Search Results

Database Indexes by Subject

French Language and Literature - Try These First

Bibliographie de la littérature française
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1994-present available online:
Index - comprises 150,000+ records describing articles & reviews which have appeared in France & abroad concerning French & Francophone literature from the 16th century to the present - use the BLF for research on a writer, theme or period from French & Francophone literature - sometimes called the Rancoeur - the name of the first BLF bibliographer .
ChoixMédia
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1978-present available online:
User Guide
Index - This database contains the 858,000 references from CHOIX describing French language texts, 135,300 references on audiovisual materials from DAVID, and 16,100 references on software and electronic documents from LOGIBASE = Cette base réunit les 864,000 références de la base CHOIX sur les documents imprimés en langue française, les 135,700 références sur les documents audiovisuels de la base DAVID et les 16,100 références sur les logiciels et les documents électroniques de LOGIBASE.
Humanities source
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1907-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - Comprises 3.5 million records describing scholarly sources in the humanities -- Covers feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
Klapp-online : Bibliographie der französischen literaturwissenschaft
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
Database on French literature identifying research published in books, book chapters, and periodicals. Updated annually with coverage from 1991 onwards. The years 1956-1990 have been retro-digitized and are accessible as separate, annual volumes in PDF format.
MLA international bibliography with full text
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals. The complete MLA International Bibliography includes: 2.8 million detailed bibliographic citations documenting the scholarly record from the early 20th century forward; indexing by the MLA's staff of highly trained subject matter experts and by contributing scholars; access to the MLA Thesaurus and the Directory of Periodicals; well as 1,000 full text journals: including many of the most-used journals in the MLA International Bibliography, such as Applied Linguistics, Critique, Comparative Literature, Renaissance Quarterly and College Composition & Communication; 3-year backfile of the top 100 journals; & extensive backfiles to Volume 1, Issue 1 for over 45 journals. The MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global liter
Repère
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1980-present available online:
User Guide
Index - Comprises 580,000+ records describing articles from 660+ French-language academic, news & general interest journals from Quebec & the rest of Canada, France, Belgium & Switzerland - more than 120,000 records feature links to full-text.

French Language and Literature - More Specifically

ABU : la bibliothèque universelle
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1650-1920 available online:
Full-text - 288 classic French texts from the Association des Bibliophiles Universels - browse works from 101 authors using title or name.
ARTFL-FRANTEXT
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 12th century-20th century available online:
User Guide
The ARTFL implementation of the FRANTEXT database (formerly the Trésor de la Langue Française) consists of texts from the twelfth through the twentieth centuries ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, poetry, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.
Arts & humanities database
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1945-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 1.48 million records describing articles from 560+ specialist arts journals - collection supports contemporary study in the arts / humanities: visual & applied arts, cultural & ethnic studies, literature & modern languages, music & performing arts, history, philosophy, religion & more - A&HD provides full-text access to 500+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals + selected trade & consumer journals.
Catalogue
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Unspecified coverage available online:
Catalogue - A searchable online catalogue containing all records from the Bibliothèque et Archives nationale du Québec.
Catalogue collectif de France : CCFr
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Varying dates available online:
Catalogue - Covers over 20 million titles held at Le Répertoire National des Bibliothèques et Centres de Documentation, 55 public libraries and 110 university libraries - Includes information about French libraries and archives and their collections.
Erudit : promoting and disseminating research
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - full-text access to 120+ French language scholarly journals in the social sciences & humanities from North America - also includes e-books, conference proceedings & 50,000+ theses & dissertations from Quebec universities.
French 17
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1995-present available online:
User Guide
Index - comprises records describing research literature covering 17th Century French studies: includes summaries of articles, books & book reviews - covers literary history & criticism + bibliography, linguistics & language, politics, society, philosophy, science, religion & the arts.
Gale literary sources
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Index, full-text - research authors & their works, literary movements & genres - cross-search fourteen Gale literary resources to find full-text literature criticism, reviews & overviews, journal articles & author biographical information: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Shakespeare Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Children’s Literature Review, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Something About the Author.
Gallica : la bibliothèque numérique
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1100-present available online:
Catalogue, full-text - explore French culture, history, literature, science, law, political science, economics, science & technology through digitized collections from the Bibliothèque nationale de France - huge freely available online library comprising 20,000 archival periodicals & 635,000 books + thousands of digitized maps, images, animations, sound recordings, scores, manuscripts & more - French + other European languages.
Linguistics & language behavior abstracts
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1973-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - International coverage of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, geographical & anthropological linguistics & language sciences: phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, discourse analysis, nonverbal communication, learning disabilities, psycholinguistics - Includes 460,000+ descriptions of journal articles, books / chapters, reviews, & dissertations - Thesaurus comprising 3,700+ index terms available online.
literary encyclopedia
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: B.C.E.-present available online:
Index, full-text - literary reference work comprising 7,600+ authoritative profiles - world-wide coverage of literary & cultural history: individual authors or works + genres, concepts, movements, theories + national / regional developments - features author chronologies with historical context + customizable timelines, thematic or course-oriented bookshelves, related article clusters, critical bibliographies.
Literary index
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: B.C.E to present available online:
User Guide
Index master index to author / title listings in 130+ literature products from Gale - referenced products contain author biographies and critical essays on their writings - print / online editions of these publications are often available in the QEII Library; search the Classic Catalogue.
Literature criticism online
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1565-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - Literary criticism for different genres & time periods - covers content from Gale multi-volume compilations: Children's literature review, Classical and medieval literature criticism, Contemporary literary criticism, Drama criticism, Literature criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-century literature criticism, Poetry criticism, Shakespearean criticism, Short story criticism, Twentieth-century literary criticism.
Zeitschrift für französische Sprache und Litteratur
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage:

French Language and Literature - Also to Consider

Academic search complete
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1887-present:
User Guide
Index, abstracts - comprises 30+ million records describing articles from 12,500+ scholarly / trade / news journals + monographs, government reports, conference proceedings - multi-disciplinary: anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science, geography, geology, history, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, zoology - includes searchable cited references for 1,400+ journals.
American doctoral dissertations
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1902-present available online:
User Guide
Index - access a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during the 20th century - contains 172,000+ citations describing theses & dissertations; many include links to full-text at the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
BASE : Bielefeld academic search engine
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1200-present available online:
User Guide
Index, full-text - 88,100,000+ records describing Open Access documents in 4,000+ institutional repositories, selected websites & local data collections - BASE facilitates effective & targeted searching or subject browsing; it retrieves high quality, academically relevant OA results in a wide range of disciplines - 60-70% of the indexed documents are available in full-text.
DART-Europe E-theses portal
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1602-present available online
User Guide
Full-text - searchable database of research theses held in European repositories - includes records describing 410,000+ open access theses from 535 universities in 27 European countries - provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database.
Index translationum
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1900-present available online:
Index - comprises 2+ million records describing books that have been translated & published in any of the UNESCO Member States, 1979-present - covers books in all disciplines and languages.
Journal citation reports

Coverage: 1997-present available online:
User Guide
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.
Journal TOCs
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: Current issues available online:
User Guide
Index - Current Awareness Service - discover the newest journal articles directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online - covers over 26,862 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds (Journals that do not produce TOC RSS feeds are not included in this service) - keyword search article & journal titles; browse journal by subject or publisher.
Paperity
Internet access unrestricted.
Coverage: 1850-present available online:
Index, full-text - multi-disciplinary aggregator of open access journals & papers: both gold & hybrid - access more than 1.2 million articles in 4,200+ journals from hundreds of disciplines: sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, humanities & the arts.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global
Internet access available to MUN users only.
Coverage: 1637-present available online:
User Guide
Index, abstracts, full-text - comprises 4.6 million detailed records describing dissertations & theses from around the world - comprehensive historic & ongoing coverage for North American works + significant international coverage - full-text for 2.1 million graduate works added since 1997 + strong retrospective full-text coverage - abstracts available: dissertations 1980- ; master's theses 1988- ; simple bibliographic citations from 1637 + 24-page dissertation / thesis previews when available.