprehensive coverage of articles from 2,300+ historical journals, books & dissertations - "CLIO Notes for Historical Abstracts" provide chronologies & brief summaries of significant events / themes in modern history.
HLAS online : handbook of Latin American studies
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1935-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences & humanities - Covers books, journal articles, conference papers & electronic resources -- Over 5,000 records added each year.
Index Islamicus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1906-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Covers all aspects of Islam & the Muslim world: Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia & Africa, Muslim minorities elsewhere: archaeology, economics, education, geography, history, language, literature, media, philosophy, politics, religion, social sciences - Covers journal articles, conference papers, books/chapters.
Iter bibliography
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1784-present available online:
Index - Over 1,250,000 citations to books, journal articles, reviews, bibliographies, exhibition catalogues, abstracts, discographies, and dissertations (published since 1990) - Covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
John Johnson collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1500s-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Comprises more than 60,000 records describing print ephemera: 20,700 pieces of theatrical & non-theatrical ephemera from the Nineteenth-Century Entertainment category, 11,700+ items from the Book-trade category, 11,200+ Popular Prints, 22,400+ items from Advertising and over 1,500 from Crimes, Murders and Executions offers unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the 18th - early 20th centuries.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varies by journal available online:
User Guide
Full Text - Over 1,700 titles - Includes coverage of selected scholarly journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Language and Literature; Social Sciences; Business; Education; Ecology and Botany; Health Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics - Time lag between the most current issue published and JSTOR's content varies between zero to ten years.
Literature online : the home of English and American literature on the World Wide Web
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1884-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Resource for literary studies offering access to international criticism covering all aspects & periods of English literature - Comprises millions of records describing scholarly journal articles, essays, book chapters, web sites, etc - Combined searching of the MLA International Bibliography and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) - Integrated with the full text of 365 current literature journals + 4,500 literary biographies & 150+ reference works - Includes full text of 350,000 works of poetry, prose & drama from the 8th to the 21st century + streamed media sources: Poets on Screen (contemporary poets reading their own poems or classic poetry) and Shakespeare Audio Plays.
Music index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1970-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprehensive guide to periodicals & literature covering classical & popular music: all styles & genres of music, musicians & the music industry - cover-to-cover analysis of 475+ periodicals, supplemented with book reviews, obituaries, news & selective coverage from 230+ more periodicals.
Music online. Contemporary world music
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, streaming audio - comprises 50,000 tracks that deliver world music from all regions in every continent - focuses on contemporary genres: reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing & jazz - also includes traditional world music: Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel & gagaku.
Music periodicals database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1874-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.3+ million records describing articles from 610 international music periodicals (scholarly & popular) - covers music education & performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, classical music & opera, jazz & blues, rock, soul & hip-hop, folk music, music business, sound recording, music therapy, instruments includes full-text for 225+ journals.
National Geographic publications index
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1888-Sept. 2015 present available online:
Index - contains bibliographic records that describe every magazine article, map supplement, book (chapter), film/video or educational product from the National Geographic Society - descriptions include title, date, pages, subjects, contributors, time period & notes.
Native American ethnobotany : a database of food, drugs, dyes, and fibers of native North American peoples derived from plants
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index - comprises 44,700+ records describing journal articles, books / chapters, reports on uses of plants by native North American peoples including foods, drugs, dyes and fibers - 291 Native American groups ; 4,029 species from 243 different plant families - includes links to species datasheets in US Department of Agriculture PLANTS database.
Naxos music library
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 500 C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, streaming audio - comprehensive collection comprising music from 130,730+ CDs (2,000,500+ tracks): classical, folk, pop/rock, jazz, blues, gospel, world & Chinese music + historical recordings - search by composer, work, genre, label or keyword; the sophisticated advanced search allows combinations of 2-11 search criteria -- includes a vast array of background information: biographies of composers & artists, glossary & pronouncing dictionary, guides to musical eras, liner notes, libretti & synopses of 700 operas, work analyses & details with instrumentation, publishers, duration, available recordings, etc + transcriptions of audio-books on the history of classical music & opera, with listening examples + classical music podcasts.
Open folklore
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying coverage available online:
"The Open Folklore portal offers users integrated search of, as well as access to, a growing range of open access journals in folklore studies."
PAB : Newfoundland periodical article bibliography
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1668-present available online:
Index - Bibliography covering more than 90,000 periodical articles relating to Newfoundland and Labrador -- Maintained by the Centre for Newfoundland Studies, Memorial University Libraries.
Pop culture universe : icons, idols, ideas
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index, full-text - explore topics related to American popular culture: music, television, film, art, fashion, recreation & sport - search or browse by decade, topic or subject - covers books & book chapters, newspaper & magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, biographies, maps, images, videos, primary documents & more.
RILM abstracts of music literature
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1967-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 620,000 records describing articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, and more - Topics range from hip hop to Handel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory.
Slavistik Portal = Portal po Slavistike
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1790-present available online:
Index - central point of access for Slavistics online - simultaneously search dozens of essential bibliographic databases for Slavistics + major library catalogues - covers history, politics & ethnography of the Slavic countries / regions + Slavic languages, linguistics & literatures, slavic folklore in particular.
Trove
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - pooled metadata describing 505+ million Australian & international online / print resources covering all fields, with emphasis on Australia: 151,000,000+ journals, magazines / articles, 24,000,000+ books, theses & government publications, 203,000,000+ newspapers / articles, 635,000+ maps & atlases, 8,384,000+ pictures, photographs & objects, 4,230,000+ music, audio & video, 115,000,000 archived web sites.
Underground & independent comics, comix, and graphic novels
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1950-present available online:
User Guide
Full-text - scholarly online collection of adult comic books & graphic novels - includes original material along with interviews, commentary, theory, & criticism from journals, books, & magazines.
Victorian popular culture
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1800s-1930s available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - resource for the study of popular entertainment in the 19th & early 20th centuries - English full-text documents published during this "long" 19th century: Spiritualism, mesmerism, psychical science & secular magic; Music hall, theatre & popular entertainment; Circuses, sideshows & freaks together define the cultural fields presented in this collection.

Folklore - Also to Consider

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
Academic video online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
User Guide
Index, streaming video -- comprises 63,750+ videos in all fields of study:Art & Design, Diversity Studies, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, Social Sciences + Personal Interest -- includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage + thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy & Peabody winners.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
Ancestry
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-present available online:
User Guide
Search engine - Online genealogical collection which aggregates thousands of databases with billions of indexed names: census, vital, church, court, military, immigration, directory, school, etc. records + historical maps + bibliographic records for family names indexed by the American Genealogical Biographical Index - covers Canada, United States, United Kingdom, Europe, Australia & other areas of the world.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
Catalog of U.S. government publications
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1789-present available online:
User Guide
Index, selected full-text - finding tool for print & electronic publications from the legislative, executive & judicial branches of the U.S. government -- contains descriptive records for historical & current publications ; direct links to online versions of many publications from the catalog record - comprises 677,000+ USGPO records ; updated daily –- offers optional searches of records the Congressional Serial Set Catalog, U.S. government serials + the USGPO Historical shelf-list [1805-1992].
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
EHPS : European history primary sources
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 500-present available online:
User Guide
Index - covers scholarly Web sites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe - each Web site has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source.
Gale primary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1400-2012 available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - integrated research environment, covering millions of pages from newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps & photographs, with searching across several primary source collections in the humanities & social sciences: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Illustrated London News (1842-2003), The Listener (1929-1991), Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), Times Literary Supplement (1902-2011) + four full-text archives covering hundreds of newspapers & magazines published 1600-1900 - includes analysis tools: term frequency & term-relationship + graphing tools to visualize trends over time.
Google scholar

Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Search Engine - Variable coverage for scholarly literature, including: articles; books; theses; preprints; and conference proceedings - For off-campus use, access Google Scholar through the article search to access the "Get it @ Memorial" links.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
LexisNexis academic
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
User Guide
Now known as Nexis Uni. Index, full-text - Access news, business & legal sources using a variety of flexible search options -- Covers 15,000+ sources: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, selected reference works.
Monthly catalog of U.S. Government publications, 1895-1976
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1895-1976 available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises 1.25 million records describing reports, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc. published by US Federal government agencies - covers agriculture, earth sciences, defense, economics, education, energy, food, health, law, natural resources, public policy, science & technology, transport & infrastructure & more .
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts.
Periodicals archive online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1802-2002 available online:
User Guide
Index, Full Text - Complete back files for 700+ journals comprising more than 3 million articles / 15 million pages - International, multilingual collection composed of key journals from 37 subject areas in the humanities & social sciences
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.
Scopus
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present; selective coverage from 1880 available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers - Includes citation linking to journals, conference proceedings, and books - Covers: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, Agriculture, Medicine, Business, Social Work, and the Social Sciences.
Web of science core collection
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - World's leading citation database, covering authoritative, multidisciplinary content from 10,000+ high impact journals worldwide -- Covers sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities -- includes Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.
Web of science. KCI-Korean journal database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - search & view critically important regional content published in 2,000+ South Korean scholarly journals, both open-access & subscription titles - multidisciplinary: Engineering, Science, Technology, General Internal Medicine, Sports Sciences, Business, Economics, Public Administration, History, Arts & Humanities.
Web of science. Russian science citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 2005-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - enables discovery of new insights from Russian scholarly publications - covers contents of 500 science, technology & education journals.
Web of science. SciELO citation index
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 4 million cited references from 650 open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.
WorldCat
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
User Guide
Catalogue - World's largest union catalogue comprising 288 million bibliographic records describing library materials in more than 11,000 libraries world-wide - locate books, music CDs, videos, audio-books, photographs, primary documents, digital versions of rare items or other items of interest; discover which libraries own them - find citations for research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded.